We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food, attentive service”
Review of Sagorika

Sagorika
Ranked #179 of 265 Restaurants in Crawley
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Diwali is perhaps one of the most well-known of the Indian festivals: it is celebrated throughout India, as well as in Indian communities throughout the world. It is colloquially known as the "festival of lights"; for the common practice is to light small oil lamps (called diyas). The celebration of the festival is invariably accompanied by the exchange of sweets and the explosion of fireworks. As with other Indian festivals. Diwali is a festival where people from all age groups participate. They give expression to their happiness by lighting earthen 'diyas' (lamps), though the festival of Dipavali (Diwali) has undergone some changes, in due course of time, yet it has continued to be celebrated since the time immemorial. Every year, the festive season of Diwali comes back with all the excitement and merriment. Times may have undergone a sea change but customs and traditions remain the same. To live upto our name `Diwali' we endeavour to help our customers feel bright & festive when they dine at the restaurant `Diwali', so that the "festival of lights" surrounds their mind dine at time. At Diwali an expression of happiness is to light earthen 'diyas' (lamps), inviting near and dear ones together to their lovely restaurant for partaking in a sumptuous dinner. The lighting of lamps is a way of paying obeisance to god for attainment of health, wealth, knowledge, peace, velour and fame. In the midst of today's busy lifestyle, Diwali provides an opportunity to pause and be grateful for what we have, to make special memories with family and friends, to laugh and enjoy what life offers us. This restaurant is the best place for that. We are Diwali management ensures all customers will be spoilt for choice from the vast selection of authentic, fresh, healthy and nutritious dishes we have to offer. These are prepared to the highest standards using the finest quality ingredients, fresh herbs and spices. We also endeavour to provide an efficient, friendly service.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tasty food, attentive service”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Can confirm it is now called Sagorika. Located in a small parade of shops, away from the town centre, with easy parking.
Had a meal on a Saturday night, very quiet (undeservedly so!). They seem to be doing a lot of business on takeaways though.
The food was very good and the service friendly and attentive, yet totally unrushed (and I don't mean slow - just not that feeling you get in some places that they'd like you to vacate your table again a.s.a.p.).
Good value for money, too, imho.
A definite return visit when in the area again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeflonMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Name”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

It is called Sagorika now ! It is very good still. Staff are always very friendly. I have been going here since 1995 !

Helpful?
Thank JohnCriti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian in Crawley”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

I've used this restaurant for 25 years.. It is by far the best Indian in Crawley.. Don't think that where it's situated does it any favours, but once you've tried it, no other Indian in Crawley comes close.

Helpful?
1 Thank Zena3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Still Good!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Last on our list was the Diwali. New décor since I last visited leaves a lot to be desired taste wise. But the service was great (it should have been as it was empty for most of the meal) and friendly.
Had the Dhansak again and to was top notch! We had a selection of veggie dishes which we shared with everyone else on the table and everyone was faultless.
The place is tucked away on a local shopping parade and needs to be used more by the lazy locals - get out of the high street and try this place. If the Zari can get the trade so should Diwali.
Will be back down in the summer for more of the same.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Less Taste Than A Bernard Manning Joke About Jimmy Savile”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

When it comes to taste in a curryhouse, I prefer mine in the balti dish rather than on the walls. Unfortunately, Diwali gets it the wrong way round.
My quest for the perfect vegetable balti took me, due to a delayed incoming flight, to a precinct near Crawley.
The red and white walls are mirrored in tasteful tabletop decoration and all seemed more promising than the location.
It wasn't busy but the welcome wasn't great - the waiter spent most of his time chatting to a couple who he seemed to know well, and not really payign attention to me or the few other diners.
After a couple of poppadoms with pickle tray (no chopped salad) I ordered a prawn cocktail, which I grant you is not traditional Eastern fare. So the small, watery prawns served without a side of bread was forgivable, if not necessarily instilling confidence ahead of the main dish.
As always, I ordered a veg balti with pilau rise and a peshwari naan. The naan was nicely soft and not smothered in oil. The balti was heavy on onion and light on potato. Unfortunately, it was even lighter in taste.It looked like a curry and smelled like one. It didn't however, taste of one. In fact it didn't really taste of anything, sadly.
It's such a shame, but when the £17.80 bill arrived, the only taste left in my mouth was a bitter one - so I'll be trying a different curryhouse next time I'm in this part of the world.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sagorika also viewed

 
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to Sagorika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing