We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,945)
Filter reviews
3,945 results
Traveller rating
1,790
1,428
477
149
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,790
1,428
477
149
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wet room vip room no window touch screen south terminal an early flight controlled by a tablet windowless room vista room rooms are small monsoon shower air con high tech bunk beds runway view floor space large tv
Filter
Updating list...
2,028 - 2,033 of 3,945 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2016

My family stayed here one night before our flight to Mexico. Getting to the hotel is very easy once in the airport complex. We decided to leave our car with the hotel for 8 days while we were on holiday. The process of leaving your car with the staff in the car park is very efficient.

Once we left our car, the walk to the hotel is short, roughly 3-4 minutes. On arriving at the hotel checking in was very quick and easy. When we arrived at our room, we were a little surprised on how small they were, however, when booking I was told to expect this. The hotel has no real perks, it is made for the quick 1 night sleep before a flight.

There are 4 of us, myself, my wife and my 2 kids. The kids had a bunk beds and we had the other bed. The beds were comfortable. Everything is controlled by a tablet in the room which the kids loved! The bathroom is a little small, whenever someone has a shower the toilet gets soaked!

The number 1 attraction to me was the location, it is 4 steps outside departures, perfect!

Overall, the hotel is perfect for what it does, a good location, good bed no frills.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank soni g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Thank you very much for your comprehensive review of BLOC Hotel Gatwick.
I am glad that the Park/Stay/Fly package worked for you, the valet parking is in the South Terminal short stay car park and is therefore extremely accessible for checking-in to the airport.
The Smart family rooms are designed to be ideal for a family of four, providing everything that you need for a stopover at Gatwick without any of the unnecessary extras. Both our website and our Reservations team accurately describe all our rooms and their dimensions so that you know exactly what to expect from your room at BLOC.
To be described as 'perfect for what it does' is a fabulous endorsement and we are delighted that your stay at BLOC was easy, comfortable and stress-free.
I hope that you had a lovely holiday in Mexico and that we can welcome you back to BLOC Hotel Gatwick again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night before a very early morning flight! Had requested a runway view and it's exactly what we got! Thank you.. Amazing yes small room but absolutely everything you need in there and sit in bed and everything is touch control from there! Amazing bathroom / wet room lined that! Watching the planes take off and land from the bed is fantastic! Highly recommend and will stay again :)

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Toyah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Thank you so much for your great review of BLOC Hotel Gatwick. We have a number of rooms with runway views so if this is something that you would particularly like, please always ask our Reservations team and they will do what they can to accommodate your request.
BLOC is designed to provide everything that you can need for a comfortable night at Gatwick before an early morning flight, with our King-sized beds, top quality bed linens and towels, large HD TV's, free WiFi and the facility to check out directly from your room using the Samsung tablet that controls all the room functions, we think that we have covered all the bases.
It is an absolute pleasure to hear that you loved everything that BLOC has to offer and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

PERFECT room for an overnight in the airport. It is convenient to get to. The design of the room is absolutely perfect for one traveller for a short stay. No space is wasted but it is not cramped either. I was very comfortable. My bed was beautiful and long and cozy. I loved my stay here and wish every airport offered such an amazing place.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank roaming_camels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Dear Kathi, I am absolutely delighted that you were entirely satisfied with everything about your stay with us at BLOC Hotel Gatwick. When we were designing BLOC we put a lot of thought into maximising the space in the rooms, providing everything that a traveller would need and including King-sized beds, top quality bed linens and towels, large HD TV's, free WiFi as standard. It is therefore a real pleasure to hear how much your enjoyed your stay at BLOC and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Was travelling to cephalonia so decided to stay here for the night before . Was really impressed the reception staff very friendly thd rooms are like small pods full of technology . Smart tv all the lights aircon etc are controlled by a touchpad near the bed. Has a bathroom with shower very comfortable bed with views of the airport . Very handy the check in desks for your flight is very close perfect if you dont fancy a long early drive would highly recommend.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 386glennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Dear Glenn, thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at BLOC Hotel before your holiday to Greece. It is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about your night at BLOC and particularly that you received and enjoyed the warm welcome that our staff aim to extend to all our guests.
As you rightly comment our standard Sleep rooms are of a compact design which we liken to a cabin on a luxury yacht. The Samsung tablet in all the rooms not only controls all the in-room functions but you can also use it to check-out directly from your room and be at Departures within seconds of leaving your room at BLOC.
Thank you for highly recommending BLOC Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip through Gatwick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

This place was ideal. The room was modern and had everything needed for a family stay before a flight from the airport. Don't get me wrong, I wouldn't want to stay here for a short break! We turned up, booked in and went up to the room. All within 5mins of check in and security at South terminal. Good size beds, TV, tablet to control lights/blinds/aircon. The wet room was nice and had a good powerful shower. The view was of some service ducting, but we were there to sleep. That's it. There is a busy Wetherspoons nearby that has a good kids menu and caters for Mummy and Daddy with some wines and real ales!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank swimbeforebreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Thank you very much for your fabulous review of BLOC Hotel Gatwick. You are absolutely right that we are a hotel that is designed to look after guests who are on a stopover at Gatwick, not as a holiday destination. We therefore aim to provide everything that will make your stay as comfortable and stress-free as possible, in a location in the South Terminal that is ideal for catching an early morning flight.
I am delighted that you and the children enjoyed the Family room and were entirely happy with your stay with us at BLOC. If you particularly wanted a room with a view of the runway do ask our Reservations team if any of those rooms are available, they are often a great favourite with the children.
I hope you had a wonderful holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back to BLOC Hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews