We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a surprise - fantastic hotel in wonderful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Lapta
Level Contributor
161 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“What a surprise - fantastic hotel in wonderful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Not wanting too exhausting a day, with a long journey before flying from the UK, we were lucky to find this Premier Inn at the low rate that people talk about but which we have never been lucky enough to find.

Our room was well appointed and the bed was 'king plus parliament' in size and extremely comfortable. Built in the grounds of a Manor House and Tythe Barn, all well kept and restored, it was surrounded by countryside with no airport intrusion. The Bar and Restaurant were beautifully appointed, in keeping with the period, and the food and service were also excellent.

We used the shuttle bus at the entrance to the Manor at 4:21 in the morning. This was no hassle at all and it was also right on time, a duck asleep on the grass by the bus stop, which was off the main road, and baby rabbits hurtling around made this a Great Start to our day.

We will definitely use this Premier Inn when next flying from Gatwick Airport.

Room Tip: To avoid any noise from functions in the Tythe Barn, make the staff aware that you have an early fli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to have such countryside surroundings to our site with it being so close to the airport. It's great to hear you were able to enjoy them before your flight out of the UK.

It is also good to see the shuttle bus was on time despite all the roadworks we have around us at the moment.

We all hope you had a smooth onward journey and that we can welcome you back to our hotel very soon. Maybe next time you will be able to sleep in a little longer than the ducks and enjoy some breakfast with us too!

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    485
    186
    73
    37
See reviews for
421
605
78
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
herts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I like the brand but this hotel is something special. Lovely helpful staff, gorgeous surroundings and we had a big room with a huge bed. Pub next door with good value tasty food. Very pleased. Staff even made sure we had a quiet room away from an anniversary party group's rooms

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hertsmumofsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

It is brilliant to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Thank you very much for your fantastic review and kind words.

We all hope you will be able to visit us again in the future and continue to enjoy staying with Premier Inn.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I travel quite a bit and have stayed in some very good hotels. I'm not impossible to please but think any hotel should meet your expectations. Expectations are commensurate to the room rate and I have to say Premier Inn delivered well above mine.
I extended a work trip to the UK and paid 45 UK Pounds Sterling a night for 3 nights to stay here and met up with my parents who had travelled down from Stafford. I can only give 100% praise to the staff and whole experience. Really superb in terms of comfort and cleanliness. Basic yes but they do it so well.
Even the English breakfast was great for 8.95 Pounds.
The wifi was reliable and good value at 3 Pounds for 24 hours. It was fast enough for me to Skype the family at home.
The only downside; I had to fall asleep looking at a picture of Lenny Henry.
Well done and considering this is a budget hotel with fierce competition they are a cut above the rest. Nothing was too much trouble and I cannot say anything negative or offer any constructive criticism.

I'm not often so complementary, must be going soft.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dxbreviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

Thank you for your great review and very kind words. It is brilliant to see you enjoyed your stay with us so much and found it good value for money.

We all hope you had a smooth onward journey and that we are able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel prior to an early flight. Great nights sleep but heard lady in room above in her heels. Nothing the hotel could have done about it. Ordered a cab from hotel to airport due to roadworks and wanting to make sure we got there but free shuttle is available.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBlack100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

It is great to hear your had a comfortable night's stay with us. We hope your taxi got you to the airport in good time despite the roadworks. The shuttle bus that runs to and from the airport actually carries a charge of £3 per person so a taxi for two of you doesn't work out much more expensive anyway.

We all hope you had a smooth onward journey and that you are able to visit us again in the near future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

From the moment we arrived until we left the service and welcome we received was outstanding and the breakfast and facilities were fantastic would highly recommend nothing was too much trouble for the staff a nice end too our family holiday A++++++

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear you were made to feel so welcome by our staff.

We all hope you had a safe journey home and that we are able to welcome you back to stay with us again sometime in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel was the usual standard, although the hotel is looking tired and the approach road is falling apart and needs relaying. Reception and housekeeping staff were pleasant and welcoming. The restaurant however was poor, food was cold and no interest from the staff at all apart from placing on the table. There was one night when the food was better but that was the exception. The worst breakfast service in a premier hotel ever. Sausages were pale and anaemic, a good vet could have brought the bacon back to life. Staff spent most of the time either looking at phones or stirring the breakfast items in a hot plate (bain marie) that should have been thrown out years ago, it just produced steam. Scrambled eggs you could either slice or swim in, depending on the day due to excess water.
All in all if this had been my first visit to a Premier Inn I would have been very disappointed, however I know this is the exception rather than the rule.
A low score because of the on site restaurant, the hotel was fine.

Room Tip: Go to another premier inn or eat elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We were very disappointed to see such a low rating on your review. On closer inspection, it appears you found your stay in our hotel quite satisfactory and it was pleasing to see you found our staff to be pleasant and welcoming.

The disappointing aspect of your stay was the food and service in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. As you will know, we do not have an in-house restaurant at our site. Our breakfast service is provided by our neighbouring pub/restaurant, the Gatwick Manor. We appreciate your feedback and will be addressing the points you have raised with the management team of the restaurant. Although we are run by separate companies, it is very important to us that the dinner and breakfast services are run to as high a standard as possible for our guests.

We do hope your disappointment with the restaurant won't prevent you from staying with us again in the future. In fact, we would love to welcome you back and endeavour to provide a better breakfast service next time.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Nice place but booked as thought it was at Gatwick Airports South Terminal and wasn't expecting a 15 min bus journey after a long flight and day to find it. However nice staff and food , quaint place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are sorry if the location of the hotel wasn't clear. Premierinn.com does state that we are located "2 miles/10 minute taxi journey" from the airport. However, you may have made the booking by other means. We are pleased, however, that you enjoyed your stay with us once you found us.

We hope you had a smooth onward journey and that we can welcome you back to our hotel again sometime in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.2 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Address: London Road | Lowfield Heath, Crawley RH10 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Crawley
#10 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#12 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the grounds of a 13th-century manor, close to leisure parks and less than a mile from the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gatwick Airport South Hotel Crawley
Premier Inn Crawley
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing