We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel will never win awards for opulence, but it is a reliable business and pre-holiday hotel with decent enough rooms and bathrooms (although my shower above bath was too low and not great) and efficient staff. Could do with a bit of an update but for brief stays it does the job.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank Jimboblondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for posting your comments relating to your stay at the hotel. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.
On a future visit to Crawley, we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,453 - 1,459 of 2,383 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed for one night prior to a flight from Gatwick (19 December)

The Hotel is located at the end of The southbound platform at Crawley. Gatwick is less than ten minutes away by train.

Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Rooms clean, functional and comfortable, with a nice shower in the bathroom.

Did not eat at the Hotel (went to a nice Italian a few minutes wak down the road near the station)
Did have a coffee at the coffe shop which was nice, albeit a little expensive but that was definately negated by the excellent value of the room.

All in all would definately stay again when flying from Gatwick.

Room Tip: Higher floor would probably reduce any train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

It was with great pleasure that we read your review. We are delighted to hear that you found our rooms, location and the facilities to your liking.
We are pleased that you found our Reception team to be helpful and friendly and your comments have been shared with the team.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed there recently and it's a very nice hotel with good food. Very modern building and rooms are more than adequate. Very convenient to London Gatwick but internet in hotel could be speeded up! Apart from that - very good. Very reasonable rates.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank SimonJRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for posting your feedback about your experience at the Arora Gatwick Crawley Hotel.
Indeed our central location is extremely popular with our guests in terms of ease of access via travel links, as well as guests being able to get out and about on foot to explore all what Crawley has to offer.
On a future visit to Crawley, I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Arora Hotel in Crawley is a large modern hotel situated near the town centre of Crawley and primarily would be an off site hotel for Gatwick airport but is also useful for other areas of Sussex and the south. The hotel is next to Crawley railway station only two stops south of Gatwick airport and is accessed straight from the platform via an intercom equipped gate.There is a bookable airport minibus at the hotel.

The hotel consists of the main building and a large annex building connected by an enclosed walk way.The lobby and surroundings are very well laid out and spotless as is the adjacent pub style bar and café/grill that are either side of the check in desks. The rooms are extremely well set out with solid quality furniture and comfortable beds. Mini ironing board/trouser press combo in each room with a small selection of tea and coffee items in the same cupboard arrangement. A large (32 inch?) Samsung LED TV is provided and unlike some hotels lets you have all the Freeview channels available rather than restricting them to tempt you to use other services. The bathroom is very good with separate bath and shower areas and the bath also having its own mixer shower. Nicely set out with quality tiling and no signs mould in the grout or unfixed minor damage that often comes with other hotels.

I don't normally use many of the facilities in hotels so can't really comment on the food or other chargeable services although nearby Crawley is 5 minutes walk away for anyone wanting to eat or drink out.

One of my big complaints about hotels is the extreme charges for Wi-Fi and at least the Arora goes part way to addressing this by offering free internet albeit at a very low bandwidth but enough to send emails and do some basic surfing to plan your day. High speed internet is available as a pay option but returns to the usual high charges per hour that other hotels charge.

Now I'll stop waffling and say why I've stayed in the Arora three times in the last couple of months. I've always avoided staying in London due to the prices which don't reduce that much at the weekend and often stayed at Gatwick instead but many hotels near to airport and station (I use rail) now seem to follow suit and offer little in the way of discounts at weekends. The Arora which is a comparable hotel to the Sofitel or Hilton (at Gatwick) does reduce it's prices vastly at the weekend. Available at around £70 on weekdays via booking sites and can come down to around £40 at the weekend when freely available discount codes for booking sites are used. The price is equal to most Travelodge hotels in the area and doesn't just get you a broom cupboard next to the lift like some hotels give when presented with a cheap booking.

A bargain quality hotel only a few miles from Gatwick with no plane noise and plenty of local facilities. it may be a few miles out of Gatwick but can be up half the price of similar Gatwick hotels. include airport transfer charges or rail fares and it still is an absolute weekend bargain.

Room Tip: The annexe building is deemed to a little quieter than the main building although generally quiet al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePlodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for posting your positive comments about your experience at the Arora Gatwick Crawley Hotel.
We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic stay with us and pleased to hear that you found your room, location and all of our facilities to your liking.
We will certainly pass your kind comments onto our team members as I am sure this will serve as an encouragement for them to keep up the hard work.
On a future visit to Crawley, I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed one night here with special deal.
Much better than we expected for what we paid.
Large, quiet, very nice room and food available. Plenty of lounge and bar space. Minibus transfer to airport available, also good.
We are returning again pre flight in April, we were so impressed and also in October again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vixmum7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Guest feedback is very important to us, so I thank you for posting your review following your stay. I was pleased to hear that on the whole you had a pleasant stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed here for 1 night prior to a flight and was pleasantly surprised. Arrived very early and was checked in with no issues. Allocated room was a good size, clean and well appointed. We were initially concerned we might experience noise from the rail-track, but that wasn't the case and we slept well. We did use the Palm lounge for a light bite and drinks and found the service to be of a good standard. Food was ok. Location of the hotel is superb, good shopping close by. If we'd had more time we'd have liked to have found a local restaurant/bar rather than relying on in-hotel options for food/drinks - maybe next time. Car park charges were reasonable - (£10 - per night) Overall a good first stay, we would stay again if needed when flying out of Gatwick.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bandjotg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear you liked our rooms, facilities and indeed our central location is extremely popular with our guests.
We hope it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Due to my "special birthday" 2 night cruise being cancelled at short notice, we were at a loss where to go for lunch on the big day. Having been here before for works Christmas lunch so just knew it would be the right choice. Lovely surroundings, food and excellent service. Many thanks to Raj for making it special for us as a group. Will let P&O know what they missed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jubileepartygoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We are absolutely delighted that you had the opportunity to dine with us and that you enjoyed your experience in Grill Restaurant. We are very proud to have a great kitchen team. Your kind words have been shared with the team. It is always a pleasure for the team here to have their consistent hard work recognised by our valued guests and we will be sure to share this with the team especially with Raj.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
3.4 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
3.2 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley

Address: Southgate Avenue, Crawley RH10 6LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#5 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#8 Family Hotel in Crawley
#11 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £56 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arora Hotel in Crawley is a modern hotel that offers a high quality accommodation in the town centre, with Gatwick airport just 10 minutes away. The hotel offers 432 en-suite bedrooms, an AA Rosette awarded Restaurant(The Grill), an English Pub and a 24 hour gym. In the expansive Atrium, WIFI is available free of charge as well as in the hotel rooms. Combine this with ample on-site car parking and superb train links to Brighton and London and you have the perfect base for your business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arora International Gatwick Crawley
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing