We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, let down by horrendous internet connection!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I've stayed at this hotel about 5 times now just because it's located closest to the K2 sports center. The hotel is also close to the town center (About 10 minute brisk walk, nearer if you walk through Crawley train station) and is convenient to Gatwick airport - about 2 - 3 stations away. Hotel room is comfortable, and what you'd expect to get for a 3 star hotel. The West wing has newer rooms and showers as compared to the main part of the hotel. There is a coffee bar at Ground floor, but honestly it's not one of the best coffees. Bitter and sharp in taste - I'd prob rate the coffee 2 or 3 out of 10. But you probably won't have much other choice as the nearest other place to get coffee is at Crawley town center.

One thing - the Internet connection at the Arora is one of the WORST I've experienced in ANY hotel. You can opt for a free connection, but don't expect to get ANYWHERE with that kind of speed. For e.g. - If you play Youtube videos, you'd be lucky to watch a whole clip without it constant interruptions and buffering for over 15 minutes and more. I just gave up in the end and surfed internet through my mobile broadband. Obviously if you want decent speed internet, you have to PAY for it, if I'm not mistaken, £15 for a certain amount of hours. Which hotel makes you pay for Wi-fi anymore? It was something I complained to the reception, but didn't get any answers. I was later advised by another guest that the Hotel tries to make additional income from Hotel guests this way. The hotel - being a part business hotel should provide free Wi-Fi to all its guests. Shame on the management, really!!

Room Tip: The West wing has newer Showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SapphireRose88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,625 - 1,631 of 2,644 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had stayed at this hotel about 3 years ago and had a good experience so was happy to book again as it was convenient to a local swimming competition. This time, was very different. To start, I didn't find out until I checked in that we would not be having a twin room as booked, but instead had one double bed and one uncomfortable cot.

We ordered room service, and the pizza was of such a poor quality, that I feel I never want to eat pizza again.

The train track, under our room (we were on the first floor) was disturbing - with trains passing every 5-10 minutes until late in the evening.

£10 for parking and over £30 for two for a less than inspiring breakfast buffet, above the basic rates made the hotel not good value for money.

Difficult to find a spare wall socket to charge a phone or computer.

I would be embarrassed to recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: Our room was right beside a railway track - with noisy trains running every 5 minutes or so until qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelDEALEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future and will ensure everything goes to your satisfaction.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel was great for us as we spent the day in Crawley before we flew the next day. It's very close to the town centre.
It was cheap, clean and ideal for our over night airport stay.
We ate in town for dinner and breakfast so can't comment of the hotels food.
We would stay here again as it was easy to get to as the train from London Victoria stops at Crawley station and at the end of the platform there is a direct gate to the hotel. We paid for a taxi to gatwick north and it was £10.50.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petal1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Guest feedback is very important to us, so I thank you for posting your review following your stay. I was pleased to hear that on the whole you had a pleasant stay with us and trust that on a future visit to Crawley, we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here through work for a conference. Hotel access is easy - gate access from train station platform. There was approximately 150 of us from work, unfortunately the hotel hadn't increased the number of staff to ensure good service for that kind of volume. Water supply to room terrible no pressure and cold. I am sure for a pre holiday stay and parking it would be fine.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank 190748JoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip advisor following your stay with us. Guest feedback is extremely important to us, so we therefore thank you for sharing your experience.

We are pleased to hear that you liked the hotel. We must apologise that you were not satisfied with the service that you received whilst at the hotel. Your feedback will allow us to improve on the aspects of the hotel that need a more developing. We will of course pass your comments onto the relevant managers, who will address the matter of service with our ambassadors.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice location of the hotel in crawley. Train station right behind, shopping area near by.
Very difficult to find laundry bag in room. Found it only after 30 min of search. It was in table drawer. Usually it's in wardrobe. Didn't find TV guide.
Stayed in this hotel twice. First time got room on ground floor. Room looks small and dark. Window can't be open.
Second stay I got room on the 4th floor. Totally different experience. Room looks full of light, bit spacious, can open window. Bathroom shower cabin is bigger.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank August W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you taking your time to post your review.

On a positive note, we are pleased to read that your were happy with your stay. However, it was disappointing to read that you had mixed feeling regarding the room allocations. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible, so we would like to thank you again for bringing this to our attention.
We hope this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Had initially booked a long stay car park at Gatwick for our 10 day break away but the thought of traveling to Gatwick at 3am encouraged a rethink. Found the Arora online and couldn't have been happier - they offer a night-before-you-fly PLUS car parking package at a great rate (only slightly more than the cancelled car park only). The hotel is of a really good standard - the reception and central atrium are impressive, being attractive, spacious, and peaceful. Check-in was professional and efficient and we were soon in our room which was a good size, well furnished and very comfortable. A big plus for us was the secure parking for the period that we were away (you keep your car keys) - after a previous bad experience from one of the airport long term car park operators. Others have also commented on the railway station access directly from/to the hotel and this is a real advantage - hotel room to railway station in 5mins! - and than on to the airport in about 10 mins. We didn't use the restaurant at the hotel as we had made other arrangements in Crawley but if we stay again we would try it as the menu looked good and the prices didn't seem outrageous, as they often are in hotel eateries - and it seemed very busy. We did have cocktails in the bar in the atrium, and this was the only disappointment. The bar man on duty was not a fully trained bar man and had no experience in making cocktails - had to get the recipe book out, took 15 mins to make just 2 cocktails and they still ended up small and weak. But that was a very minor negative in an otherwise very pleasant experience. This stay really gave a great start to our holiday and we hope to stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2GuysSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our parking in particular to your liking.

On a future visit to Crawley, we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was a great find . It was really easy to find we got off the train at Crawley & followed the Arora sign along the platform to the Hotel . The hotel is very impressive from word go . The staff are very friendly & extremely helpful especially Raul who works at reception , He advised us on how to fill in our day at Brighton & we had a great day . The rooms are very spacious & clean it had everything we needed . We didn't use the restaurant but there seemed to be plenty of people eating there. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yesdearWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your most positive review of the Arora Gatwick Crawley Hotel following your stay with us.
We are delighted that you had a great stay and that you found our facilities, service and location to your liking.
It is always a pleasure for the team here to have their consistent hard work recognised by our valued guests and we will be sure to share this with the team especially with Raul.
Many thanks once again and I hope that it won't be too long before you are able to return and stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
3.4 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
3.2 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley

Address: Southgate Avenue, Crawley RH10 6LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#5 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#7 Family Hotel in Crawley
#11 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £50 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arora Hotel in Crawley is a modern hotel that offers a high quality accommodation in the town centre, with Gatwick airport just 10 minutes away. The hotel offers 432 en-suite bedrooms, an AA Rosette awarded Restaurant(The Grill), an English Pub and a 24 hour gym. In the expansive Atrium, WIFI is available free of charge as well as in the hotel rooms. Combine this with ample on-site car parking and superb train links to Brighton and London and you have the perfect base for your business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arora International Gatwick Crawley
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing