We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ibis Gatwick Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    905
    368
    115
    59
See reviews for
335
905
341
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

i like the Ibis chain of Hotels, you know what to expect and indeed all over the world its the same design . So for a short stop over its perfect.
Ibis Gatwick is therefore ideal for a quick stop over, free WiFi , comfortable bed and modular clean shower room.
Shuttle service from airport (£3,00 each way) , one problem it only runs at certain times. in my case on the Sunday it ran from 4.00 in the morning till mid morning and then from around 17.00 to after 10.00. ( cannot verify exact times) so do check if the shuttle is available.
otherwise staff friendly, and helpful. food good if a little pricey and convenient for the Airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis London Gatwick Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuelle Jugon

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

To sum it up in one sentence, you get what you pay for. If money is your deciding factor, then this is probably one of the least expensive hotels in the area and you'll be happy. But if you value the experience as well, I would recommend staying elsewhere. Neither I nor my partner would choose to stay here again.

Our room was a bit worn, although clean, so we can't fault them for that. Everything we used worked (we didn't watch any TV but I'm sure that would've worked as well), so again, no complaints there. There's an opening window, which is nice to have. There's free wifi, which is slow but fast enough to do things like check email or do a web search (I certainly wouldn't recommend it if you're a business traveller; they do have a faster wifi, but you have to pay extra). If you don't mind taking a shuttle, it's close enough to the airport.

I don't mind taking a shuttle when it's fairly convenient to do so, however in this case, it doesn't seem to be. The hotel did indicate that they aren't the ones who run the shuttle service, but still, they do choose to use it. Perhaps knowing the following will help it be easier for others: first, the shuttle isn't particularly well signed at the airport, although this is the airport's problem, not the hotel's. Second, it's £3 per person, per way, and the shuttle service does a very good job of making it unclear that they only take cash. This "cash only" policy was a problem for a few passengers. My advice would be to make sure you have enough cash before leaving the airport, since the hotel doesn't accept payment for the shuttle, nor does it do currency exchange, and the nearest cash point is not conveniently located. That said, compared to a taxi it's more economical to take the shuttle (we compared options before making a choice and were quoted £13 for a taxi, one way, for two passengers plus luggage), but it's still expensive. I'm of the opinion that airport shuttles should be included in the room rate to save the kinds of hassles we witnessed, but then of course not everyone uses the shuttle who stays there.

If it had just been the shuttle service that was frustrating, I would've perhaps given this hotel a better review. But to be honest, the service we received was lacking - no "hello" or "welcome" at the front desk, just a "next please", and the person checking us in showed no patience when we had additional questions. When we phoned down to the lobby with a question, no one picked up the phone, not even to ask us to wait on hold. Upon check out, no one asked about our stay, and when we asked for a receipt, the person in charge (not the same person as the agent who checked us out) became very frustrated with us. I realize these are little things, but sometimes the little things count.

The hotel is also poorly soundproofed, and we didn't get a decent night's sleep (it's an airport hotel and people come and go at various hours to catch flights - the lack of soundproofing was not a wise choice).

At the end of the day, if I found myself having to stay the night near Gatwick Airport again, I would spend a bit extra and stay at one of the hotels on the airport property itself. I would strongly recommend you do the same or at least select another hotel, especially if you have an early morning flight and need to get a good night's rest. If you aren't bothered by the things we were bothered by, you'll be happy, but it's not the hotel for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_yow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the ibis London Gatwick Airport, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We apologize again for the experience encountered and can assure you that it does not reflect the normal high standards of service we provide.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the ibis London Gatwick Airport and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuelle Jugon

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a budget hotel very close to Gatwick airport, indeed the shuttle only costs 3 pounds each way. If you decide to arrive by car, then the car park is 5 pounds per day. The hotel is clean and modern. The room was simple but had free wireless - definitely a bonus. The bed was fairly comfortable and is kept clean with a mattress protector. Some noise experienced from the hallway, but no other noise. Staff were helpful and courteous but mostly seemed trainees and needed more experience in dealing with customer. Breakfast offered is a continental (cold) version or a hot buffet. Overall a good experience and I would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis London Gatwick Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuelle Jugon

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Clean, modern, economical, professional and courteous staff; excellent in-hotel breakfast; timely airport shuttle service; within walking distance of a large electronics store; some hallway noise during the night; would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supervisor52970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis London Gatwick Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuelle Jugon

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel is very good value and ideally located close to Gatwick Airport, which can be reached in about 10 minutes, using the hotel shuttle bus service.
Friendly staff throughout, both in the hotel and on the bus!
The rooms have all facilities needed- wifi, coffee making facilities, TV, Radio etc.
Super comfortable beds!
The shower room toilet is small but adequate for purpose and remind me of the lavatory on a Virgin train, which is also circular! Adequate supplies of shower gel in container adjacent to the washbasin and in the shower.
Bar and food available- not codon bleu but, again, adequate for purpose.
Ii can really recommend this hotel to stay per or post your flight.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis London Gatwick Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuelle Jugon

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Excellent deal and great start to a holiday. It makes sense to stay the night before at the Ibis if you are flying from Gatwick. Staff were so helpful and the modern rooms cannot be faulted. Facilities in the hotel were really impressive. So good we have booked again for April next year. It is just so easy and stress free to stay here prior to jetting off to warmer climes ! Brilliant

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis London Gatwick Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuelle Jugon

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.7 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.7 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.7 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Gatwick Airport

Property: Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Address: London Road | County Oak, Crawley RH10 9GY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#10 Business Hotel in Crawley
#11 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis London Gatwick Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis London Gatwick Airport is ideally located less than 5 min from all terminals (private shuttle from 5 a.m. to 11.30 p.m. on request), M23 (Jct 10), links to M25, A23 and A217, walking distance from the Manor Royal industrial estate (training centre,Oxford Aviation Academy, Virgin Atlantic base), 30 min by train from London (Gatwick Express), and 45 min from St Pancras international station. All rooms offer ensuite with shower, high speed internet, pay TV, airport parking (long and short term). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Ibis Hotel Crawley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Ibis London Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing