We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Managed to get an excellent deal for this hotel - 2 rooms for £168 for 2 nights - amazing value at £42 per room per night.
Spotless room and staff very nice and efficient. My husband says he was woken by trains - I didn't hear anything.
Did not try breakfast as very expensive. If you have a car and don't mind -drive to the nearest Sainsbury (2mins away) and get an excellent full english breakfast for £4.00. For supermarket standards this has been the best I have ever had - had to literally wait till someone cooked it but worth it.

Room Tip: Room 548 and 544 are next to railway line. Didn't bother me but my husband says it woke him up f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenshireHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janlensen, Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear AberdeenshireHay,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your most recent stay with us. We are pleased to know that you found your room spotless and our staff to be very nice and efficient.

I would recommend the Palm Deli if you are looking for more value for money in terms of breakfast. We have a large selection of pastries and croissants to chose from at an affordable price.

We hope you will select our hotel the next time you travels require you to come to Crawley.

Best Regards,
Normann Hauck
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    791
    236
    71
    48
See reviews for
318
764
122
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

What a great hotel we stayed here for one night but as we had a late flight they kept our luggage at the hotel until eight that evening,The room was modern and the bed was very comfortable ,reception staff were very helpful. we just missed the hotel airport shuttle so got a taxi to airport only 3 pound in the difference from hotel.this is a beautiful hotel great seating area to relax with a waterfall so relaxing.If in crawley again i will use this hotel again...Shopping mall just down the road crawley town a 10 min walk..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valeofhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Our stay on 17 Aug, was marred by a political remark passed by one of the waitresses upon leaving the Gallucci Restaurant at the hotel after having had a pleasant and enjoyable meal.

This type of comment is unnecesary and offensive and unfortunately lowers the rating from excellent to very good.

On our second visit 24 Aug we decided to have our meal at the bar/restaurant, I believe it is called Morgans Bar, to avoid confronting this person.

Room Tip: No complaints about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

The accommodation was very good lovely sleep. Evening meal was included in the price, but the menu was economy, so upgraded to main extra £26 meal cooked to perfection. Staff were very helpful. The shuttle bus was extra £6 to South Terminal.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed at the Arora for one night prior to flying out of Gatwick the next day. Check in was easy and pleasant; the reception staff were very welcoming and polite. The room was clean and modern. For this stay we were placed in an outside room at the 'atrium' part of the building. These rooms are older than the newer rooms in the 'west wing' but have a larger shower. The air conditioning in the room works really well and kept the room cool on a 30'c day. We could not open the window due to the noise from the nearby train station, but the trains do not run throughout the night.
The refrigerator in the room is more like a cooler. It does not get very cold at all, certainly not enough to keep some beers and wine chilled in there.
I take two clear bags to use as ice buckets, to fill up the bathroom sink with ice to keep my drinks ice cold. I just noticed a sign on the ice machine saying you can get a bucket from room service.
There is lots of seating in the 'atrium' to relax and unwind in the evening. Very comfy leather chairs and sofa's, and the groovy hand chairs! Drinks from the palm deli bar are expensive but they offer a good selection and service. There is however a poor selection of food available at the deli. More food options are available in the Pub but I noticed the prices were higher for the exact same items available at the deli.
The rooms are very well sound proofed, and the beds are extremely soft and comfortable owing to a very good nights sleep. I am a bit curious however that the doors to the rooms, and the bathrooms are about an inch too short leaving quite a noticeable gap.
The breakfast costs £15.95, sounds quite expensive but was excellent. It consists of a full continental and English breakfast buffet. Toast and tea/coffee is brought directly to your table by the servers. There is plenty of food to choose from; cereals, fruits, meats, breads, cheeses, and the typical fry up! All you can eat, so I filled my boots for the long day ahead.
The shuttle bus service to the airport has been replaced by a bus service. £3.50 each or £6 for two people, reasonable I guess and certainly a lot cheaper than a taxi.
Overall, a fantastic stay at an absolutely fantastic hotel. The Arora far exceeds any other hotel in the local area for service, quality, and value for money.
Always book in advance and take advantage of their special deals.
Can't wait to return in 11 weeks when we fly out of Gatwick again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank klingon911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Having stayed at the Aurora Hotel in January this year, and found it to be extremely good, I decided to treat my daughter and her boyfriend to a room with dinner prior to their early flight over the bank holiday weekend- Oh how I wish I hadn't! Having made the reservation by internet, I called the hotel to make absolutely sure that my daughter would not have to pay any extra on check-in. I was told by Anna on reservations that I couldn't do the booking without giving all details of my credit card including the 3 digit security number on a form which they emailed to me together with photostats of my driving licence and both sides of the card. She informed me that I could then post it all back to her at the hotel. I refused to do this as I obviously didn't wan't to put this kind of information in an envelope. It was decided that I would fax all the information which I did yesterday afternoon. By the way,I had an awful job of understanding her thick accent and she tended to mumble- not a good telephone manner at all. I had to ask her to repeat herself on many occasions.
Thinking that all was well this morning I received a phone call from only what I could describe as surly and officious lady called Olga. She told me that the photostats of the card and driving licence were not 'good enough' and 'told'me to redo them. Her manner was a disgrace.
She also told me that if I wasn't happy that she would cancel the reservation. What was ostensibly a treat for my daughter was turning into an un-necessarily unpleasant event. Olga told me that they had no proof that I was the credit card holder. I asked her to put the card through as pre-payment for the full amount but she refused.
I then called Holiday Extras, made another booking at a different hotel in minutes and they were charming. I then spoke to the reservations manager Debbie who was extremely apologetic and cancelled my reservation at the Aurora. I note from other recent reviews that the reservation/reception staff are somewhat offhand and I agree. I will not be returing to the Aurora, which is a shame as the hotel itself is good- just a shame about their welcome commitee.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSAN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We had a package including the room the night before our flight and holiday parking. The hotel is very modern and our room was well equipped, air conditioned, spacious and clean. We did not eat in the hotel as the food seemed overpriced even for a hotel, but there is a selection of places to eat within walking distance. The hotel seemed fairly busy but the restaurant was nearly empty.

We went into the hotel pub, themed as a sports bar. It is devoid of atmosphere and felt cold due to excessive air conditioning. There was only one draft beer, Worthington from a keg, which was disappointing. Surely a hotel of this type can serve some decent real ale? Anyway despite the bar being very quiet we were only allowed to stay until 9pm as our teenage kids are under 18.

We then had a drink in the main atrium area at the Palm Bar. Again, no choice of beer, take or leave the keg Worthington. It is difficult to get served, the staff keep disappearing and only work very slowly when they are there. The bar prices are expensive. A pint and three small cokes was £11.30. Still it is a pleasant place to sit.

We did not have breakfast, again due to the price. I did not feel inclined to pay £65 or thereabouts for breakfast for the four of us so we decided to wait until we got to the airport.

Good points, nice hotel, good spacious family rooms, holiday parking worked well.

Minus points, price of food and drink, bus to airport only hourly.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.3 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.4 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
3.2 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
3.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley

Property: Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Address: Southgate Avenue, Crawley RH10 6LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#5 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#8 Family Hotel in Crawley
#11 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arora Hotel in Crawley is a modern hotel that offers a high quality accommodation in the town centre, with Gatwick airport just 10 minutes away. The hotel offers 432 en-suite bedrooms, an AA Rosette awarded Restaurant(The Grill), an English Pub and a 24 hour gym. In the expansive Atrium, WIFI is available free of charge as well as in the hotel rooms. Combine this with ample on-site car parking and superb train links to Brighton and London and you have the perfect base for your business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arora International Gatwick Crawley
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing