We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No aircon - beware in hot summer temps!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Firstly I need to state that the customer service here was among the best we have ever had - both Jades on check in and Emily on check out, so I am NOT dissing them! However, arrived here on Sunday night after a delayed flight, at 9.45 pm to be told that the adjoining restaurant stopped serving food at 9.30 and the bar would close at 10.30. there is a vending machine in the foyer to get snacks, however nowhere close enough to walk to to get more substantial food. We rushed to get a drink in the bar before it closed and then went back to our room with some crisps from the vending machine. Very very hot in the room (top floor), there is no air con because it is a lovely old building, but did not give us a very good night sleep. However, the "good night guarantee" was offered to us, and although we had fantastic customer service, we really hadn't had a good night so we took them up on the offer of a refund. Would gladly recommend for the service skills though.

Room Tip: Low floor - higher floors are too hot, and there is a lift but very slow and rickety if taking lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are all very sorry you weren't able to get a good night's sleep with us on this occasion. During the summer months, we do all we can to keep the rooms as cool as possible by drawing curtains, keeping windows open and ensuring each room has a fan at all times. However, as you rightly say, because we are an older site and do not have air conditioning, this can be very difficult during the hotter weather.

As the Gatwick Manor is run by a separate company, unfortunately, we have no control over opening and serving times and so they basically run a normal pub time schedule. As you arrived on a Sunday, the bar and restaurant do close a little earlier than the rest of the week. We hope you were able to grab some snacks from the vending machine to keep you going. We do hold a small variety of takeaway menus at Reception too, most of which do deliver to us until late.

On a much brighter note, it is great to see you were made to feel welcome by our staff on check-in and departure. Our whole Reception Team work very hard so it is lovely to see them get some recognition for their efforts. Thank you.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

863 - 869 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Hotel meet and great was great - service with a smile which is nice after a long day and then travelling. Food at on site restaurant is what you would expect however the service we received from the man serving us was very good. The hotel itself was clean, tidy, however for the first time we found the bed to be very hard. However that said only stayed for 5 hours before leaving for a flight.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T9TDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

It is fantastic to hear you were made to feel so welcome during your stay with us. We were sorry to hear, however, that your sleep was hampered by a harder bed than you are used to. We hope it didn't spoil your stay with us too much. If you would like to discuss this matter with us further, please call us directly at the hotel on 01293 575200.

We hope you had a safe and smooth onward journey and that we can welcome you back to stay with us again sometime in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just returned from another stay at the Premier Inn, Gatwick Airport South. Again, we had a good stay. This hotel is not the closest Premier Inn to the airport, however, we opt for this one as it has a great pub next to it (Chef and Brewer Gatwick Manor), and we look forward to starting our holiday off with a lovely meal and few drinks here. As usual, the hotel lived up to our expectations, the staff were as welcoming as normal, and the food at the Gatwick Manor did not disappoint. An added bonus if you can book when the sale is on and get the room for £29. Keep up the good work. We are booked again for October!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Morna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

Thank you for your great review. We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass on your positive feedback to the management team at the Gatwick Manor too.

We hope you had a great holiday and we look forward to welcoming you again in October.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

A very welcomed break from driving for hours. Room very comfortable for us and our little one. No noise as our room was facing a field with lots of rabbits which keeped the little one amused. Pub dinner was fantastic star quality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sab7rina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to have such green surroundings so close to the airport and it is great to hear our guests have appreciated them.

We hope you had an enjoyable onward journey and that we can welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed in this premier inn overnight before catching a flight with my family to go on holiday ..
Room ok .. But Smell off urine in the bathroom .. Bed comfy , usual premier in decor .
Went to the restaurant to have a meal and not a great selection to be had .. The restaurant looked dated and in need off a good clean , bar staff wasn't the friendliest ... We were advised that the kitchen was closing in 5 minutes and that we had to order food as quick as ..
The food was very basic ... General pub grub .. Not worth the £45 for 3 meals and 4 soft drinks ...
Don't think I would return to this premier inn again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie19702013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We're sorry to hear your stay with us was not as good as you had hoped on this occasion. We apologise for any unpleasant smell in your bedroom. The Gatwick Manor bar/restaurant is run by a completely separate company to us so we can't directly control the level of service or menus. However, we obviously provide a large number of customers to the restaurant and so we do pass on any feedback we receive to the management team at the Manor.

We all hope you went on to have an enjoyable holiday and that you will continue to use Premier Inn in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed here as I used the Gatwick Manor for my wedding reception. I can't thank Abbey and Emma enough for their kindness and delightful customer service. However the on duty team leader on Sunday morning was nothing but rude. I had a terrible nights sleep due to the temperature of my room and when talking to John who was checking me out of the hotel Becky was exceptionally rude to me and him. She suggested that all my guests were in on getting refunds. I have never ever been spoken to so rudely as she had and I hope she was not rude to my guests. After all I am the customer and provided many guest both the day before and the night of my wedding. We were given thick winter duvets but no sheet on the bed to use in place of this. Her excuse was that the window could not be opened further due to health and safety which I understand. She stated I had a fan which was correct although this as blowing hot air around the room. The other excuse was that this Premier Inn is due a refit next year and the issues will be sorted then. I did leave my number for the manager to contact me but as of yet I am still awaiting a phone call from them. I have never stayed in a premier inn and had my only experience been Becky I would not stay at another again. I await to see what Premier inn have to offer as an apology for the rudeness of their staff member.

Room Tip: Top rooms are hotter and best to have a ground floor room to be cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lowe1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The service was excellent. The room was very clean and the facilities were very good. The restaurant provided a very nice meal in pleasant surroundings. The package to park at the airport I think is good value for money.



  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio M, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

It is great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found our Sleep, Park & Fly package such good value.

We all hope you had an enjoyable onward journey and that we can welcome you back to stay with us again sometime in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Claudio Morales, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.5 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel

Address: London Road | Lowfield Heath, Crawley RH10 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Crawley
#10 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#12 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £45 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the grounds of a 13th-century manor, close to leisure parks and less than a mile from the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gatwick Airport South Hotel Crawley
Premier Inn Crawley
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing