We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DOWN TO EARTH DECENT FOOD”
Review of The Beehive

The Beehive
Ranked #37 of 262 Restaurants in Crawley
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located before security the Beehive provides a friendly and welcoming environment for all types of passenger as well as a wide selection of food and drink. We serve a range of traditional ales, craft beers, premium draught lagers, wines and spirits. Our menu includes pub classics, world flavours, burgers, sandwiches as well as our healthy and vegetarian options.
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“DOWN TO EARTH DECENT FOOD”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We have used this pub / restaurant several times. Our visits have either been just after checking in or when we have stayed overnight at an airport hotel (why pay £15 for their hotel burger).

The food is good and reasonably priced. As for the service; how do they serve the food so quick ?

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TerrythePotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    125
    87
    40
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Airport Food!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We ate at Wethersooons The Beehive after doing twilight check in at Gatwick's south terminal. Despite arriving late after problems with our tickets, they were still serving food at 9pm when we got there and it was very busy.

We managed to find a couple of tables to seat our family of seven down a little gangway slightly off of the main restaurant near the staff room. We had a great view of the planes coming in to land which the kids loved.

Slight wait for the food, but it was well worth the wait. We had

A double cheese burger,
2 double chicken burgers,
an all day breakfast,
chorizo pasta
and a salad.

Our 2 year old daughter had one of the chicken breasts from my burger and some of our fries which was plenty for her and I didn't miss it from my burger as it was so big!

For the 6 meals plus drinks, the bill came to £65.

Great value for money. Presentation and food was great and staff were friendly. Wouldn't hesitate to go back :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimie1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
Level Contributor
146 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“always head for here”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Whenever we use Gatwick airport we head for the Beehive for breakfast. The quality of food is excellent, the service is always fast, efficient and very friendly. A really enjoyable eggs benedict and even the bacon butties are great. a good place to spend a hour before a flight or a train, especially at breakfast time

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank littlechef2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good cooked restaurant but please don't interrupt me to check if all is in order”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I had a couple of hours to spare before catching my train home and thought I could kill some time here where I have visited before.

I placed my order of a tea and cooked breakfast at the bar and upon my return to my seat, the tea had already arrived! The breakfast arrived shortly after and was hot and well cooked. The place was quiet and there was no urgency placed upon me to leave.

If I have one slight complaint with this place and Wetherspoons in general, it is why do they always seem to come to my table and ask if everything is alright, immediately after I have taken a mouthful of food. As The Restaurant Inspector said in the tv series, don't trouble the customer when they are eating, they will soon let you know if they have a complaint.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank binonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
149 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good as usual”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We always eat here the night before a morning flight out of Gatwick as we always stay at a hotel nearby & find it cheaper to eat here than at the hotel.
Food & service as always was efficient, friendly staff and decent hot food. My other half had a burger meal & I had a hot dog meal. All very nice.
We will eat here again on our next overnight stay at Gatwick.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beehive also viewed

Crawley, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 
Crawley, West Sussex
 
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing