We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great start to a holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Ok it was reasonably priced but still disappointed. Checked in after struggling to find a parking space in a very tight car park. Had a drink in the bar before going to our room. The room appeared clean and adequate but toilet didn't flush and plug socket failed to charge our phone. Upon exit barrier wouldn't lift despite putting token in. Not great!

Room Tip: You only have 15 minutes to complain after check in so don't have a drink first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmandkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the ibis London Gatwick Airport, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

I passed on your comments regarding the car park token,toilet and plugs issues em to my Maintenance engineer to investigate and repair as appropriate.We invite you to report any defects at anytime during your stay.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the ibis London Gatwick Airport and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuelle Jugon

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,134 - 1,140 of 2,211 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here as an overnight before an early flight. For just £34.50 for a couple, we got great value for money and would recommend.

There is a shuttle bus to and from the airport - its worth checking the times of this, as in the evenings it only goes every 30 minutes so it would be annoying to miss it. It takes around 15 minutes to the airport.

Once we arrived, checkin was swift, and we were asked if we wanted the shuttle in the morning. We did, so it was great they reminded us to book. Its really important to book - the 5.30am service we got was actually full when we got on, and we had to stand. Not a problem for us, but get there early if you want a seat.

The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the TV worked (we didn't try the wifi), and the shower was good. Our room did get warm, but we opened the window (the traffic noise was then pretty hefty). We got a takeaway (which we got delivered outside just in case) and they were happy to provide us with cutlery for our room.

Overall great value, and I thoroughly recommend for an overnight stay - we ended up feeling it was a part of our holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis London Gatwick Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuelle Jugon

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Quite simply one of THE most comfortable beds my partner and I have ever stayed on in an hotel! The leaflet in the room about how Ibis have invested in their beds really isn't like reading about pigs fly...it's 100% TRUE!!!
The shower was also great, the room was immaculate and everything looked/felt pretty much like brand new...yes, the room was compact but more than adequate for two adults on an overnight stay. The staff were also very friendly and exceptionally helpful.
A great, convenient location, less about 5 minutes in a cab (about a £10 fare) to the Airport and comes highly recommended - we will definitely be using it for our next flight that arrives in the early hours of the morning!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedBen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis London Gatwick Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuelle Jugon

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank EdwardLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Had a Boxing Day flight down to Gatwick and stayed here overnight before catching another flight out of Gatwick for our holiday. Managed to get a very good deal as a member and arrived in the middle of their worst nightmare, due the weather the power had been down and the hotel was full of guys working their socks off to get everyone in the area back on the grid. We only needed somewhere to lay our heads down for the night so cannot comment on much, had a drink or two at the bar and chatted to the guys who were doing their best to get everyone powered up again. Next morning we took the shuttle to Gatwick for our flight, reasonably price and prompt. No complaints for what we had, felt the hotel was under pressure but they were handling it to the best of their ability and did not affect us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis London Gatwick Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuelle Jugon

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We've used the Gatwick Ibis numerous times when visiting the area and have always found it offers excellent value for money, a warm welcome and very comfortable rooms for a budget hotel. The staff are all genuinely pleasant and welcoming. They are also happy for our dog to share the room with us too for a £5 fee so all round it'll always be our first choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Cromaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis London Gatwick Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuelle Jugon

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Booked a room before an early flight out of Gatwick.

Arrived about 4pm and checked in quickly. Room was on the 1st floor. Room was big enough for two people and comfortably furnished. We didnt eat in the hotel that night.

Caught the bus at 6am the following morning to Gatwick North. The bus that picked us up was quite small and luckily for us, there were enough seats for everyone wanting to go to Gatwick, but I can imagine it might cause a problem if there are more people than seats!

Arrived back two days later to find that the hotel dont operate a shuttle bus later in the mornings - we arrived back at Gatwick at 12, rang the hotel to find out where to meet the shuttle bus and was told to get public transport! I think they should operate a shuttle bus all day (i.e. morning, afternoon and evening). In the end we got a taxi (£13) as we were tired and didnt want to faff about with buses.

All in all, its a nice hotel, within close proximity to Gatwick, but the fact they dont operate a shuttle bus all day would perhaps put me off booking again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandraAngmering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibis1889, General Manager at Ibis London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at ibis London Gatwick Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I took note on your comments regarding our shuttle capacity which can operate up to 40 people if required as the Company can provides different size capacity shuttles.As well, I passed on your comments regarding the frequency to the relevant department for future improvement.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuelle Jugon

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.7 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Gatwick Airport

Address: London Road | County Oak, Crawley RH10 9GY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#10 Business Hotel in Crawley
#11 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £44 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis London Gatwick Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis London Gatwick Airport is ideally located less than 5 min from all terminals (private shuttle from 5 a.m. to 11.30 p.m. on request), M23 (Jct 10), links to M25, A23 and A217, walking distance from the Manor Royal industrial estate (training centre,Oxford Aviation Academy, Virgin Atlantic base), 30 min by train from London (Gatwick Express), and 45 min from St Pancras international station. All rooms offer ensuite with shower, high speed internet, airport parking (long and short term). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Ibis Hotel Crawley
Accor London Gatwick Airport
Ibis London Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing