We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice lunch”
Review of The Greyhound

The Greyhound
Ranked #49 of 267 Restaurants in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Near Gatwick Airport, opposite Oldlands Farm B&B
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Went to The Greyhound today for lunch, staff were very police and helpful couldn't fault the food will be returning again soon! :D

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    46
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Huge Improvement ”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We popped in for a quick drink having seen the 'under new management' sign. Very pleasantly surprised. Tidy, clean & refurbished to a high standard. Much improved. Staff friendly, with a good selection of beers & wines. Definately worth a visit, we will be back.

Helpful?
3 Thank OliviaA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Under new management...”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Never been to this pub, fancied a bite to eat. Ordered a chicken and bacon baguette and a burger which was on quite a boring laminated piece of coloured paper. Asked to use baby change facilities only to be told that there was none as quote "they forgot to put it
in." We don't know who 'they' are or were but a poor excuse in this day and age. Baby was changed on a table in a function room...just imagine if you have a baby who has any kind of particular needs, a function room table isn't really appropriate in any circumstances. Whilst my wife was dealing with the baby, I asked for a high chair so the baby could sit and eat. I was told that there were none as they hadn't arrived yet.
Sat and waited for food to be served only to be told (and this is after ordering and being told that food will be with you) that they had run out of chicken as they had a big roast on Sunday. I'm not a publican and I'm not pretending to be, but surely at the start of the working day, the chef or owner(s) would do a stock count or walk through of the kitchen to see what can and can't be served. We paid for our drinks and left, hungry
and quite unhappy with the whole place. I appreciate that this put has only been open a week, but these basic failings have put me right off. High chairs can be found in the most basic of pubs, restaurants...and motorway service stations.
Probably a good pub for young couples or someone looking for a quick bite before a meeting etc. Anyone with a baby/infant I genuinely wouldn't bother. We drove around the corner to the Parsons Pig which was world's apart in comparison.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hemmy11921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers - at it worse!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I've eaten here a few time - food used to be surprisingly good but has gone sadly downhill. My last personal experience was a very undercooked burger and an seriously overcooked beef sandwich. But exceeding all expectations, we recently ordered three burgers. Two came out "ok" but the third came sandwiched between 2 sliced of white bread - along with a passing comment of "we're out of buns!. When challenged about why they hadn't simply popped to Tesco for more the response was "the boss isn't here".
Who serves raw burgers? Who decides sliced bread can substitute rolls? Answer - Basil Fawlty!
One good thing going for this place - the bar maid who's been here forever and I get the impression knows exactly what the management should do!
Its a shame - we used to use this as our "local" but have had to give up and find a pub elsewhere. Being the only pub within Manor Royal this place could be so successful and should be maximinsing on all the business locally.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chic2geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good opportunity to go in a pub close to Gatwich.”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Classic british pub with classic british people inside.
Food is good (I took a very good goat) and they have hood ales.
A good opportunity for eating pub food close to Gatwich.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Birba52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greyhound also viewed

Crawley, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to The Greyhound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing