We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Protaras, Cyprus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

From the moment we arrived it was amazing, they had met our request and given us a room on the top floor with an incredible view of the runway! The rooms are amazing beds are so comfy and it feels so chic and upper class. The tablet that controlled lighting and blinds was a fabulous feature and we really liked the discount vouchers given. The only little niggle may be the bathroom is a touch small but don't be put off because the shower is so powerful and the mirror never steams up' would without a doubt stay again and the valet parking was perfect!

Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Neesha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 22 July 2016
Thank you so much for your fabulous review of BLOC Hotel Gatwick, we are delighted to be described as 'amazing'!
If you particularly want a runway view we suggest that you speak to the Reservations team directly so that they can prioritise your request, it cannot be guaranteed but we will always do our best to give you the room with the view that you ask for.
It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the whole feel at BLOC and describe it as 'chic and upper class'. We have moved away from the traditional airport hotel model to provide a hotel that is contemporary, sleek and well-designed but not forgetting the over-riding priority which is the comfort of our guests.
I hope you had a wonderful holiday and very much look forward to welcoming you back to BLOC in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    973
    311
    89
    54
See reviews for
366
1,240
406
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shingletown Ca.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2016

We arrived at Bloc Hotel at 2:45PM. We were informed by the front desk clerk that they do not allow check in until 4:00PM. His attitude was not at all friendly and we felt he could care less about the customer. We went to the coffee café just across from the hotel's open lobby to wait and have a snack and a coffee. About 30 minutes later I noticed a customer at the hotels check in counter that was being checked in by 2 different employees.I went over and asked them if we could check in and they said yes of course. Mind you it is not 4:00PM yet! I think the other person who told us we couldn't check in was at the end of his shift and didn't want to do his job.
We had reserved one of the corner rooms with a king bed and a view. Room was average in size and was very modern in design with an IKEA motif. Bed was comfortable room very clean. Bathroom lighting was very poor. There were no towels at all in the room. There was a young girl from housekeeping cleaning a room down the hall so I went to her and told her we had no towels. She said no English so I picked up a towel from her cart and said no towels. She followed me back to our room to look and then said sorry and went to her cart and got us all of the towels we needed.
We will not stay here again mainly because they do not have good customer service/relations. It is handy to be in the airport but I would not let that be a deciding factor.

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kijii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 14 July 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of BLOC Gatwick.
I’m pleased that you did enjoy our rooms here at BLOC, finding them comfortable, clean and in a handy location.
I’m naturally disappointed therefore that our customer service on this occasion has meant you are reluctant to use the brand again. Firstly, please let me assure you that all of our team members here constantly strive to achieve the best for our guests. I investigated your review and I can see that you were booked into one of our VIP rooms here at BLOC, of which we have only 7, which can sometimes mean (prior to our official check in time), the rooms are still in service. That said, we work closely with our housekeeping department to ensure, in the event a guest does arrive early, we offer a suitable time frame to get the room ready and converse this to the guest. I can see that on this occasion we fell a little short on this aspect, and instead of feeling informed you felt that we didn’t care about your reservation- which was certainly not the case at all. In fact, the reason your room was ready 30 minutes later was because the receptionist had immediately contacted housekeeping to fast track your room so that your expectations were maintained. I appreciate, however, in the lack of knowledge of this, how the whole situation could have been perceived, and I can only apologise and assure you that we will be using this review as a platform for retraining- so I do thank you for bringing it to my attention.
In relation to your towels, as the room was being prepared as soon as we could, I can only assume the Housekeepers were finishing up your room as you were checked in. That said, I am pleased one of our team were able to assist you once you realised the problem.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review, please do contact me on rebeccaw@blochotels.com should you ever need accommodation in Gatwick again and I’ll be more than happy to personally look into this for you. I do hope my thorough engagement and explanation of your review demonstrates that our service to our guests is of paramount importance to us and, with that in mind, I do hope to hear from you soon and welcome you back to BLOC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
146 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2016

Stayed here due to late night flight back and didn't fancy driving straight back. Like Ronseal does exactly what is says on the tin for an Airport hotel. So convenient as in south terminal so no need for shuttle buses etc, check in at reception, take the lift and within a really short time in your room. Small room but fine for what is needed, we actually had a view of airport runway high tec everything operated from tablet on wall including lights, tv, blinds, alarm etc. Good wi fi

Really good shower, not a lot of room but fine. Staff were pleasant only niggle was in morning the lifts were really busy used by non guests who seemed to have worked out reliable and convenient but apart from that very enjoyable stop over at a reasonable price, would definitely recommend

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matty07uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 18 July 2016
Thank you very much for your brilliant review of BLOC Hotel after your recent night with us at Gatwick.
It is a real pleasure to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at BLOC. As you mention, our standard rooms are compact as we have prioritised great quality beds, fixtures and fittings over the idea of lots of floor space, in order to provide a really good value for money night at a central airport hotel.
Unfortunately, we do not have control over the use of the lifts and I am sorry that they were particularly busy when you wanted to use them. Obviously this is not always the case and I hope that next time you come and stay at BLOC that this will not be an issue.
We are always grateful to be highly recommended, thank you, we look forward to welcoming you back to BLOC Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2016

Great location, you can get out of bed and be in departures in minutes. Check-in very fast. Rooms large enough for two with luggage. Large comfortable bed, large TV and wet room. Very clean.

If you have an early flight, this is an ideal way to save the stress of an early morning rush to the airport.

Wetherspoons bar and Giraffe restaurant on the same floor as hotel.

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarka00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2016

I thought this was a pretty awesome find. I had an early (6.10) flight so wanted to stay at Gatwick the night before. I arrived at around 10pm and check in took a matter of about 30 seconds. The room is excellently designed - great shower, comfortable and large bed and flat screen TV. I liked that they also gave you two water bottles and fluffy white towels - little things but important touches that make it a quality experience. Anyway, bottom line was the alarm went off at 4.55 and I made my flight at the North terminal with no issues. Ideal for a solo business traveler in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edo260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 18 July 2016
Thank you for your fabulous review after your recent stay with us at BLOC Hotel Gatwick. The vast majority of our guests are, like you, looking for a place to stay overnight either after a late night flight or before an early morning flight and are looking for comfort and convenience as top priorities. We have therefore focussed on those essentials that will mean a great night's sleep with King-sized beds, luxury bed linens and towels, lovely monsoon shower, large HD TV's and free WiFi. Add to this top-quality sound-proofing and a friendly and welcoming staff team and we hope that we have got BLOC just right!
I am delighted that you felt that BLOC provided you with the perfect experience of a night in an airport hotel and that you caught your flight with no trouble.
Next time that you need to stay at Gatwick we look forward to welcoming you back to BLOC Hotel Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

from the check in to check out a thoroughly enjoyable overnight stay , ideal if you have that early morning departure or late evening arrival . The room was spotless the bed comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful and you can get discounted food at establishments around the airport explained in a handy brochure in your room .I will definitely stay here again .

Stayed July 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 18 July 2016
Dear Roger, very many thanks for your wonderful, positive review following your recent stay with us at BLOC Hotel Gatwick. We have made it an absolute priority for rooms to be pristine and for our staff to offer a warm and enthusiastic welcome to all our guests, so I am glad that these were a couple of features that really stood out during your visit.
It is a pleasure to hear that you will definitely be returning to stay at BLOC Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2016

NOTE: this review is based on the VIP room category, which is vastly different to the "regular" cabin rooms.

We stayed at BLOC for one night before a 7am flight departure. The location could not be more convenient: it is literally SECONDS from the South Terminal rail station and actually a part of the terminal itself. We went from our room to the security screening in literally one minute.

Check-in was flawless: it took 2 minutes and there was no unnecessary paperwork or credit card hold/deposit ... just a friendly welcome and a quick distribution of the room keys. Excellent first impression.

The VIP room had a sleek modern fit-out and was immaculately presented. The room was located on the corner so was dual-aspect with huge windows. The king bed was very comfortable with high-quality linens. The TV at the end of the bed was excellent and it was fantastic to have "normal" Sky Digital rather than the usual user-unfriendly hotel television services. In addition to the main shower room with toilet and sink there is also an additional sink in the corner of the room ... a really nice feature. The iPad next to the bed controls the lighting and blinds very effectively.

We did not have a runway or airport view but I believe many of the VIP rooms do.

The bathroom was compact but clean and modern and the shower was incredible; we have stayed in 5-star hotels considered to be some of the best in the world and yet the shower here at the VIP room in BLOC was one of the best we have ever experienced: a huge rainforest jet, a waterfall, side jets AND a hose. Excellent high-quality shower products by Zenology.

Excellent room temperature control; the air-conditioning was silent and efficient. Fast free WiFi.

What are the downsides? Well, for BLOC to really hit it out of the ballpark there are just a few things that require improvement:
1) Only 2 cheap, low-quality bath towels are provided: 4 should be provided as standard and they should be a higher quality cotton.
2) The shower needs a small shelf: it would cost next to nothing to install and would save bending down to use the shower products/razor etc.
3) Facial tissues should be provided.
4) A towel rack should be provided.

Notwithstanding the above, this was a great experience. The ageing Hilton and Sofitel do not compare to the quality of the VIP room product at BLOC ... and when you add the modern rooms to the perfect location and convenience it really cannot be beaten.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank j_rich2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah O, Manager at BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 12 July 2016
Thank you very much for your fabulous review of BLOC Hotel Gatwick.
As you discovered BLOC is something different from the traditional airport hotel, offering a unique and contemporary place to stay for a night at the airport. You also mention that you stayed in one of our VIP suites which are intended to provide a high quality, spacious room for those guests who want something more than our compact, value for money standard Sleep rooms.
Your feedback regarding areas in which you think we can improve is also welcome, although it is disappointing to hear that the towels in the room did not meet your expectations as they are high quality white cotton that most guests love, the other suggestions will be passed back to the Design team for their consideration. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience and can only do so when we understand what they want!
It is a real pleasure to be so highly recommended and we are delighted that you had such an excellent stay with us at BLOC Hotel Gatwick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.3 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
0.0 mi away
YOTEL London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport

Property: BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Address: | South Terminal, Gatwick Airport, Crawley RH6 0NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In-terminal hotel offering efficient, sleek and beautifully designed accommodation, BLOC Hotel is located within the South Terminal of London's Gatwick Airport. Super fast free Wi-Fi is accessible throughout. Rooms are compact but perfectly formed, equipped with an en suite wet-room with a monsoon shower, and all have an extra-long king-size bed with premium cotton linen. The lighting, electronic window blinds, climate control and flat-screen Smart TV can all be controlled with the Samsung Galaxy Tab found in the room. There's no need for hotel restaurants here, the popular shops, cafes and restaurants of Gatwick Airport can be reached in less than 1 minute on foot and most are open 24 hours. Exclusive discounts are available at these outlets for BLOC Guests. Central London and Brighton can both be reached in less than 30 minutes by train from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing