We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel London Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sofitel London Gatwick
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
West Country UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

Stayed at the Sofitel Gatwick for one night with parking prior to flying . Parking included in the deal. Did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment either way. saw a lot of people who did and it appeared quite popular.
What wedid experience was great reception staff. Efficient parking arrangements. Comfy quiet room with a great bed and close access to the terminal (work at the airport is interfering with this but that should be completed as and when ie out of control of the hotel). Just a great nights sleep in a well run hotel...will always use the Sofitel from now on. Can't say better than that. Booked direct on the hotel wbsite for best deal.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TallGuyTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour TallGuyTravelling,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,660
    2,460
    669
    208
    125
See reviews for
1,184
4,026
496
825
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

This Hotel is of a very high quality, with nice rooms, an excellent bar and eating area and with a walkway through to the airport terminals, is the one to stay at. The only problem is if you need airport parking with the Hotel, it's a mile or so away and then a wait for a shuttle bus back or too the Hotel and then a walk,which can take upto an hour, not so good. But the Hotel is superb.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_cadmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour The_cadmans,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
206 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

I frequently use the Sofitel when having an early morning flight. We checked in on 7th January having driven through heavy snow to get there. We were lucky enough to get upgraded to the 8th floor Executive suite which has a free bar and snacks from 6:30. There was quite a party atmosphere and a cheer went up when the first aircraft finally pushed back. The waitress worked very hard as the place was busy. Only one computer for internet access. As we were all trying to check our flights, two would have been useful. The bedroom was very nice but not much different from a Superior room in size. Apparently we were upgraded as we had made our reservation a while back and the hotel was full due to people checking in at the last minute due to flight cancellations so "regulars" and pre-bookers were ugraded. Checkin and Checkout was fine. The monorail was not working so we paid £2.50 each for the hotel bus to take us to the south terminal. This was a good idea because the onground conditions were very icy and walking would have been difficult. We did not use the parking deal as, due to the weather conditions, we parked undercover near the terminal. This turned out to be a wise move!
The Oriental restaurant was very good. It is pricey but, compared to the Hilton's restaurant, much better. The food was freshly cooked and good. Service in the restaurant was a bit off-hand but the restaurant was full so they were very busy.

Drinks in the atrium were served promptly and the bloody marys are good. However they are expensive.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank St-Lucia_Enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour St-Lucia_Enthusiast,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

Arrived on the Monday of the flight restrictions, so we thought we would have been welcomed with open arms as there was no one else around gatwick airport. They just weren't helpful at all. As for finding an employee that is from the UK - good luck.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinnidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Kinnidy,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west susssex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

We didn't actually stay at the Sofitel but went there for Dinner yesterday evening and I have to say that from the moment we arrived at the door to La Brasserie to the moment we left, we were thoroughly spoiled and received nothing but first class food and service. The Chef is obviously very good as he has the confidence and pride that showed when he walked the tables chatting to guests - this was lovely. All the staff were fantastic and I could not have wished for more. We went there for my husband's birthday and he loved it - special efforts were made to make him feel special and this was brilliant. We will definitely go back and this is absolutely worht going to just for a meal - you do not have to be flying to enjoy a stunning meal in a lovely restaurant.

You will not be disappointed!

Thankyou!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samanfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Samanfi,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

This was my first experience of Sofitel so I don't know whether my expectations were too low but I thought this hotel was great. I travel a lot and tend to use Holiday Inns but it's always a long wait at the bus stop for the shuttle to the airport hotels and I had a very early morning flight the next day. The quoted rate was a little on the high side compared to other hotels (cheap by London standards though) so I thought I would give it a go.

I have to say the experience was great (and I'm a bit of a Victor Meldrew). Great room, really comfortable bed, good a/c, very quiet - if this is what Sofitel do then I'll be doing more of it!

Highly recommended if you have to stay at the airport.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashlessinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour Ashlessinseattle,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

It has clean rooms and is very handy indeed for the North Terminal and Short Stay car park; but this hotel is hardly up to the standard one would expect from a Sofitel. It is rather soulless, with an enormous atrium.

The food in the restaurant was overpriced; and the service there should have been much better.

Overall the hotel offers less than good value; and I would only consider staying there again if I had an early-morning flight out of the North Terminal.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTripAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_LGW, Manager at Sofitel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Bonjour UKTripAdviser,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.7 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London Gatwick

Property: Sofitel London Gatwick
Address: North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#3 Business Hotel in Crawley
#4 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An established, four-star luxury hotel uniquely located within Gatwick Airport, Sofitel London Gatwick boasts world-class services and amenities, which include various dining options and extensive meeting and event facilities. The hotel offers eight-day or fifteen-day Park & Fly packages available at the airport the day before check in. The hotel is 30 minutes by Gatwick Express from central London and all its attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Sofitel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Hotel London Gatwick
Sofitel Hotel Crawley
Sofitel Crawley
Crawley Sofitel
Gatwick London Sofitel
Gatwick Hotel Sofitel
Sofitel London Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing