We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel was excellent for an overnight stay before flying out the day after.
The rooms,though basic, were excellent value and they were clean and well ordered.
The meals were good value and they were well cooked.
As a base for a short stay before flying from Gatwick this hotel was just perfect for its needs.
I would recommend anyone travelling from this airport to use this hotel and, as we have sampled others elsewhere, I would highly recommend this chain as being excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

Thank you very much for your great review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us prior to flying from Gatwick. It is great to hear you found our hotel such good value for money and convenient for the airport.

We hope you had a safe and enjoyable onward journey and that we are able to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    494
    196
    74
    42
See reviews for
425
626
81
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here the night before our flight home. This hotel was not what we were expecting from an airport hotel! We had anticipated a restless night with planes flying overhead, a plain stereotypical modern hotel. We couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. The room was very comfortable and quiet, it was like being in the country. Our room overlooked a grassy area with picnic tables, how scenic. The breakfast was wonderful and what a place full of character and charm. Won't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcfngn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

Thank you for your positive review and kind words. We are so pleased you were able enjoy the last night of your trip with us. We are very lucky to have such quiet and green surroundings being so close to the airport and it is great to hear our guests have enjoyed them.

We all hope you had a smooth journey home and that you are able to visit us again sometime in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having had misfortune to recently stay in one of the worst hotels in UK this was a breath of fresh air, especially as it is a corporate chain hotel. Room spacious enough, CLEAN! Bathroom likewise immaculate and all for £36 a night. We had purchased three rooms for family and it represented excellent value as all our guests rooms were equally clean tidy and comfortable. Bed sooooo big and comfy, brill.

The 'BUT' was the 'Strictly Ballroom' occupants of the room above. As most guests are pre - or post flight patrons a fair amount of nocturnal movement is inevitable but this room seemed to be pulling an all nighter...no party noise but constant footsteps and what sounded like cases on floor being opened and closed....hence nights sleep was not great! rest of our group had perfect nights kip. Can I write to Lenny for my money back?

Mt guess would be get a room on third floor and top floor.

Room Tip: top floor room the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M80KMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are pleased to see that you found our hotel clean, comfortable and good value for money for your family's stay. However, we are very sorry to hear your night was disturbed by movement in the room above you. As you rightly say, being an airport hotel, there is always comings and goings at all hours of the day and night. Unfortunately, as our building is of some age, it is in its nature to hear a bit of noise when there is movement going on. We do all we can to allocate rooms so all of our guests get a good night's sleep but, as I'm sure you will understand, it is virtually impossible to know when all guests will be arriving and leaving. We try to be flexible too but, when the hotel is busy, this is also very difficult.

We are pleased to hear the rest of your group were able to get a full night's sleep but are very sorry you weren't able to on this occasion. Please don't write to Lenny (he is a very busy man!) but, if you would like to discuss this matter further, please don't hesitate to contact me at the hotel (01293 575200). At very least, I can thank you for your positive review over the phone.

We hope you and your family had a safe onward journey and that we are able to welcome you back to our hotel and other Premier Inns in the future.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed one night on the park and stay deal. Bargain price and hassle free, there is plenty of parking and the receptionist was particularly efficient. Large room with three beds and a modern bathroom, everything you could possibly need. We ate in the adjoining pub/restaurant and it was very good and excellent value.The early morning alarm call was made as requested. I would definately use this hotel again when I am flying from gatwick south.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellbeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear you had everything you needed and enjoyed a good, comfortable night. It is also pleasing to see you enjoyed your meal over at the Gatwick Manor.

We all hope you had a safe and smooth onward journey and that we can welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have stayed in many Premier Inns and like them a great deal. However, this one is very average, and there are better hotels in the Gatwick area. My partner and I stayed at the Gatwick South hotel on 5 May under the Sleep, Park, Fly scheme because we couldn't get into the Manor Royal Premier Inn (which is far better). To be fair, there is ostensibly nothing wrong with the Gatwick South hotel. The rooms are small and rather hot, but otherwise fine. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. Despite such close proximity to the airport, you get a very good night's sleep. And the grounds are spacious and verdant with lots of car parking space. On the other hand, we found the whole area around the hotel to have a rather tired and run-down feel about it. As a result, we avoided the Chef and Brewer for dinner and walked to the Manor Royal Premier Inn for our supper (which was fine). Maybe the situation wasn't helped by the road works outside on the London Road, but I don't think so. The problem is deeper than that. The whole area had a rather creepy feel to it. The Premier Inn Gatwick South hotel is a large building which sprawls over a very open and exposed site with lots of cover for anyone intent on wrongdoing. There are several police signs warning you not to leave anything in your car which only accentuates this feeling. Consequently, my partner (who is no wimp) said that as a woman she wouldn't feel safe staying at this hotel on her own, especially when using the car park (and when flying you often have to leave a hotel in the dark during the early morning) I hope that this review is not unfair on the staff of the Premier Inn at Gatwick South who can only work with what they've got and clearly do a good job. But personally I intend to avoid this hotel in future and will always try to book into the Premier Inn Manor Royal instead. Sorry to the Hotel Manager, but this is my honest opinion!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanAbbott48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are sorry you weren't able to fully relax and feel comfortable during your stay with us. As I'm sure you are aware, the Gatwick Manor pub/restaurant is run by a separate company to ourselves. The grounds surrounding both the pub and our hotel are all owned by the Gatwick Manor. The Manor itself was built in the 14th century and is a listed building so it cannot be renovated in any major way. As for the car park, we are in discussions with the management of the pub to get some more lighting and to generally keep the area tidy but, as things stand, any changes/improvements need to be finalised by Chef & Brewer. The warning signs in the car park can be found in nearly all car parks in the area and are put up at the request of the Police. We very much appreciate your feedback on this matter and will keep working to make our hotel feel as welcoming as possible.

On a much brighter note, it is very pleasing to see you felt our staff were very welcoming, helpful and generally doing a really good job.

We do hope you had an enjoyable onward journey and that you will enjoy staying at Premier Inn for many years to come.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
244 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a very average hotel. The receptionist was excellent who gave a great service. But the room was just too hot. There was no air conditioning and the fan provided just wasn't up to the job. I use the Premier Inn chain a lot, as well as other hotels and this was the hottest room I have ever stayed in. The room had the usual level of equipment and was clean. The car parking is quite extensive and it looks a nice building. But I wouldn't stay here again purely due to the heat of the room and it wasn't a hot day. Use one of the other Premier Inn hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pub if there is a function on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are sorry you weren't able to enjoy your stay with us due to the heat of your room. Unfortunately, our hotel is a slightly older building and isn't fitted with air conditioning. During the warmer months we do all we can to keep our rooms as comfortable as possible by keeping curtains closed, windows open and having fans placed in the rooms.

It was very pleasing, however, to see that you were impressed by the service given by our Receptionist.

Again, we apologise that your stay wasn't as comfortable as it might have been on this occasion. We hope you will continue to stay with us at Premier Inn in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAM
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel the night before a flight from Gatwick Airport. Reception staff Becky & Jay were extremely friendly and welcoming, Becky was due to go home just as we got there but Jay was more than helpful when I asked him to provide us with more coffee, sugar ,milk, ETC for our room & he gave us more than enough. Becky & Jay were also more than helpful the next day providing us with directions to Gatwick avoiding the current road works meaning that one of the nearby roads is completely closed. There are several facilities in reception, there is an ATM, a luggage/personal weighing machine, a vending machine providing crisps, chocolate ETC & even shaving kits, there is also another vending machine providing ice cream in a variety of flavours.Also in reception there are several leaflets about the local area & things to do etc.
The rooms are spacious with a king size bed, wardrobe with shelving space, TV with freeview, tea & coffee making facilities, full length mirror, desk area with chair, comfy chair, phone, extra pillows, heater, fan & hairdryer. The bathroom has toilet, sink, shower(over bath), & bath, there is a large soap dispenser over the sink & a large hair & body wash dispenser over the bath. The room was clean & comfortable with plenty of lighting. Overall I would say that our experience was a positive one although we did cancel our breakfast booking due to negative reviews on Tripadvisor. This was no problem to cancel, however be aware that if you have booked 6 months or more in advance (as in our case) you don't get an instant refund, the receptionist cancels the breakfast on their computer system and then you have to wait for head office to contact you to arrange the refund, this was a simple 2 minute phone call were all I had to do was provide the card number I used to pay with and was told that the money will be back on the card within 5 working days. We had a very good nights sleep, we requested a 2nd floor room as far away from the lifts as possible, this request was granted with no problems at all & we therefore had no noise from the corridors ETC. If we were flying from Gatwick again we would definitely use this hotel again & we would recommend this hotel to you. Just a note the stars given below for fitness centre & room service are only average as we did not use them & therefore we are unable to comment.

Room Tip: If you have an early morning start or want a quiet nights sleep we would suggest that you request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHRISMANDY19591977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

Thank you for such a thorough and detailed review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and all the facilities we have to offer. It is also great to hear Becky & Jay were on hand to make you feel welcome on your arrival and were able to provide you with all the information and coffee you needed.

We all hope you had an enjoyable trip and that we can welcome you back to stay with us again very soon.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
1.6 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Address: London Road | Lowfield Heath, Crawley RH10 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#10 Family Hotel in Crawley
#12 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the grounds of a 13th-century manor, close to leisure parks and less than a mile from the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gatwick Airport South Hotel Crawley
Premier Inn Crawley
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing