We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, friendly service ... only one complaint....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
74 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly service ... only one complaint....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

This hotel is very useful when departing from Gatwick, its right next to the railway in Crawley and less than 15 minutes drive. Its spacious, pleasant and the staff are really friendly.

For example on checkout I went to the machine to pay for parking and it wasnt taking bank notes - of course i didnt have enough coins. So I went back up to reception to pay over the counter and they just gave me the parking for free. Thats really a way to make customers happy - I already had the money in my hand but was told it was fine! :)

The food was great in the restuarant, really enjoyed it and the breakfast was very good too.

Only thing negative to say was that the room we had had a connecting door to the next room. It wasnt insulated at all and so we got to enjoy the conversation of our neighbours. I really dont know why hotels think these doors are acceptable ... but they are very common and I dislike them intensely as I'm a light sleeper. So if you feel the same you might want to ask on check in to avoid such a room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hastur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    791
    236
    71
    48
See reviews for
318
764
122
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

The Arora Hotel at Gatwick is a good hotel with nice rooms and very pleasant staff. We arrived at around 8.30pm and the check-in was friendly and efficient. We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant called The Grill, there were only about four tables occupied so there was very little atmosphere and quite slow service considering the lack of patrons! On looking at the menu the food appeared to be very expensive - my husband chose a Burger and was not asked how he would like it cooked and my request to have a side of fries was met with an astonished expression and a trip to the kitchen to ask the chef if that was achievable! When the food eventually arrived my husband's burger was thin and overcooked and my goat's cheese tart was over salted.

Such a shame that a really nice hotel is so badly let down by the food.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devontraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turre, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed once more at the Arora and pleased to see that their high standards were being maintained. Reception staff are particularly pleasant and helpful and I was allocated the room of my choice.
This hotel is well located in the centre of Crawley and you have a hotel access directly into the railway station and a short-cut to the main shopping mall.
Rooms are pleasant and well furnished, although the free wifi is a little slow and kept dropping-out.

Room Tip: The hotel is well sound-proofed and there is little/no noise from the adjacent railway station
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianrms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

My husband son and I stayed at this hotel 2 nights before a our holiday one of the reasons I chose this 4*hotel was that it was our 25th wedding anniversary and it had a Jacuzzi and steam to relax in and a spa to be pampered as well as being convenient to Gatwick hotel but when we arrived the steam room was not in use because it is being renovated and the Jacuzzi was so hot we couldn’t sit in it this really disappointed us as no one bothered to inform us prior to our visit and when I enquired a the desk they never even mention it -very poor customer service - as for the spa this was very bizarre I was given a number to phone a gentleman for all the treatments to ask him if he was available to come to the hotel I couldn’t be bothered with the hazel so I went into crawley town
We had a meal and drinks’ in the evening at the restaurant which was nice but very over priced as expected in Gatwick hotels no one came to tidy our room we had to phone reception when we got back from town at 3.30pm 1 hour later still no body turned up so I phoned reception again and just asked them for clean towns which they did ½ later- we go away twice a year and use Gatwick’s hotels to stay in prior to ours flights to chill and relax but I’m afraid I will never use this hotel again.

Room Tip: do not book a room near train station side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popet12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Having booked this hotel for an overnight stay due to picking up family members from the airport early the following morning, I was disappointed that I didn't get a chance to spend a bit more time enjoying the relaxed and friendly atmosphere as well as all the facilities this hotel has to offer. The room and particularly the bathroom was very clean and spacious - not only was there a bath with handheld shower, but a modern shower with great water pressure. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again whether on a social or business basis.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMCK1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed here this month the night before flying. The hotel is light and airy and modern - the lobby with a bar is a lovely space and the whole place has a nice feel to it. I managed to get a premier room with 4 nights free parking for £66 which is amazing value. The only problem we had was that the kitchen had a problem with ovens so no hot food was available earlier in the evening. However, by 9 it was fine and we had a nice meal in the main restaurant. They also do food in the bar which is nice. A pleasant stay and excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendybatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

I like this hotel and most things about it, i would highly recommend a stay here.

The check in is easy, the rooms are good, clean with a few extras in the bathroom.

The staff have a nice attitude and the whole experience is a relaxed one.

The thing that lets the place down is the price of some drinks, ask how much before you order a large gin and tonic and the price of the food in the pub. I paid £10.99 for a cheese and ham wrap because the had run out of beef, i originally ordered a beef wrap. If i remember correctly a burger is about £13.00....so you get the idea?.....beware but don`t let this put you off because it more than makes up for it in other ways.

So breakfast:

A nice greeting from the check in lady and off to the hot plates, bacon run out and undercooked when it arrived, sausages undercooked and the fried eggs were cold and hard but everything else was okay. Only yoghurt i could find was low fat but i have to admit there was a nice selection of foods and if more care was taken over it`s preparation and availability control, it would have been a good breakfast....couldn`t fault the quality of ingredients but an average child could have organised it better.

But a better experience than last year when the breakfast was nothing short of disgusting!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyokushin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.3 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.4 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
3.2 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
3.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley

Property: Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Address: Southgate Avenue, Crawley RH10 6LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#5 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#8 Family Hotel in Crawley
#11 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arora Hotel in Crawley is a modern hotel that offers a high quality accommodation in the town centre, with Gatwick airport just 10 minutes away. The hotel offers 432 en-suite bedrooms, an AA Rosette awarded Restaurant(The Grill), an English Pub and a 24 hour gym. In the expansive Atrium, WIFI is available free of charge as well as in the hotel rooms. Combine this with ample on-site car parking and superb train links to Brighton and London and you have the perfect base for your business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arora International Gatwick Crawley
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing