We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$83
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$106
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$123
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,660)
Filter reviews
1,660 results
Traveller rating
702
576
231
94
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
702
576
231
94
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef and brewergatwick airportstayed hereadjoining restaurantpub restaurantpub next doorcar parklong stay parkinggood nights sleepnext morningfamily roomreception staffnight's sleepan early flightexcellent valuebudget hotelquiet room
Filter
Updating list...
989 - 994 of 1,660 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed one night on the park and stay deal. Bargain price and hassle free, there is plenty of parking and the receptionist was particularly efficient. Large room with three beds and a modern bathroom, everything you could possibly need. We ate in the adjoining pub/restaurant and it was very good and excellent value.The early morning alarm call was made as requested. I would definately use this hotel again when I am flying from gatwick south.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellbeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear you had everything you needed and enjoyed a good, comfortable night. It is also pleasing to see you enjoyed your meal over at the Gatwick Manor.

We all hope you had a safe and smooth onward journey and that we can welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have stayed in many Premier Inns and like them a great deal. However, this one is very average, and there are better hotels in the Gatwick area. My partner and I stayed at the Gatwick South hotel on 5 May under the Sleep, Park, Fly scheme because we couldn't get into the Manor Royal Premier Inn (which is far better). To be fair, there is ostensibly nothing wrong with the Gatwick South hotel. The rooms are small and rather hot, but otherwise fine. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. Despite such close proximity to the airport, you get a very good night's sleep. And the grounds are spacious and verdant with lots of car parking space. On the other hand, we found the whole area around the hotel to have a rather tired and run-down feel about it. As a result, we avoided the Chef and Brewer for dinner and walked to the Manor Royal Premier Inn for our supper (which was fine). Maybe the situation wasn't helped by the road works outside on the London Road, but I don't think so. The problem is deeper than that. The whole area had a rather creepy feel to it. The Premier Inn Gatwick South hotel is a large building which sprawls over a very open and exposed site with lots of cover for anyone intent on wrongdoing. There are several police signs warning you not to leave anything in your car which only accentuates this feeling. Consequently, my partner (who is no wimp) said that as a woman she wouldn't feel safe staying at this hotel on her own, especially when using the car park (and when flying you often have to leave a hotel in the dark during the early morning) I hope that this review is not unfair on the staff of the Premier Inn at Gatwick South who can only work with what they've got and clearly do a good job. But personally I intend to avoid this hotel in future and will always try to book into the Premier Inn Manor Royal instead. Sorry to the Hotel Manager, but this is my honest opinion!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanAbbott48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are sorry you weren't able to fully relax and feel comfortable during your stay with us. As I'm sure you are aware, the Gatwick Manor pub/restaurant is run by a separate company to ourselves. The grounds surrounding both the pub and our hotel are all owned by the Gatwick Manor. The Manor itself was built in the 14th century and is a listed building so it cannot be renovated in any major way. As for the car park, we are in discussions with the management of the pub to get some more lighting and to generally keep the area tidy but, as things stand, any changes/improvements need to be finalised by Chef & Brewer. The warning signs in the car park can be found in nearly all car parks in the area and are put up at the request of the Police. We very much appreciate your feedback on this matter and will keep working to make our hotel feel as welcoming as possible.

On a much brighter note, it is very pleasing to see you felt our staff were very welcoming, helpful and generally doing a really good job.

We do hope you had an enjoyable onward journey and that you will enjoy staying at Premier Inn for many years to come.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a very average hotel. The receptionist was excellent who gave a great service. But the room was just too hot. There was no air conditioning and the fan provided just wasn't up to the job. I use the Premier Inn chain a lot, as well as other hotels and this was the hottest room I have ever stayed in. The room had the usual level of equipment and was clean. The car parking is quite extensive and it looks a nice building. But I wouldn't stay here again purely due to the heat of the room and it wasn't a hot day. Use one of the other Premier Inn hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pub if there is a function on.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisB7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are sorry you weren't able to enjoy your stay with us due to the heat of your room. Unfortunately, our hotel is a slightly older building and isn't fitted with air conditioning. During the warmer months we do all we can to keep our rooms as comfortable as possible by keeping curtains closed, windows open and having fans placed in the rooms.

It was very pleasing, however, to see that you were impressed by the service given by our Receptionist.

Again, we apologise that your stay wasn't as comfortable as it might have been on this occasion. We hope you will continue to stay with us at Premier Inn in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel the night before a flight from Gatwick Airport. Reception staff Becky & Jay were extremely friendly and welcoming, Becky was due to go home just as we got there but Jay was more than helpful when I asked him to provide us with more coffee, sugar ,milk, ETC for our room & he gave us more than enough. Becky & Jay were also more than helpful the next day providing us with directions to Gatwick avoiding the current road works meaning that one of the nearby roads is completely closed. There are several facilities in reception, there is an ATM, a luggage/personal weighing machine, a vending machine providing crisps, chocolate ETC & even shaving kits, there is also another vending machine providing ice cream in a variety of flavours.Also in reception there are several leaflets about the local area & things to do etc.
The rooms are spacious with a king size bed, wardrobe with shelving space, TV with freeview, tea & coffee making facilities, full length mirror, desk area with chair, comfy chair, phone, extra pillows, heater, fan & hairdryer. The bathroom has toilet, sink, shower(over bath), & bath, there is a large soap dispenser over the sink & a large hair & body wash dispenser over the bath. The room was clean & comfortable with plenty of lighting. Overall I would say that our experience was a positive one although we did cancel our breakfast booking due to negative reviews on Tripadvisor. This was no problem to cancel, however be aware that if you have booked 6 months or more in advance (as in our case) you don't get an instant refund, the receptionist cancels the breakfast on their computer system and then you have to wait for head office to contact you to arrange the refund, this was a simple 2 minute phone call were all I had to do was provide the card number I used to pay with and was told that the money will be back on the card within 5 working days. We had a very good nights sleep, we requested a 2nd floor room as far away from the lifts as possible, this request was granted with no problems at all & we therefore had no noise from the corridors ETC. If we were flying from Gatwick again we would definitely use this hotel again & we would recommend this hotel to you. Just a note the stars given below for fitness centre & room service are only average as we did not use them & therefore we are unable to comment.

Room Tip: If you have an early morning start or want a quiet nights sleep we would suggest that you request a 2nd floor room as far away from the lifts as possible because in our case this really helped us get a good nights sleep before a long day of travelling.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHRISMANDY19591977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

Thank you for such a thorough and detailed review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and all the facilities we have to offer. It is also great to hear Becky & Jay were on hand to make you feel welcome on your arrival and were able to provide you with all the information and coffee you needed.

We all hope you had an enjoyable trip and that we can welcome you back to stay with us again very soon.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel was a bargin price of £25.99 for our one night stay prior to our flight from Gatwick. As ever the Premier Inn standard was good. That is the good thing about all of the Premier Inns I have stayed in is that you get a good standard of service no matter where it is.
The hotel is located only about 10 mins from the airport so it takes any stress prior to your flight.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1wozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of one of our cheaper room deals. We are pleased you found our site so convenient for the airport also.

We all hope you had a safe and enjoyable onward journey and that we can welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews