We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Premier Inn and we wouldn't mind taking one of those Hypnos beds with us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“We love Premier Inn and we wouldn't mind taking one of those Hypnos beds with us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

After a ridiculous early morning flight, falling onto a nice comfortable bed is most welcome. With the new Premier Inn at Gatwick, it ticks all the right boxes and more. With other hotels using a shuttle bus (costing £3) and the ultra expensive Sofitel, the Premier Inn is the most sensible being one of the closest and I suspect the cheapest option out of all.

The self check-in terminals were offline when we arrived but the staff had already anticipated our arrival and our keys were ready. One of the staff helped us to the lift and swiped his card so we could reach level 10. Gold stars all round!

The room itself is the standard Premier Inn layout with the ultra comfortable Hypnos bed (that my wife has fallen in love with). Tea and coffee making facilities along with a nice bathroom were very welcome. The only two issues (which Premier Inn can’t do anything about) the structure the building affects mobile phone reception and the TV was positioned in such a way that we couldn’t watch it from the bed (which is no great loss as we weren’t in the mood).

Our checkout was very smooth and the receptionist on duty was very funny and courteous – that’s a good mix to put people in a good frame of mind for the day!

Factor in a really good price, you can’t fail with Premier Inn. Book early and you’ll get the rooms really cheap. Well done Premier Inn at Gatwick North – we look forward to seeing you next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are identical with decent aircon so it doesn't matter but if you book early, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobsBobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quin_Holtzhuizen, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport North Terminal.

I am so pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us, and especially loved our Hypnos beds.
I am delighted that you found the staff to be helpful and courteous, and that you experienced a smooth check in and check out process.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,401
    2,913
    633
    223
    155
See reviews for
2,528
5,188
941
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Firstly, there isn't much to say about Premier Inn accommodation. If you've been to one, you know just what the room will be like and of the overall experience; no frills, comfortable.

And this is no different. But when it comes to location, location, location, this is absolutely perfect if you're planning a flight from Gatwick North.

Firstly, it is literally on the doorstep of departures. Cross two roads (easy, pedestrian crossings, roads all within the terminal so mainly taxis) and you're on the conveyor belt heading into the building...probably less than two minutes from exiting the hotel.

I have a penchant for fretting terribly about getting to places late - so this was absolutely ideal to calm my nerves.

We also took advantage of the Park and Fly deal - 15 days parking and one night's stay - which was tremendous value for about £120 all in....booked about a month before we travelled (the prices seemed to fluctuate considerably in the weeks and months leading up to when we needed it).

You have to pay just under £20 to park in the short-stay car park across the road (you get your ticket from hotel reception when you leave) and if you've booked parking too then that counts as one of your 15 days (so, for example, as our flight arrived early hours, we actually paid up £20 to park and then dropped the car off the following day before we flew so we could take advantage of the deal as we needed one extra night parking - if that makes sense).

It basically meant we arrived the afternoon before we flew out, checked in all our luggage the night before, then came back to the hotel, had a meal and a drink and a reasonable night's sleep, a good breakfast and then trotted over the road and straight to the security checks.

The customer service at the hotel was excellent - they clearly realise no-one wants to be delayed with planes to catch, so there was always someone on hand to help.

The evening meal is worth buying on one of the 'breakfast and evening meal' deals (we didn't) but the food was reasonable in the evening and the breakfast was really tasty - our two kids loved it. There's a large restaurant and bar area which meant it was busy in the evening, but you could still easily find somewhere to sit.

All in all, the Premier Inn remains fantastic value, and this hotel was so perfectly placed, it's hard to think of booking anywhere else if we jet out of the north terminal again.

You will, of course, find far better hotels with swankier service and bigger rooms, but then you're paying for that too.

For four of us, while the 'family room' is a bit of a dormitory, it's fine for a night's sleep, and for £120 with two weeks' parking too, it's difficult to fault. Picking up the car via the valet parking deal was ease itself too.

Oh, and despite what others have said here, we didn't hear any outside noise at all.

Highly recommended and worth its four stars just for convenience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Very friendly helpful staff. Quiet hotel clean run efficiently. Good value for money food options wide menu and comfortable restaurant. Exceptionally close to north terminal means reduced time needed at airport before boarding. All meals could be taken at the hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hummingbird176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed in the hotel prior to an early flight. The location of this hotel is perfect. We booked our car in the long stay north parking, took the shuttle bus to the airport, then walked across the road to the Premier Inn. Just a couple of minutes and you are there. There is no parking at the hotel, but you don't need it. Just book your car in wherever you leave it when you go away. This means that in the morning you don't have to think about the car - just get up, walk across the road and you are in the airport.

Check in was relatively smooth. We had two rooms booked and were allocated adjoining rooms on 4th floor, right above the shuttle train to the South Terminal. Have seen previous comments about this being noisy and disturbing sleep, but you honestly couldn't hear it - perhaps a slight murmur in the background but certainly not enough to keep anyone awake! When we got to our rooms, the interconnecting doors were locked (understandably) and we rang reception to ask that they be opened. A very friendly member of staff arrived within five minutes to deal with this for us.

We were advised on check in to book a table at the restaurant if we wanted one, and rather than face the chaos in the airport, we did this for 7.15pm. Table was ready as promised (some who had not booked turned up at the same time and were told to come back in an hour, so definitely glad we had booked on arrival). We were pleasantly surprised by the restaurant. The food was good quality, and for an airport hotel reasonable priced. It was more expensive than a similar restaurant would have been elsewhere, but not by a huge amount. Our waiter was brilliant - one of the nicest, friendliest waiters we have ever had! (Thanks, Ritesh). They do a dinner/breakfast deal, but we were not able to take advantage of this as our flight was so early in the morning.

Room was typical Premier Inn - no frills but clean and comfortable. We checked out just before 4am and this was simple and efficient.

My only gripe with Premier Inn is that we had to have two rooms. There was three of us: me, hubby and our daughter, who is 20. For one night (and not even a whole night at that!), we would have been perfectly happy with a family room with our daughter on the sofa bed (which are perfectly suitable for adults). Premier Inn have this ridiculous rule that this is not possible, and the sofa beds are only for those under 16. This is clearly so that they can make more money by selling more rooms when families like us would be happy with just one room. Fortunately we got both rooms at one of their special deal rates of £29 each, as we booked a long time ahead. If we had to have paid the full price of over £70 per room, there is NO WAY we would stay there. We have already booked our holiday for next year and would happily stay at Premier Inn again but haven't booked yet because of this, and won't do unless the £29 offer is repeated. Other than that, it's a great place!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentishfolk31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susdsex
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

After a late flight in this was perfect. Right on the airport, no messing about on shuttles late at night when tired. Speedy check in comfortable sleep. Perfect to stay over and a bar and coffee shop too. Kids bed was already made up and by booking in advance got a good price. Ok it's not 4 star but for an airport stop over it's clean quiet and comfortable.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cultured_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Mawgan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

What a great convenient location. One minutes walk from North Terminal. No waiting for shuttle buses. Quiet room. You just wouldn't know you were so close to an international airport. And of course the room was to the usual high standard. What a relaxing start to a holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quin_Holtzhuizen, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased that you found the hotel to be in a great, convenient location and that you had a quiet room, despite being so close to Gatwick Airport. It’s great to hear that you were able to have a relaxing start to your holiday.

We hope to be able to welcome back to Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport North Terminal again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Overall spot on- good sized room
And very quiet. Each floor has a ridiculous number of rooms so we had to walk about a min from lift to get to our room. Took longer to walk to my room, than to airport terminal!

Was worried how elderly or infirm would fare. Lots of vending machines at reception, and 24 hour costa. Room was clean and bed was good for what you pay (have a foam mattress at home so took a while for me to get used to springy bed). Also, boiling kettle took forever; definitely the slowest kettle in the world to boil!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Rebecca_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
0.6 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Address: Northway | Gatwick Airport North Terminal, Crawley RH6 0PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#2 Family Hotel in Crawley
#5 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Premier Inn is directly opposite the main entrance to the North Terminal, offering free transit to the South Terminal which takes only 2 mins. This new hotel is located within easy reach of the M25 and M23, providing a Costa coffee store, Thyme restaurant and bar, business lounge and express check-in. This hotel does not have its own car park however, parking is available at a discounted rate (19.50 GBP for 24hrs) for Premier Inn guests at the North Terminal short stay car park. This is payable at reception on production of your parking ticket. NOTE - Multiple hotels are located in the area, please ensure you have selected the correct hotel before completing your booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Premier Inn, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing