We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, spotless room and unrivalled bed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for one night, before a flight from Gatwick's South Terminal. We were met by exemplary front desk service. Staff were informative, friendly and made a great first impression for both the hotel and the group. The room (329) was spotless and warm. The bed was the comfiest we have stayed in and was huge! We paid a bargain price thanks to the Premier Inn sale but this did not mean a bargain stay - the hotel punches above its weight and exceeds some that are far more costly. The family room was a good size for us and our two kids (4 and 7). Unfortunately we didn't get to sample the restaurant or enjoy the surroundings but will definitely do this when we book the hotel again for our next Gatwick flight!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

Thank you so much for your great review and very kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel so much. It is great to hear you found your room and bed so comfortable and that you thought your stay was such good value for money.

We hope you had a smooth and enjoyable onward journey and that we can welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

965 - 971 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Having stayed at the Premier Inn next to the North Terminal Long Stay parking, we decided to use this one for our recent trip departing from the South Terminal. After a magical mystery tour round Crawley (be warned, the postcode put into a satnav takes you nowhere near and automatic directions you can get by text have no flexibility and assume that you are not already lost, we found it by sheer luck), we did get a pleasant welcome from the poor man on reception - due to the storms the restaurant was flooded and all the computer systems were down - but we were not offered a refund for the breakfast we would be unable to have. However, as it turns out we would have been unable to eat the breakfast anyway; I had assumed that, this being the South Long Stay hotel, the breakfasts would start incredibly early in the same way as the North Terminal Long Stay ones do, but no they start at 7am!
The room itself (120) was very typical Premier Inn, although fairly small for a family room. There was a very strange burning-type smell coming, we think, from the electric heater on the wall (which was giving off very little heat anyway on what was a cold and stormy evening). The beds were fine, although when I got up in the morning there was a horrible sewage-type smell in the bathroom; I hope that this was a result of the storms/floods and not normal!
Anyway, would we use this hotel again? No - the Premier Inn next to the North Terminal Long Stay Parking is easier to find, closer to the South Terminal parking I think(!), nicer and has a restaurant which is open for breakfast at 4.30am!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merrowmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

Firstly, we are sorry to hear you had trouble finding us. As you probably saw the Gatwick Manor is a very old building (14th century) and therefore actually falls between postcodes. However, using the RH10 9ST postcode on an up to date SatNav, should bring you to us. Our hotel is named London Gatwick Airport South as it is south of the airport but, as it states on our website, we are approximately two miles away. However, this is only a 10 minute drive even at busy times.

As it sounds like you saw, we had some challenging weather conditions over the Christmas period with systems going down and the Gatwick Manor restaurant being flooded. We're pleased to hear you still received a friendly welcome despite arriving at a hectic time! The wet weather and flooding can be the only reason for any unusual smell you experienced in your room that morning as it isn't a problem we usually have. We can only apologise for this.

The Gatwick Manor provide our breakfast service. We do work very closely with the pub/restaurant and their staff. However, it is not owned by Premier Inn. Therefore, we have far less control over opening times than if it were our own in-house bar and restaurant. Again, we are sorry you weren't able to have your breakfast with us as you planned on this occasion. If you paid for a breakfast but weren't able to have it, please contact us and we will be happy to refund you for the breakfasts.

We all hope you had a smooth onward journey and that you were able to enjoy a break away from the horrible weather! We hope we are able to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the future, hopefully at a less challenging time.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review and providing us with your feedback.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

First rate accommodation and food. Service impeccable. First time visiting a Premier Inn, was unsure what to expect, but very impressed. Was convenient to Gatwick Airport, but no aircraft noise to disrupt sleep due to efficient double glazing. Will certainly use Premier again when required.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

It's brilliant to hear you enjoyed your first experience of a Premier Inn hotel. We hope you are able to return to our hotel again and enjoy other Premier Inns in the future too.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel the night before we flew to Sharm el Sheikh. we were welcomed by two young ladies who explained that as there was a function on at the restaurant and bar adjoining the hotel they had given us a room at the rear so we could get a good night's sleep before we flew out next day. They really made us feel that it was important to them that their guests were comfortable and that it was their job to see to it that we were. We had a drink and a meal at the restaurant and breakfast there next morning both very nice and good value for money. I have stayed in the Premier Inn at the Gatwick north terminal but that was more expensive with a cost for parking overnight. At this Premier Inn we saved money and parked the car overnight for free and it was only ten minutes by car from the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andysgirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We are so pleased you found our hotel such good value and convenient for the airport. It is especially pleasing to hear your found our Reception staff friendly and efficient. Our whole Reception team work very hard to make our guests feel welcome so it is great for them to get recognition for their efforts.

We all hope you had a great time in Sharm el Sheikh and that you will be able to visit us again sometime in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Returning from overseas late into Gatwick we chose to stay overnight at this hotel on a £29 deal. We were allocated room 105 which is on the ground floor next to a door marked 'lift machinery'. We enjoyed a quick bite in the Gatwick Manor pub before retiring to bed. Unfortunately our night was disturbed through until around 5.00 am by the lift being used constantly, by footsteps on the nearby stairs and by people overhead. We spoke to Reception during the night to be told that 'the noise was caused by people leaving for the airport'. We complained in the morning to the approachable lady (Emma) on Reception and she explained that people not staying at the hotel were running up and down stairs and also using the lift to one particular room and would not leave. She was most apologetic and promptly refunded the cost of our room, in line with the Premier Inn guarantee. In any event, avoid room 105 if you can as there will always be some using the lift!

Room Tip: Avoid room 105 and similar on the floors above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewlgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are so sorry to hear you weren't able to get a good night's sleep with us on this occasion. As you can imagine, the lead up to Christmas can be a very busy time with Christmas functions on top of those flying out to spend the festive period in other parts of the world. At busy times, we do our very best to allocate rooms depending on the purpose of each guest's stay. However, at extremely busy times this can become almost impossible as all rooms need to be occupied. We are sorry we weren't able to provide a quiet night for you this time. We hope we are able to welcome you back to stay with us again and we can offer you a nice, quiet night next time.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

If you can get this Premier Inn at a discount price (we paid £29), then it's a great choice for anyone flying out of Gatwick's South Terminal.
All the comforts of the brand - much better than other hotels near Gatwick that we've stayed in the past.

Room Tip: Don't forget to book ahead online and try to source out a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Croftmanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

It was great to see you found our hotel comfortable and convenient for the airport. It is also good to see you were able to take advantage of our Winter offer. The Spring offer will be available very soon so look out for that!

We hope you had a safe onward journey and that we can welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Thanks again
Claudio Morales, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed overnight at the Premier Inn as part of a Christmas Function.
The room was very clean and well furnished. Reception staff particularly welcoming.
Had both dinner and breakfast in the Gatwick Manor Pub - which is on site. Both meals very good.
Would highly recommend and will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anselms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

It was great to hear you enjoyed your festive stay with us. We are pleased you found your room clean and comfortable.

We all hope you enjoyed your Christmas party and that we can welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
1.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel

Address: London Road | Lowfield Heath, Crawley RH10 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Crawley
#10 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#12 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £46 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the grounds of a 13th-century manor, close to leisure parks and less than a mile from the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gatwick Airport South Hotel Crawley
Premier Inn Crawley
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing