We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good stopover hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good stopover hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

stayed 1 night to catch 9am flight.hotel is 10 mins max by train with a 10 mins wait for train,direct access from platform right dont the end of platform 2.80 euros for 1 night with free bus transfer in the morning which left on time.nice modern hotel and rooms and would stay here again.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank sammmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    872
    777
    233
    69
    47
See reviews for
316
755
120
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

This really should be just another city centre business hotel but it is better than that.

The staff, from check in to check out, were very plesant. It is a modern hotel and you wouldn't expect a lot of character in the building or the rooms but the lobby/atrium is light and airy. It contains a bar and a deli area where you can buy sandwiches and coffee to eat in or take out. The shop in the lobby is also unusually well stocked with drinks and biscuits etc for snacking. There are computers in the lobby for internet access (this is also available in the rooms at 15 pounds for 24 hours- not cheap but not unreasonable). For more substantial meals the hotel restaurant (there is only one, also in the lobby) is also very good.

After all that eating there is a well equipped and modern gym in the basement, although a pool is notably missing.

The location of the hotel is excellent- 15 minutes from Gatwick Airport (there is a hotel shuttle bus) and only a 10 minute walk from Crawley City Centre.

Definitely recommended for business or a place to recover after (or before!) a flight.

  • Liked — Location, hotel facilities.
  • Disliked — Couldn't find fault with it.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DebateableWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar, Europe
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2008

I booked after hearing great reviews on Trip Advisor.

My trip was Gatwick - Birmingham - Gatwick, staying in the Arora the night before my return flight home. I had a return rail ticket ending up at Gatwick, so I had to get from Gatwick to Arora at 9 pm on a Friday evening.

I knew hotel was in Crawley, checked at airport on my way out how I would get to Arora. Airport staff told me that there was a shuttle bus. I should have checked with the hotel. It only runs during the day - you have to make special arrangements at other times (I was advised by the driver next morning that the Sofitel would have helped me as they are same company). Taxi fare was £16 which I thought was a total rip off. I paid about £3 for the genuine hotel shuttle the next morning.

The hotel was great, reception resolved a major problem with the room. I walked in to find a huge spider sitting on the bed. I grabbed a handy chap to come and remove it. When we got into the room it was not longer there - but there was no problem moving me to a different room. I wonder if cleaners found it????

I did not eat at the hotel. As a lone traveller I prefer to raid M and S food shops.

The lobby and coffee shop reminded me of a cruise ship.

By the number of flight personnel using the hotel, it seems to get the thumbs up from regular users. Certainly no airport noise, which has to be a bonus.

  • Liked — Good price through a website
  • Disliked — awkward to get to from Gatwick outside working hours
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gibraltarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

Thoroughly disapointed with customer service. Shuttle stops at 10pm and so as late returners we were left to our own devices and had to book a taxi to get back, not what you want after a long late flight i will not use these again. This wasnt made clear to us at booking stage and reception werent interested

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2008

My husband and I stayed here for one night before flying out from Gatwick for our holiday. We were extremely impressed with the standard of the hotel for the price. We booked the fly and drive package which included 8 days parking in the hotel's underground car park.

We did not eat in the restaurant, instead we wandered into Crawley town centre, which is only a 5 min walk and went to a really nice Indian restaurant called the Taj Mahal. We were leaving very early the next morning and decided to take the train to Gatwick, as the hotel has direct platform access. We got to the south terminal in about 10 minutes for £2.50 each (which I understand is the same cost as the shuttle bus). On our return we were also able to access the hotel from the platform, which meant that we were in our car and on our way home in about 25 mins from arriving at Gatwick train station.

The rooms themselves were nicely furnished and the staff were extremely helpful. Highly recommended for a convenient and good quality airport stopover.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScoffWeasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2008

We ( family 2 adults and 2 children) stayed here for 1 night as we had an early departure from Gatiwck the next morning.
Check in was swift and the reception staff were friendly. The room was fantastic, the bathroom was gorgeous with a bath and a seperate 2 person shower and a seperate toilet too !!
Beds were lovely and comfortable but there were 2 double beds in the room, luckily my children are young enough not to mind too much sharing a bed.
We ate at the Italian restaurant at the hotel, the staff there were lovely and friendly, the food however was not worth the high prices, the kids liked theirs but our food was not too enjoyable ( perhaps we just ordered the wrong thing) I had tagliatelle that had been cooked with beetroot so it was purple with mussels and wine, sounded good on the menu but tasted very bland, we paid £ 130.00 for the meal, the bread was super though ! It might be worth going out into Crawley to eat instead.
We ordered a taxi the night before for our departure the next morning it cost us £ 12.00, the hotels bus is around this price too for the 4 of us so we opted for a taxi.
All in all a lovely hotel, well worth staying in but chose wisely if you eat at the Italian restaurant.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The restaurant
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen332London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2008

Stayed one night before flying from Gatwick early on a Sunday. Booked on the hotel website for a package to leave your car for 8 days and free shulttle to Gatwick. All worked like clockwork. Though on return to Gatwick, we rang the number given to us to order the shuttle bus and were told the next 2 buses were full and the next free shuttle was a 1-2 hour wait. We decided to get a taxi which cost £16 from the North Terminal. Though I understand you can get a train quite cheaply. We just wanted to get the car and get home quickly. Room was fine, we had a meal in the Italian restaurant in the hotel which though expensive was very good.The only negative was that a wedding was going on in the hotel that day/night so the bars were crowded and the staff a bit frayed. Though it didn't disturb us. All in all a great hotel for a pre holiday stay. Would recommmend.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Very Busy and shuttle not to be relied on!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALEXANDER _123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.3 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.4 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
3.2 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley

Property: Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Address: Southgate Avenue, Crawley RH10 6LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#5 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#8 Family Hotel in Crawley
#11 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arora Hotel in Crawley is a modern hotel that offers a high quality accommodation in the town centre, with Gatwick airport just 10 minutes away. The hotel offers 432 en-suite bedrooms, an AA Rosette awarded Restaurant(The Grill), an English Pub and a 24 hour gym. In the expansive Atrium, WIFI is available free of charge as well as in the hotel rooms. Combine this with ample on-site car parking and superb train links to Brighton and London and you have the perfect base for your business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arora International Gatwick Crawley
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing