We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient but needs auto check in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Convenient but needs auto check in”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Yet again we stayed here before a holiday from Gatwick. Disappointed that this is the only premier inn I have stayed in that doesn't have any form of auto checking in and therefore we were at the back of a queue to speak to the one receptionist on duty and check in, this was around 4pm.

We had a room on the first floor, we did make the receptionist aware we were getting up and leaving at 1.30am and trailing our cases along the corridor and down stairs (didn't see a lift) but he didn't seem too bothered but we were given a ground floor room near to reception for the same reason last year.

You can hear what feels like every flight taking off and landing but to be honest you soon get used to it so this wasn't an issue.

Rooms are as per standard for premier inns and were very clean.

Did not use the restaurant (that is a separate building in a pub). We would stay here again for the price and convenience of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hussbrick87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn Gatwick airport east. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found it a convenient stopover for Gatwick Airport. Please accept my sincere apologies that you found the Team to be less engaging than you had previously encountered.
I genuinely hope we will be able to welcome you back many more times in the future.


Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    220
    49
    22
    10
See reviews for
168
224
43
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stayed here twice for flight out and again flight in. The first time we stayed we were put upstaires and all was fine with a nice clean and kingsize bed so we had a good rest before our early flight. On our return as we didant fly back till 1 we booked to stay again hopeing to get a good sleep before driving back the next day. We arrived at about 2 am and were given a room on the bottom floor which while clean the pillows even with the extra ones were not up too much. We went to sleep around 3 and were woken by a lot of banging and people walking around above us from 6 am till 10 am . The celings are low so needless to say if we fly from gatwick again i would choose to stay here long as its on the upper floor but i wont stay after returning as it made the trip back very hard and when you pay 71 quid for a room for the night i exspect better than what we had that night.i have stayed twice before without trouble so was unluckly this time i guess.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor as low ceilings if in bottom rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Good value for money if catching an early flight, although me and my husband woke up with a backache! Our bathroom smelt of urine though and they don't have a restaurant attached and you have to use the pub next door which isn't the best. Not on par with other premier inns I have used. Would not stay here again. Staff member was very nice who greeted us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linge88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Just like every Premier Inn I have stayed in good size rooms, clean and very friendly staff and in a good lpcation. The attached pub provided excellent food and again the staff went out off their way to provide an excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palletfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for posting a review on our page. I am glad to read that your room was clean and comfortable. It makes me very pleased to read that the staff were friendly and were assisting you wherever they could.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Lovely friendly staff who welcomed with big smiles, quiet comfortable rooms and close proximity to Gatwick airport for an early start. we were extremely happy and pleased with everything at the hotel and can thoroughly recommend, Dinner at pub next door was very good and the menu prices realistic and reasonable

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank edd____123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and everything was to the standard you expect from a premier inn. The team here strive to ensure all guests have what they need to for their convenience.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We used this as an overnight stop before travelling out from Gatwick South. The staff at the Premier Inn were pleasant, attentive and informative. Breakfast at the Parson's Pig was very good. It was very easy driving to the long stay car park in the morning. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for posting a review on our page,We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and everything was to the standard you expect from a premier inn. The team here strive to ensure all guests have what they need to for their convenience.
We do hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I do stay in a lot of Premier Inn hotels, and have always found the staff most helpful. If you ask them for something they can normally help out. The standard is the same, so you know you will have a decent nights kip. I wouldn't normally write a review but found the staff here to be excellent. Sophi in reception gave me 24 hour free wi-fi, and when I asked the staff if I could be moved to the lower floor, as I was staying for the week on a work trip, when I came back after a days work to found they had done everything for me, including moving all of my items , even from the bathroom!
The food in he Pub next door, was reasonably priced and to a good standard, the bar and waiting staff were all excellent!!!

Thanks for the continuing high standard, it is needed for the weary traveller :)

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soundgesture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonGatwick, Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and everything was to the standard you expect from a premier inn. The team at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East strive to deliver first class service to every guest; I am pleased to hear that you found all the team you encountered to be very friendly and helpful.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Godawela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel
Address: 1066 Balcombe Road | Pound Hill, Crawley RH10 3NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Crawley
#7 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#15 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a more rural location, close to the airport and the shops and cafes of Crawley town centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gatwick / Crawley (Pound Hill) Hotel Crawley
Premier Inn Crawley
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport East (Balcombe Road) Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing