We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location location location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“location location location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night prior to a flight to the U.S. The room is small but perfect for getting your head down for the night. The location is excellent right in the terminal. Book in advance to save money. We paid £70 for one night. Got snacks from in the terminal and chilled in the room watching tv. Great night.

Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank THOMAS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Thank you very much for your fabulous review of BLOC Hotel Gatwick. We are always delighted to hear that guests have found everything that they needed at BLOC, particularly a comfortable night's sleep at a great price.
We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,163
    971
    311
    89
    54
See reviews for
366
1,235
406
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2016

My family stayed here one night before our flight to Mexico. Getting to the hotel is very easy once in the airport complex. We decided to leave our car with the hotel for 8 days while we were on holiday. The process of leaving your car with the staff in the car park is very efficient.

Once we left our car, the walk to the hotel is short, roughly 3-4 minutes. On arriving at the hotel checking in was very quick and easy. When we arrived at our room, we were a little surprised on how small they were, however, when booking I was told to expect this. The hotel has no real perks, it is made for the quick 1 night sleep before a flight.

There are 4 of us, myself, my wife and my 2 kids. The kids had a bunk beds and we had the other bed. The beds were comfortable. Everything is controlled by a tablet in the room which the kids loved! The bathroom is a little small, whenever someone has a shower the toilet gets soaked!

The number 1 attraction to me was the location, it is 4 steps outside departures, perfect!

Overall, the hotel is perfect for what it does, a good location, good bed no frills.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soni g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 15 June 2016
Thank you very much for your comprehensive review of BLOC Hotel Gatwick.
I am glad that the Park/Stay/Fly package worked for you, the valet parking is in the South Terminal short stay car park and is therefore extremely accessible for checking-in to the airport.
The Smart family rooms are designed to be ideal for a family of four, providing everything that you need for a stopover at Gatwick without any of the unnecessary extras. Both our website and our Reservations team accurately describe all our rooms and their dimensions so that you know exactly what to expect from your room at BLOC.
To be described as 'perfect for what it does' is a fabulous endorsement and we are delighted that your stay at BLOC was easy, comfortable and stress-free.
I hope that you had a lovely holiday in Mexico and that we can welcome you back to BLOC Hotel Gatwick again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
490 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night before a very early morning flight! Had requested a runway view and it's exactly what we got! Thank you.. Amazing yes small room but absolutely everything you need in there and sit in bed and everything is touch control from there! Amazing bathroom / wet room lined that! Watching the planes take off and land from the bed is fantastic! Highly recommend and will stay again :)

Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Toyah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 15 June 2016
Thank you so much for your great review of BLOC Hotel Gatwick. We have a number of rooms with runway views so if this is something that you would particularly like, please always ask our Reservations team and they will do what they can to accommodate your request.
BLOC is designed to provide everything that you can need for a comfortable night at Gatwick before an early morning flight, with our King-sized beds, top quality bed linens and towels, large HD TV's, free WiFi and the facility to check out directly from your room using the Samsung tablet that controls all the room functions, we think that we have covered all the bases.
It is an absolute pleasure to hear that you loved everything that BLOC has to offer and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2016

PERFECT room for an overnight in the airport. It is convenient to get to. The design of the room is absolutely perfect for one traveller for a short stay. No space is wasted but it is not cramped either. I was very comfortable. My bed was beautiful and long and cozy. I loved my stay here and wish every airport offered such an amazing place.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Dear Kathi, I am absolutely delighted that you were entirely satisfied with everything about your stay with us at BLOC Hotel Gatwick. When we were designing BLOC we put a lot of thought into maximising the space in the rooms, providing everything that a traveller would need and including King-sized beds, top quality bed linens and towels, large HD TV's, free WiFi as standard. It is therefore a real pleasure to hear how much your enjoyed your stay at BLOC and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Was travelling to cephalonia so decided to stay here for the night before . Was really impressed the reception staff very friendly thd rooms are like small pods full of technology . Smart tv all the lights aircon etc are controlled by a touchpad near the bed. Has a bathroom with shower very comfortable bed with views of the airport . Very handy the check in desks for your flight is very close perfect if you dont fancy a long early drive would highly recommend.

Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Dear Glenn, thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at BLOC Hotel before your holiday to Greece. It is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about your night at BLOC and particularly that you received and enjoyed the warm welcome that our staff aim to extend to all our guests.
As you rightly comment our standard Sleep rooms are of a compact design which we liken to a cabin on a luxury yacht. The Samsung tablet in all the rooms not only controls all the in-room functions but you can also use it to check-out directly from your room and be at Departures within seconds of leaving your room at BLOC.
Thank you for highly recommending BLOC Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip through Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

This place was ideal. The room was modern and had everything needed for a family stay before a flight from the airport. Don't get me wrong, I wouldn't want to stay here for a short break! We turned up, booked in and went up to the room. All within 5mins of check in and security at South terminal. Good size beds, TV, tablet to control lights/blinds/aircon. The wet room was nice and had a good powerful shower. The view was of some service ducting, but we were there to sleep. That's it. There is a busy Wetherspoons nearby that has a good kids menu and caters for Mummy and Daddy with some wines and real ales!

Stayed June 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank swimbeforebreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Thank you very much for your fabulous review of BLOC Hotel Gatwick. You are absolutely right that we are a hotel that is designed to look after guests who are on a stopover at Gatwick, not as a holiday destination. We therefore aim to provide everything that will make your stay as comfortable and stress-free as possible, in a location in the South Terminal that is ideal for catching an early morning flight.
I am delighted that you and the children enjoyed the Family room and were entirely happy with your stay with us at BLOC. If you particularly wanted a room with a view of the runway do ask our Reservations team if any of those rooms are available, they are often a great favourite with the children.
I hope you had a wonderful holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back to BLOC Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2016

Just located in the Gatwick airport, convenient to catch a early flight, I think the price comes from its location, because the room and the bathroom were very small, there is no shower curtain. Although the room is tidy and comfy, I think it's just like easy hotel.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeiWeiWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 13 June 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to review BLOC Hotel Gatwick after your recent stay with us.
We advertise and describe our standard Sleep rooms as not dissimilar to a cabin on a luxury yacht, compact but with everything you need for a great night's sleep including King-sized beds, top quality bed linens and towels, large HD TV's, free WiFi and the facility to check out directly from your room using the Samsung tablet that controls all the room functions. We also have other larger rooms at BLOC so if you get the chance, have a look at our website to see what is available.
Our room rates are very competitive for a hotel situated so centrally in the South Terminal and offer great value for money especially when you book as far in advance as possible.
I hope that we will be welcoming you back to BLOC Hotel Gatwick again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.3 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
0.0 mi away
YOTEL London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport

Property: BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Address: | South Terminal, Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In-terminal hotel offering efficient, sleek and beautifully designed accommodation, BLOC Hotel is located within the South Terminal of London's Gatwick Airport. Super fast free Wi-Fi is accessible throughout. Rooms are compact but perfectly formed, equipped with an en suite wet-room with a monsoon shower, and all have an extra-long king-size bed with premium cotton linen. The lighting, electronic window blinds, climate control and flat-screen Smart TV can all be controlled with the Samsung Galaxy Tab found in the room. There's no need for hotel restaurants here, the popular shops, cafes and restaurants of Gatwick Airport can be reached in less than 1 minute on foot and most are open 24 hours. Exclusive discounts are available at these outlets for BLOC Guests. Central London and Brighton can both be reached in less than 30 minutes by train from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing