We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to your holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterhall Country House, Gatwick
Ranked #2 of 17 Crawley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great start to your holiday”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have stayed in this hotel twice over the past 2 years and have just booked again for our holiday in September. It's in a great location, only 5 minutes by taxi to the airport which is arranged on arrival at just £10 each way. Your car is left at the hotel and you are then met at the airport when you arrive back in the UK after a quick phone call once you have landed. For me, it takes away any potential stress of hold ups on the motorway prior to departure and is a great relaxing way to start the holiday. With parking included when you book, we feel that this hotel provides fantastic value for money and we will continue to book here for our holidays departing from Gatwick!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank paulmuncey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann M, Owner at Waterhall Country House, Gatwick, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
I’m really pleased that you enjoy coming here and that you’re returning in Sept. As the years go by we get to know quite a few of our guests and we’re really happy seeing people return year after year. We do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    132
    44
    26
    23
See reviews for
48
375
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here at the end of January. We had a massive room that I was not expecting but very very pleased with. Run very well, they even kept the kitchen open for us when we were running late to due to bad weather. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Escott10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann M, Owner at Waterhall Country House, Gatwick, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
It’s always nice after receiving a negative review to receive a positive one.
So, thank you very much for taking the time to comment and really glad that you will recommend us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were disappointed with our stay . If you have stayed here before do be aware that no continental breakfast is available before 7a.m. despite stating that it was on our booking print-out (booked Dec.2013) In fact we were only told on arrival that breakfast is no longer included in the price.We asked to speak to the owner and were told that she would come to see us -- we never saw or heard from anyone again.They do sell a breakfast bag but we would recommend that you eat at the airport. This was our third stay but probably will not do so again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank gerald w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann M, Owner at Waterhall Country House, Gatwick, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and I was concerned that you had received the wrong information. I therefore looked into your booking. I think what has happened is that when you last stayed here breakfast was included but obviously things change. I can see no reference to breakfast on the booking confirmation that you received. Because the dining room doesn’t open until 7am we do now offer breakfast bags for anyone leaving early and have been doing so for almost a year.

I was aware that you asked to speak to me when I arrived at the hotel at 5.30pm and I was here and available for most of the evening. I would gladly have spoken to you on your return if you had asked for me.

As you have said that you probably will not stay again I feel I can be so bold as to say that It is very difficult to respond to reviews where it is obvious that the person booking has not read things properly. Most people booking, even if they have stayed before, are aware that there is no continental breakfast before 7am. It is stated quite clearly on the website and then again on the confirmation sent to the customer. No one should assume that things stay the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel was clean and tidy however I emailed and asked if a gluten free option for dinner and breakfast was available after the second email I had a positive response saying this was not a problem, when we arrived while checking in I asked about the gluten free meals to which the receptionist replied 'I don't know what gluten free is' we ordered dinner there and then and I had to guess what did not have gluten in. For your receptionist information, gluten is for over 25 million in the uk people who can not eat wheat, and gluten is a protein which is found Wheat,barley, rye and others, although the hotel was as I said clean and tidy for the above reason I wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Not room 1 it's directly behind reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann M, Owner at Waterhall Country House, Gatwick, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Well! I’ve heard it all now! Good job the receptionist wasn’t the cook!
We received an email from you to which we responded saying that of course we would be able to provide gluten free food. Just because the receptionist on that night wasn’t sure what gluten free was didn’t mean that you had to guess. We have an extremely capable & knowledgeable cook who does know. If any guests have special dietary requirements she makes a point of talking to them personally to ensure that guests are happy with what she will be cooking. She did this for you.
There may be 25 million people in the UK who are gluten intolerant but it doesn’t mean that the receptionist has met them all! The way we learn new things is to ask.
The hotel was clean and tidy. We replied to the only email that we received instantly. We provided you with gluten free food for dinner and breakfast. Presumably everything else worked well for you as you haven’t complained about it so I am at a loss to know what we did so wrong that you wouldn’t stay again.
Of course we’re more than happy about that because it means the room is available for someone who will appreciate what we can offer and be happy with our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed here in December as visiting nearby area. Nicely tucked away down a quiet country lane, parking right opposite. The room was a bargain (less thatn £60) and it was huge and newly decorated, underfloor heating was a nice treat as I love walking bare foot. Bed was very comfy, slept really well. Had a very pleasant evening. If you are travelling, gatwick airport is very close. Way better than most over priced characterless 4 star hotels I have stayed at previously!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bubble_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann M, Owner at Waterhall Country House, Gatwick, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Think you stayed in room 12 which is one of our newest rooms with a great outlook over the garden. We try to add a bit of character to each room as we redecorate to make them individual because as you say some hotel rooms are quite characterless. And of course our main concern is cleanliness which we definitely achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife & I have always thought of using Gatwick as a last resort. The reason being that it is a distance from home & the cost of airport parking is an additional cost on the holiday.

When we decided to go to Malta recently the flights from Gatwick were quite competitive, so I asked friends if they had any suggestions about parking.

Someone suggested The Waterhall CountryHouse Hotel as an overnight stay with parking facilities. This not only added to the length of the holiday, but gave us a relaxed and very enjoyable start to our trip.

The welcome was extremely warm & welcoming. Indeed it was through the vigilance of the receptionist that she noticed that our return flight was to Heathrow, not Gatwick - a complete oversight on my part. She noticed this as part of sorting out our parking arrangements for our return. Having agreed that we would stay with our flight arrangements, she arranged for us to have the car delivered to the airport on our return.

Our room was a delight, as was the evening meal we elected to take. The breakfast choices were wide & varied. The cooked breakfast we both choose was nicely cooked & well presented.

We will definitely utilise both the hotel & Gatwick again in the future!!!

Room Tip: Room 11 had recently been redecorated & was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MyCues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann M, Owner at Waterhall Country House, Gatwick, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Sometimes our guests get upset when we ask to see their return flight details but as you pointed out oversights can happen. It’s just another precaution to make sure that things run smoothly for everyone. We choose to offer traditional food, cooked & presented well because most people don’t want spicy or fancy food the night before they are traveling. Really glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here both before and after our flight to Thailand and were pleasantly surprised at the rural situation so near the airport. Nice rooms - good breakfast looking on lovely gardens and comfortable beds. Parking is included but not the shuttle service - taxi £10 each way although the service was good and prompt.

Room Tip: Its a bit of a haul of youre older and need to get cases upstairs. However ... Nice newly done room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supergrannyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann M, Owner at Waterhall Country House, Gatwick, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. We know how lucky we are to have such a rural situation so near to Gatwick and it’s great when others enjoy it to. Next time you book be sure to phone us direct and ask for a downstairs room. You’re absolutely right about hauling cases upstairs as our staircase is quite small and narrow. I’m glad you liked the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
3.0 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
2.8 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
3.3 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
4.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
165 reviews
4.7 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhall Country House, Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhall Country House, Gatwick

Property: Waterhall Country House, Gatwick
Address: Prestwood Lane | Ifield Wood, Crawley RH11 0LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterhall Country House, Gatwick 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterhall Country House is a delightful guest house offering hotel comfort at B&B prices. Situated close to London Gatwick Airport (LGW), we are perfectly positioned for both airport bound travellers or Crawley based business people. Our unique 34 acre setting, homely atmosphere and comfortable rooms will ensure that you are not disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Waterhall Country House, Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhall Country House, Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Waterhall Country House, Gatwick Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing