We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2016

PERFECT room for an overnight in the airport. It is convenient to get to. The design of the room is absolutely perfect for one traveller for a short stay. No space is wasted but it is not cramped either. I was very comfortable. My bed was beautiful and long and cozy. I loved my stay here and wish every airport offered such an amazing place.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Dear Kathi, I am absolutely delighted that you were entirely satisfied with everything about your stay with us at BLOC Hotel Gatwick. When we were designing BLOC we put a lot of thought into maximising the space in the rooms, providing everything that a traveller would need and including King-sized beds, top quality bed linens and towels, large HD TV's, free WiFi as standard. It is therefore a real pleasure to hear how much your enjoyed your stay at BLOC and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,163
    970
    311
    89
    54
See reviews for
366
1,234
406
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Was travelling to cephalonia so decided to stay here for the night before . Was really impressed the reception staff very friendly thd rooms are like small pods full of technology . Smart tv all the lights aircon etc are controlled by a touchpad near the bed. Has a bathroom with shower very comfortable bed with views of the airport . Very handy the check in desks for your flight is very close perfect if you dont fancy a long early drive would highly recommend.

Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Dear Glenn, thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at BLOC Hotel before your holiday to Greece. It is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about your night at BLOC and particularly that you received and enjoyed the warm welcome that our staff aim to extend to all our guests.
As you rightly comment our standard Sleep rooms are of a compact design which we liken to a cabin on a luxury yacht. The Samsung tablet in all the rooms not only controls all the in-room functions but you can also use it to check-out directly from your room and be at Departures within seconds of leaving your room at BLOC.
Thank you for highly recommending BLOC Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip through Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

This place was ideal. The room was modern and had everything needed for a family stay before a flight from the airport. Don't get me wrong, I wouldn't want to stay here for a short break! We turned up, booked in and went up to the room. All within 5mins of check in and security at South terminal. Good size beds, TV, tablet to control lights/blinds/aircon. The wet room was nice and had a good powerful shower. The view was of some service ducting, but we were there to sleep. That's it. There is a busy Wetherspoons nearby that has a good kids menu and caters for Mummy and Daddy with some wines and real ales!

Stayed June 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank swimbeforebreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Thank you very much for your fabulous review of BLOC Hotel Gatwick. You are absolutely right that we are a hotel that is designed to look after guests who are on a stopover at Gatwick, not as a holiday destination. We therefore aim to provide everything that will make your stay as comfortable and stress-free as possible, in a location in the South Terminal that is ideal for catching an early morning flight.
I am delighted that you and the children enjoyed the Family room and were entirely happy with your stay with us at BLOC. If you particularly wanted a room with a view of the runway do ask our Reservations team if any of those rooms are available, they are often a great favourite with the children.
I hope you had a wonderful holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back to BLOC Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2016

Just located in the Gatwick airport, convenient to catch a early flight, I think the price comes from its location, because the room and the bathroom were very small, there is no shower curtain. Although the room is tidy and comfy, I think it's just like easy hotel.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeiWeiWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to review BLOC Hotel Gatwick after your recent stay with us.
We advertise and describe our standard Sleep rooms as not dissimilar to a cabin on a luxury yacht, compact but with everything you need for a great night's sleep including King-sized beds, top quality bed linens and towels, large HD TV's, free WiFi and the facility to check out directly from your room using the Samsung tablet that controls all the room functions. We also have other larger rooms at BLOC so if you get the chance, have a look at our website to see what is available.
Our room rates are very competitive for a hotel situated so centrally in the South Terminal and offer great value for money especially when you book as far in advance as possible.
I hope that we will be welcoming you back to BLOC Hotel Gatwick again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

Booked a room with a window and was more then happy with the space, more enough room for 2. Easy and fast check in. Had an issue with the toilet which my partner went down to report and before she could even get back a staff member knocked and sorted the issue out in minutes. Loved our nights stay, bed was super comfy and huge! would definitely stay again without hesitation ☺

Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank essexLFCfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at BLOC Hotel Gatwick, it is a real pleasure to get such a great recommendation. I am glad to hear that when you had the issue with your toilet that it was dealt with almost before your partner could get back to your room, our staff team work hard to make sure that all our guests' needs are met so that you can have a relaxed, comfortable and stress-free stay with us at BLOC.
Of course we are looking forward to welcoming you back to BLOC Hotel Gatwick again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2016

The only reason I can't give 5 stars is that I always find showers here a little bit awkward. It's one of those compact bathrooms where everything is close together, so when you're showering, the toilet seat and the floor around it are also getting wet. If you need to go to the toilet after having had a shower, then it all gets a bit tricky... but that's a small thing really, compared to the convenience of being right in the airport. I've stayed here a few times when flying from both terminals. It's easy to get to the North terminal via the shuttle and the cost of staying at Bloc (which I quite often get to include Valet parking as it works out cheaper than booking separately) outweighs basing myself at the North one. The rooms are small but I can park a luggage trolley inside and still move around the room, which is so useful when I have a lot of cases and have just come from the car park. I don't need to move it all from the trolley until I get to the check-in desk. The soundproofing seems good, I've never been disturbed by neighbours or planes. Occasionally you hear people clattering along the corridor if they're not being considerate, but you'd get that in any hotel. If they have to leave at 3am, they assume no-one else is sleeping then... why do they do that? The free WiFi works well and has always been reliable. The beds are rather on the firm side, but as it's unlikely you'd ever stay for longer than a night then that's OK. Bedding is always immaculate, white, crisp... lovely. Another benefit of being right in the terminal is that Boots, M&S Food, Smiths etc are open late and just a lift ride away for any forgotten items.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjm4jmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Many thanks for your kind review after your recent stay with us at BLOC Hotel Gatwick.
It is great to hear that almost all of what we offer at BLOC works for you and that we are your chosen hotel at Gatwick. Our location is in the middle of the South Terminal, seconds from Departures and only minutes from both Arrivals and the shuttle to the North Terminal, making BLOC incredibly convenient for any stopover at the airport as you have established. I am glad that you have also taken advantage of our Park/Stay/Fly Package and found that it provides excellent value for money.
As to our wet room which leads to BLOC having one star deducted, it is made up of a combined shower, toilet and basin area, all of which do get wet to a certain extent when showering. A popular solution for many guests who wish the wet room to dry sooner than it does naturally, is to use an extra towel or two to dry the area and Reception is always happy to provide you with extra towels for this purpose.
It is really helpful for future planning to receive considered feedback from a regular guest so thank you for that.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to BLOC Hotel Gatwick again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

There's nothing wrong with this hotel. There's not a lot right. The rooms are quirky, small economical. I get it if it was cheap...but you can stay at a premier inn for £20-40 less per night and have a room twice the size. It's not a funky modern hotel, like it wishes it was. It's a budget hotel trying to pass off as a funky modern hotel. Having said that, most people will only be here for a few hours like I was, so it's a bit silly to complain about it...next time try the cheaper hotels around as price is what an overnight stay is all about, surely?!

Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jinx2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 8 June 2016
Thank you for your review of BLOC Hotel Gatwick, we welcome all feedback that helps us to improve what we can provide for our guests.
We have a very competitive pricing policy and our double rooms start at just 59GBP per night, if you book well in advance you will always get the best rates which will provide excellent value for money for staying in an incredibly central airport hotel.
I am unclear as to your definition of a funky, modern hotel but what we are offering is a stylish and comfortable alternative to the traditional airport hotel model, with everything that is in each room being of the top quality and having thought of all those things that are important to a guest on a stopover at Gatwick. This includes King-sized beds, fabulous monsoon showers, excellent quality bed linens and towels, large HD TV's and free WiFi. We think, therefore, that we have got the balance right between an amazing location, keen pricing, luxury and comfort, which appeals to many travelers.
Although what we offer did not tick all your boxes on this occasion we would very much like to encourage to come back and give BLOC Hotel another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.3 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
0.0 mi away
YOTEL London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport

Property: BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Address: | South Terminal, Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In-terminal hotel offering efficient, sleek and beautifully designed accommodation, BLOC Hotel is located within the South Terminal of London's Gatwick Airport. Super fast free Wi-Fi is accessible throughout. Rooms are compact but perfectly formed, equipped with an en suite wet-room with a monsoon shower, and all have an extra-long king-size bed with premium cotton linen. The lighting, electronic window blinds, climate control and flat-screen Smart TV can all be controlled with the Samsung Galaxy Tab found in the room. There's no need for hotel restaurants here, the popular shops, cafes and restaurants of Gatwick Airport can be reached in less than 1 minute on foot and most are open 24 hours. Exclusive discounts are available at these outlets for BLOC Guests. Central London and Brighton can both be reached in less than 30 minutes by train from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing