We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely start to your holiday.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely start to your holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

It was our second visit to this lovely hotel & won't be our last. The location being more or less at departure's was a bonus. And what can i say about the bed with it's marshmellow pillow's and soft duvet, pure heaven. From your window to look down at what look's like a outdoor cafe belowe you. Can't wait till our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottinghamCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour NottinghamCliff,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,660
    2,460
    669
    208
    125
See reviews for
1,184
4,026
496
825
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

booked and paid in advance months ago- a double and a twin-had confirmation voucher-rang from Egypt to explain delay-on arrival at 5 am told very rudely that no twins were left and that we had not booked one! (despite the written confirmation being shown to the incredibly rude receptionist!) never again. No help with bags. Final note: the hotel is not 'inside' the airport - a shuttle bus is needed to other terminal now AND a walk through a rainy car park etc is necessary. Breakfast is about £20, and (last time we stayed) internet was £20 for an hour's use- didn't dare try it this time. Never again. shall be writing to manager.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divera67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Divera67,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

On arrival at the hotel we were met by maple manor Valet parking,this was a very good service,prompt and efficient.We proceeded to the lobby for check in and saw a huge queue,( due to the airpot closures with the snow,passengers were desperate for rooms).The queue moved very quickly and we greeted by very efficient staff. Our room was of a high standard with all necessary facilities.The bathroom was beautiful even providing l'occitane products.The bedlinen and beds were great quality as were the fixtures and fittings,We had a very comfortable night which was a good thing being as we has a 9 hour delay waiting for us the next day......The bar and restaurant became quite busy but both come highly recommended.Cannot fault this hotel in any way shape or form.Brilliant.....!!!!!!!!!! I believe this to be 1 of the better chain hotels available in the Uk.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Slc1,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

We stayed here because we had a morning flight and did not want the stress of getting up early and battling traffic to Gatwick from Central London. We arrived late after dinner in London. The hotel is well set up for check ins at all times and they do not require you to do anything upon check out, so it makes for a quick getaway.

We had two rooms with a connecting door as we had requested. The rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms clean and reasonably roomy. Found that noise from the hallway could easily be heard in the room. Noise from people in the hall woke me up in the morning. But at least it was at the time I had intended to rise in any event.

We needed to take the shuttle to the south terminal, and that was easily accessed. We did not make use of any other facilities at the hotel, but we well satisfied with our stay because of the location and the reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Artslover,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

Stopped for 1 night before flying out and it was the best idea, good food and room. we will be staying again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonN88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour SpaldingHoff,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here - we arrived early on a freezing cold day and were able to check in early which was very nice. Room (622) was warm, clean, and well equipped and we had a nice view of the planes taking off! We had dinner at the Brasserie which was absolutely delicious and was included in our room rate (a special offer, booked direct with the hotel). After a long hot soak in the bath with lovely L'Occitane toiletries, a great dinner and a super comfortable bed we both had a great night's sleep. Whilst there was extensive construction going on outside we didn't hear any noise at all - the hotel seems to be very well soundproofed. The access tunnel from the North Terminal was partially closed but it's a pretty short walk from the Terminal to the hotel so we didn't feel this to be much of an inconvenience - a bit chilly in the winter but otherwise fine. Breakfast was also delicious and included in our room rate. All in all, a great stay. I would suggest that if you are thinking of staying here you check the hotel's own website aswell as any other hotel booking sites - in this case we actually got a better deal by booking direct. However, it's always best to search around as often this is not the case.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour SoloTravelGal,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

A slight problem on this stay was the work being done at Gatwick which made a detour necessary to reach the hotel. However, this was not the hotels fault and is only temporary. The standards at this hotel are hard to beat, from the friendly welcome and information given by the reception staff to the bar staff, restaurant staff and cleaning staff. The rooms are warm and comfortable, the food is great, nothing is too much trouble and you feel as though you start your holiday from this point on. We took friends with us this time and they felt the same as us and we are all returning again at the start of our next holiday.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robsanPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour robsanPlymouth,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.7 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing