We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but now a little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location and you can walk straight off the platform of Crawley station to the hotel. Friendly staff at reception, check in was quick.

I have always used here for the times i have flown out of Gatwick. This is my 4th visit with the first being about 10 years ago. Back then I would have given the hotel 5 out of 5 but little if any maintenance appears to have been done to the décor of the rooms since then and now they are more than a little worn and past there best.

Having said that the rooms are still clean and spacious with comfortable beds, they are just in need of an update.

Bar prices are ridiculous. We were planning on a few drinks in the hotel pub/bar and something to eat within the hotel. But zero change from a £5 note for a pint I ordered meant that I did not even look at the food menu and this was the only drink I had in the hotel as we then took a short walk into Crawley town centre for some more reasonable priced drinks! Why do some hotels think they can charge ridiculous prices when there are much cheaper alternatives within such short distance? Ill just take my bar/dining custom elsewhere for the evening as I refuse to pay so much

We used the transfer service the next morning which was very handy and with a friendly driver.

I prefer to stay in Crawley rather than directly at Gatwick airport, obviously being my 4th visit this is not a bad hotel but I think I may consider one of the other hotels next time to hopefully get somewhere with a bedroom that is less worn and tired.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevnffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Guest feedback enables us to continually review our service delivery and standards and make changes wherever possible.

We are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be pleasant and that you find our rooms to be comfortable. However, we were disappointed to read that you found the price of drinks to be overpriced. I would like to confirm that we do offer a selection of drinks starting from £3.75.
We hope this has not deter you from staying with us again and we look welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,581 - 1,587 of 2,644 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Back again as a pre flight hotel, this time with family inc a 1year granddaughter. The package we book includes meet & greet car parking, there is not a better stress free /value for money deal available. Dinner in Morgans was relatively early for baby needs at 8, can't understand why you would want to eat in the expensive crowded restaurant when Morgans has a adequate menu. Always book rooms at the front as the back rooms face the railway & can get noisy. Up at 6, shuttle @ 6.45, checked in & in lounge by 8. Will be back next holiday .

Room Tip: Front facing is quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on Trip Adviser.

We are pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with a relaxing start to your holiday and that you enjoyed a meal in our Morgan’s pub.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel before you next flight.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights prior to flying from Gatwick. Having stayed at the Arora Heathrow and being pleased with the standard I found this hotel far superior. Lovely atrium with modern coffee bar and great water features making this large conference style hotel very relaxing. Rooms seemed larger than usual with good sized bathroom (bath and separate shower). Easy walk to town centre with cafes/bars and even closer to the County Mall. Railway station just round the corner with good service into London and local bus station opposite the rail station - how convenient. (We took the 271 to Brighton, a lovely journey through countryside and pretty villages and only £6.50 return: sit on the top deck).
Hotel staff were very good, acting promptly to all requests and the 15 minute minibus ride to Gatwick was very convenient, we will definately use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Free Wi-fi for first 24hrs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c_anne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

It was with great pleasure that we read your review. We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel team to be very good and that you liked our rooms and in particular found the location to be convenient.

On a future visit to Crawley, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed 1night before flying from Gatwick. When we arrived there were no spaces in the underground carpark which is where you are supposed to park when on a fly/stay package. We finally got a space later on that night. BE WARNED - if you have a large car/4x4 there is an extremely tight corner in the underground carpark.

The room was very nice and had iron, hair dryer etc all things you might need.

I booked an evening meal as it was on offer. You are given a different menu where there is around 3choices for each course which wasn't a problem and we both enjoyed it.

I was a little worried about leaving our car as the spaces didn't seem very big but when we arrived back it was fine.

Last year we stayed at the Arora Sofitel which is accessible from the North Terminal which was fabulous, but this year went for the cheaper option of its sister hotel but I have to say that the Arora in Crawley isn't a patch on the Sofitel and by the time we had paid for a taxi from hotel to airport and then again when we returned plus the extra time this takes there wasn't much in it, but saying all that we did have a good stay and I would recommend it

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jazz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for posting your feedback about your experience at the Arora Gatwick Crawley Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you liked our rooms and had a pleasant meal in our grill restaurant and also liked our sister hotel the Sofitel London Gatwick. We will pass your kind comments on to them.

On a future visit to Crawley, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is just perfect. It is close to London Gatwick airport but at the same time it is short walk away from beautiful Crawley. Hotel itself is really big, but you do not have that feeling because it is spacious and there is always room for you at the bar or some of the restaurants. There are numerous airline crew members there, so it is super busy, but in a positive way. Rooms are excellent, clean, and perfect. You can open window (big plus) , and in the room you have all you need from ironing board to hairdryer and tea coffee amenities.
Staff at reception is really friendly and professional, pure joy talking to them.
Hotel is non smoking, but if you are smoker (as I am) there is a terrace garden outside next to waterfall that you can have coffee or drink and smoke.
Very very good hotel.
Loved every moment in there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabioinmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you found our accommodation clean and spacious and staff to be friendly and professional. We will certainly pass on your feedback to all our team members as I am sure this will serve as an encouragement for them to keep up the hard work.
We look forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night prior to catching an early morning flight from Gatwick.

Having traveled from central London to Gatwick we took the train from Gatwick South to Crawley. It is approx 7 minutes on the train and the platform at Crawley leads right to the Arora hotel. It was very accessible and easy to get to from Gatwick. I believe that trains run every 15-20 minutes.

The hotel itself was impressive, modern and of a nice standard. The staff at check in were very helpful and pleasant. Checking in was very smooth.

We requested a place on the hotel's airport taxi-bus which was £3.50 per person. As our flight was early, we requested 2 slots on the first bus which I believe was 5.45am. There are approx 6-8 spaces on the hotel's taxi-bus so I would definitely recommend booking onto it early as spaces filled up before we left reception. The staff are also able to arrange private taxi pickups too.

Our room was 112. It was quite basic but very comfortable for our short stay. It was spotless and the bathroom was very nice; Plenty of towels and toiletries.

We opted to order room service. The food was of a very good standard; I thought it was a bit expensive, but that was to be expected. It was also delivered very promptly and we really didn't have any complaints.

We slept well, however please note that given the hotel is located right next to the main rail-line to Portsmouth, trains do run quite late and with the window open it was quite loud.

Overall a very good stay and we would not hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review regarding your most recent stay. We are delighted to hear that our hospitality, accommodation, and quality of food were to your satisfaction and is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

On a future visit to Crawley, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for out last night before emigrating and it was lovely. Nice modern clean and functional, like the glass lifts. parking however ... don't get caught out it does cost £10 a night. Breakfast was very good all the food you could ask for. We used points saved for the booking which made it a good deal for us so no complaints. Bed comfortable, big bathroom. No complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Nicwray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

It was with great pleasure that we read your review. We are delighted to hear that you had a enjoyable stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, before your next flight.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
3.4 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
3.2 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley

Address: Southgate Avenue, Crawley RH10 6LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#5 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#7 Family Hotel in Crawley
#11 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £50 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arora Hotel in Crawley is a modern hotel that offers a high quality accommodation in the town centre, with Gatwick airport just 10 minutes away. The hotel offers 432 en-suite bedrooms, an AA Rosette awarded Restaurant(The Grill), an English Pub and a 24 hour gym. In the expansive Atrium, WIFI is available free of charge as well as in the hotel rooms. Combine this with ample on-site car parking and superb train links to Brighton and London and you have the perfect base for your business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arora International Gatwick Crawley
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing