We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great start to our holiday”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

As we live in Cornwall and were travelling to Athens from Gatwick, we decided to use a hotel near the airport to park while we were away and then stay overnight after our holiday before driving home again.
The Arora was superb right from the start. The directions were excellent, meaning we found it easily. Parking was really straight forward and it was great to park the car ourselves rather than hoping someone else would look after it.
Checking in was quick and efficient and the lady from the reception desk who showed us the way to the gate to the railway station was extremely friendly and chatty.
When we came home, fairly late at night, it was so easy catching the train back to the hotel from Gatwick Airport. Checking in for the room was again quick and efficient.
The rooms are very comfortable, airy and bright, and spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. The entrance to the hotel looks very clean and modern but welcoming at the same time.
Overall, we were delighted with our experience at the Arora Hotel and as we often fly to Athens, will definately use this hotel again.
Well done to the whole team!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have great views of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted to hear that all the services you experienced during your stay with us were excellent. Your comments will be passed on to our team members which will serve as an encouragement to keep delivering the excellent service that we pride ourselves on.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    809
    245
    73
    48
See reviews for
332
787
131
576
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was really impressed with the Arora Hotel.We stayed there recently before we went to America. Check in was quick, the staff were helpful and the rooms we booked were a good size. We walked into Crawley town center to eat in the evening, so I don't know what the restaurant was like but looked good. We were leaving our car there for two weeks.The car park is underground and this was good as there was a barrier and your car won't get cooked in the sun as it would in an open air car park.The train to the airport was ok but would probably get the transfer or a taxi when we stay again as it was a bit of a pain to lug your suitcases down to the platform and up and down the stairs to the other side. The train was only £2.40 each to Gatwick. i would definitely use this hotel again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you for posting your positive comments about your experience at the Arora Gatwick Crawley Hotel.
We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic stay with us and were pleased to hear that you found your room, facilities and parking package to your liking.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is dated and the beds are hard and seem to sink in! The chair in the room the same! I would try somewhere else in the future. The picture is deceiving. No pool here! Staff just pacifies you when you raise a concern. Very demeening. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are disappointed to read your review and can only apologise for the poor impression you have from your stay with us.

Should you wish to discuss any element of your stay in more detail then please do contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I recently stayed at this Hotel and have to say it is a very smart Hotel with excellent rooms, parking facilities etc and has the potential to be a great Hotel!
However.... the staff are unfriendly, unwelcoming and completely uninterested in the Guests and Customer Service!
I was so disappointed, on arrival I was stood waiting for nearly fifteen minutes before someone came to check me in and then the receptionist that checked me in was absolutely awful... her name was Zaiga. Extremely miserable, unhelpful, unwelcoming and just rude!
In the bar areas the service is very slow and I was often (along with others) stood waiting at the bar for service for ten minutes or more every time!
Such a shame as first impressions when I walked in were "what a smart place", it all went rapidly down hill from there. The staff and the service make a great Hotel and in both these areas this Hotel certainly lacks and needs addressing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HomeFarmCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. In particular, we are disappointed to read your comment regarding your experience at Reception. The team are all fully trained to deliver a high quality service to all of our guests and we do normally receive great feedback on their helpfulness and friendliness. We are sorry that this did not appear to shine through on this occasion and you have my assurance that the team have been given visibility of comments.

I would hope that sometime in the future you may provide us the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with an overall positive experience.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I was asked for my credit card number for booking. At the time of checkout I have cleared all the amounts but still to get the amount refunded which were blocked by Arora staff. Its being more that 15 days I am waiting for the refund. The amont is 300GBP.

Again on my second stay they suppose to refund me 50GBP during my checkout settelment. They again asked for my card for refund and you won't believe instead of refund 60GBP again charged against my card. That amount also I am waiting for the refund.

The account team is very miss managed here. Upon sending e-mail for my refund I am only getting reply that I should have got my money refunded. Which doesn't make sense any way. I afraid , I may loose my money.

Very Very bad experience with this Hotel......... Please be carefull.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biswajit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review.
I am led to believe that you have been in touch with the Hotel directly and they have informed you that the funds held on your account are pre authorisation and not a charge. Normally, pre authorisations made on debit cards can take up to 2 weeks to be released depending upon the banks.
Please do contact us directly at the Hotel if you require any further assistance and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I've stayed in a few hotels around Gatwick and as you might expect, they are quite geared up for all things avionic... apart from one thing, which I will come onto later.

We stayed here as we had an early morning flight to catch. Upon arrival, you get to part in the underground car park, which is very convenient apart from the fact that the only way up from the car park are some outside stairs. Not great if you have kids, luggage and bad weather (we had all three). Once at reception, we were greeted by a very pleasant member of staff and given the keys to the room. The room itself was entirely as expected, apart from the bathroom, which was absolutely spotless and equipped with a separate bath and shower. This was a real plus point for the hotel.

What let the experience down was that they stopped doing food at 10pm and all I could get was room service which consisted of either pizza or baguettes at around £12 a go. I would have thought that being an airport hotel, they would have catered for people a little more in the wee hours, so that was a bit of a surprise.

I got a really good deal on this place from APH so I'm certainly not complaining and I am likely to use it again if the price is right. I will just make sure that I make it in time to get something decent to eat next time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank British_Tourist_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
We are pleased to hear that your overall experience was to your satisfaction and that you found our team to be so helpful and liked our parking package.
We have noted your comments regarding the room service menu and are in the process of introducing a new menu.
On a future visit to Crawley, we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here earlier this month for one night before flying out from Gatwick, we also parked our car here for the 10 nights we were on holiday!! We loved the safety of the car park (it is underground and has a barrier in and out). We would definitely recommend and use this hotel again, it is so close to the shops and we walked to a retail park of restaurants in around 20 mins. We took the shuttle to the airport and this was around £3.50 each so not expensive at all. On our return when we had landed at Gatwick I phoned the airport and they told me to get the train as there was no shuttle for over an hour! So we did and to be fair it couldn't have been easier, the train was again around £3 each and you walk right off the platform through a gate to the hotel! Perfect after a long flight. From our experience it was a brilliant hotel and we would stay here next time. :-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno D, General Manager at Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving such a great review following your stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with all our facilities especially our car park arrangements.
We would like to thank for you for your recommendation and hope you welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Bruno Delrieux
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.3 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.4 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
3.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley

Property: Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Address: Southgate Avenue, Crawley RH10 6LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#5 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#8 Family Hotel in Crawley
#11 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arora Hotel in Crawley is a modern hotel that offers a high quality accommodation in the town centre, with Gatwick airport just 10 minutes away. The hotel offers 432 en-suite bedrooms, an AA Rosette awarded Restaurant(The Grill), an English Pub and a 24 hour gym. In the expansive Atrium, WIFI is available free of charge as well as in the hotel rooms. Combine this with ample on-site car parking and superb train links to Brighton and London and you have the perfect base for your business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arora International Gatwick Crawley
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing