We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service still exists.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Customer service still exists.”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Good standard room, but the service was excellent, it's been a long time since I have had the pleasure of meeting so many nice, helpful friendly staff both at the hotel and the pub next door. It almost seems a shame just to use the hotel for a one night stay before a flight. Thanks for getting my holiday off to a great start. Food in the pub was excellent and very good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roberta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. The team at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East strive to deliver first class service to every guest, I am pleased to hear that you found all the team you encountered to be very friendly and helpful.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    235
    54
    26
    12
See reviews for
182
247
47
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Recently stayed as a stopover before our Holiday.
Comfortable and clean with the good night sleep guarantee.
We always find that Premier Inns are generally of a good standard and this one was no exception.
All Premier Inn staff are trained to a high standard and generally make the experience good .

In all honesty this Premier Inn may not be as convenient for the per flight stay as other premier inns around Gatwick so may be better to hang onto your car overnight if possible as the Hotel Car Park is free and secure. ( £12 max 1 way to the Airport unconfirmed ) remember that this location is generally cheaper than others in the area and its quiet here and you will get the good nights sleep , you won't go hungry as theirs a reasonable quality restaurant next door.

In conclusion and worth a special mention are the staff @ this Premier Inn.
NOTHING Is any trouble you are a valued customer and never an inconvenience.
Krisz and Iwana will do everything possible to make your stay perfect just ask.
True ambassadors to Premier Inn and really do make a difference . Thank You...
In and worth a special mention is the staff @ this Premier Inn go the extra mile to make you feel welcome , Absolutely nothing is any problem and service with a smile Krisz and Iwana are true ambassadors for Premier Inn

Room Tip: All rooms are clean , good and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzer300_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank You for reviewing Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East. I am delighted to hear that Iwona and Krisz made you feel so welcomed and relaxed during your stay with us. Both team members are very pleased to read this review. I am happy that you found the room to be clean and comfortable.

I hope you had a lovely holiday and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Mary in the Marsh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Excellent customer service, staff very helpful and the Pub next door is excellent value and good food, location works well for Airport with good parking available with just a short drive to Gatwick Airport

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonGatwick, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for your review,

I am very pleased you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We will pass on the compliment to the pub, glad to hear it is excellent value!

Thank you agair for taking the time reviewing us, I hope we can welcome you back in the future!

Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Lovely stay after a very long and stressful flight from Turkey. We arrived at 2am and the night staff were very attentive and welcoming. We were told that if we wanted breakfast we would have to pre-book which we did. Breakfast was a huge let down. After using Premier Inn for the last 4 years we were disappointed with the meal. There were loads of people booked in and only one member of staff. The tables were rickety and some propped up with bits of card and paper, the chairs were falling to bits and a lot of food ran out but when asked about it, the person serving was frazzled and came across as very rude. After taking our order we noticed that 3 table got their food before us, even though they had ordered quite a while after us. The beans were claggy and to be honest the cooked breakfast was not that good. It was a shame as Premier Inn Breakfasts are always a bit hit with our grandchildren and good value. Probably won't use the hotel again but only because we always have the breakfast and wouldn't want to repeat the experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellybot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonGatwick, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear Gust,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel,

We would like to apologise for the negative breakfast experience.
We have meetings with the adjoint pub on a regular basis, and your review will be discussed and actioned with them.
However we're really glad you had a lovely stay in our hotel, and hope we can welcome you back in the future!

Kind Regards,
Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Decent Premier Inn, clean and everything you need for an overnight stay. Car park is ample, there's a pub next door and it was nice and quiet.

One think to mention was the extractor fan in the bathroom wasn't adequate enough, making the bathroom very wet, there was condensation running off the walls!

Other than that, same as usual, decent bed, TV, room was a good temperature, everything I have come to expect from a premier inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You very much for writing a review on our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found the room to be clean and to what you would expect of a Premier Inn.

Regarding the extractor fan, I do apologise for this, this is something that will be looked into and fixed.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

2nd stay here. Due to snow, stayed here overnight for an early morning flight from Gatwick. £47 for room only with free car parking for the night. Rooms could do with updating since it is showing its age but for a 9 hour stay, not complaining since rooms were clean and warm and had the basic amenities we required. Staff were friendly and cheerful. 10 minutes drive to the airport. Can't really fault it!!!

Room Tip: Any of them. All are pretty sound proofed as far as I can tell, however I can sleep through storms:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dselvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and everything was to the standard you expect from a premier inn.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral England
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 9 nights as we were visiting National Trust properties in the Sussex, Surrey, Kent and Hampshire areas. Room (36) was very good, comfortable bed, comfy chairs and plenty of storage space for your clothes. Bathroom very clean and good shower pressure. All the staff at the hotel were very friendly and welcoming, each day we were asked if we had slept well and where were we going for the day. The cleaners were very friendly also. Hardly heard any sounds from the airport even with our window open at night, plenty of trees around the back garden so a lot of bird song which we are used to at home anyway. Loads of wild rabbits in the garden. Tea and coffee provided and you can ask for more at reception if needed. Michael who covered the night shift on weekdays was very chatty and pleasant as was Yvonna, Herbie and Chris. Did not get the name of the lady who covered reception on weekend mornings but she was very pleasant too. We ate our evening meal at The Parsons Pig on 8 occasions and found the food to be very good, plenty of choice on the menu so we tried most things, the desserts are huge especially the chocolate fudge cake. All the staff in the pub were very friendly. Did not do breakfast so cannot comment. We would like to thank everyone at the hotel and the pub for a very pleasant and peaceful stay and we would highly recommend this hotel, if we are in this area again we will definately stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizMarcWirralEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel it is always good to get feedback as this helps with ongoing training, we were pleased to hear you would stay here again despite having had a problem which we were sorry to hear about as the team here strive to ensure all guests have all they need to enjoy their time with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
2.7 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel
Address: 1066 Balcombe Road | Pound Hill, Crawley RH10 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Crawley
#7 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#15 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a more rural location, close to the airport and the shops and cafes of Crawley town centre ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gatwick / Crawley (Pound Hill) Hotel Crawley
Premier Inn Crawley
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing