We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, lovely room, good bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value, lovely room, good bar”
Reviewed 14 December 2008

Got a great deal on pre-flight hotel + 2 weeks carparking with APH. Arora not at Gatwick but in Crawley town so there's restaurants etc near by and the hotel is right next door to the train station. Excellent check in staff, good-sized room, great bathroom, very comfy and quiet very definitely a step up on the budget options. Efficient early morning check out. Top on all points, we will definitely use this hotel again next time we fly from Gatwick.

  • Liked — Raymond in the hotel pub-bar.
  • Disliked — internet was expensive
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    811
    247
    73
    48
See reviews for
332
790
131
579
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2008

Me and a friend stayed here for one night as we had an early flight to Lapland the next morning.
Check in was smooth, we stayed in the West Wing of the hotel.
Room was brill as usual, the bathroom is lovely and we had a huge new rain style shower which we didnt have last time!
One thing that wasnt good was that we booked a Twin room but recieved a double. Didnt bother to complain.
And the other thing was that the room was very warm and our climate control panal on the wall didnt work. We only discovered this after unpacking so didnt ask to change rooms or anything.
We didnt use any of the facilities of the hotel, as we had such an early start (3.45am!)
One thing that I noticed was, around midnight our fire alarm started to go off. We werent sure whether it was a tester, or the real thing. We peeked pur heads round the door and other bleary eyed guests were comtemplating whether to leave their rooms as well!
There were no staff to usher us out of our rooms, the whole thing was quite unorganised. We all stood out side in our pjs for a good half hour in the cold.
Obviously, this doesnt fault the hotel for me as its only once in a blue moon that you have a fire alarm but it did disrupt our stay as we only ended up having 3 hours of sleep.

  • Liked — high standards
  • Disliked — muggy room
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dimplechops88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

All went very smoothly. Good value room + parking deal - room a notch above the travel lodge with very nice bathroom.

We didn't spend long in the room though as we had an early start. The transfer to gatwick and pick up were both well organised and efficient.

Hotel restaurants didn't look that appealing on a cold monday night but reception directed us to the happy meeting chinese restaurant a very short taxi trip away which was good value.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank WitneyBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmarthen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

My wife and two teenage girls Stayed here the night before flying out for our holiday to Jamaica...I have stayed in some very average Airport Hotels in the past but this was great!

We payed £135 for the accommodation and 9 nights car parking which is directly underneath the hotel...no need to drive to a compound miles away!

Check in was excellent... very professional and effecient with everything booked like early morning calls, restaurant for dinner and transport to Gatwick at 5-45am in the morning there and then.

Expecting the normal 'Travel lodge' type accommodation we headed for our room...what a nice surprise! It was enormous, with separate toilet and bathroom (ever so handy when you have 3 women in the family...) two king size beds and loads of space for a 3 piece suite, table and usual desk/dressing table.

As we arrived quite late in the evening at 21-45 we opted to eat in the Hotel Italian restaurant rather than chance our arm round town....While the food and service was very good our only comment was, as others state here, very expensive! I think next time we will get there a bit earlier and try some of the High street restaurants.

Finally transport to and from the hotel via the shuttle bus was without fault...

This Hotel will definately be our choice next time we fly from Gatwick!

  • Liked — Comfort, convenience for Gatwick, Holiday Parking and efficency
  • Disliked — Restaurant Over priced
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank staffcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2008

The hotel is situated in the centre of town and we felt it caters more for the business traveller. We stopped here for one night as we had an early flight from Gatwick the next morning. We got a fantastic rate of £60 through Laterooms but we had to pay an additional £10 to park the car overnight.

The communal areas were bright and spacious (slightly clinical) and reception staff were efficient and courteous. There were two bars - one by the reception and another just along a corridor which was quite rowdy as a sports was event being televised and had attracted a large crowd. (Thank goodness for the quieter bar!) The water features both in and outside of the hotel were very eye catching.

Our room was quite small but of a very good standard with co-ordinated rosewood colour furnishings, air conditioning and a very comfortable bed. It definitely looked 4 star, however the design of the bedding lowered the tone as it was somewhat reminiscent of a Travelinn! (see photo) The bathroom was also of a very high standard with marbled tiles, inset spotlights and a walk-in shower equipt with a wonderful shower head the size of a small dinner plate! The bathroom could benefit from a tiny bit of maintenance to remove the stained grouting in the shower.

Our only real gripe was that the restaurant was too small to cater for all the residents. Dozens of people were being turned away and being offered room service which was very overpriced (about £15 for a modest plate of pasta!!) Next time we will definitely eat out!

In summary, this is a fairly new, clean and comfortable hotel and a wonderful place for a stopover by the airport.

  • Liked — The newness and cleanliness of the place
  • Disliked — Lack of reasonably priced food
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2008

A very well managed hotel , for once throughout a airport area OUTSTANDING!. Clean ,functional ,and all well serviced, at a very reasonable price, unlike some hotels, around the Gatwick area! well done!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank philipScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2008

The Arora is right next to Crawley Railway station with a direct entrance into the hotel, giving exceptional access to public transport into London and the local area. It is a good airport hotel with very quiet rooms and food. Reception gives quick service with staff from the office area providing back up when it is busy. The public areas are perhaps a bit over-spacious but overall a very good stay.

  • Liked — Quiet rooms
  • Disliked — Vast Atrium
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.3 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.4 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
3.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley

Property: Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Address: Southgate Avenue, Crawley RH10 6LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#5 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#8 Family Hotel in Crawley
#11 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arora Hotel in Crawley is a modern hotel that offers a high quality accommodation in the town centre, with Gatwick airport just 10 minutes away. The hotel offers 432 en-suite bedrooms, an AA Rosette awarded Restaurant(The Grill), an English Pub and a 24 hour gym. In the expansive Atrium, WIFI is available free of charge as well as in the hotel rooms. Combine this with ample on-site car parking and superb train links to Brighton and London and you have the perfect base for your business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arora International Gatwick Crawley
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing