We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Bridport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Premier Inn”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very good value for money. Spacious, clean room. Only drawback was lack of air conditioning (very warm weather in early August).
Staff were friendly and efficient. Went beyond the call of duty to help with one particular problem (not of their making!).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna T, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

Being an older site, unfortunately we don't have air conditioning. During the summer months, we do all we can to try to keep room temperatures down by drawing curtains, keeping windows open and ensuring all rooms have a fan. However, in hotter weather, this becomes very difficult.

It is excellent to see you found our staff were friendly and happy to help make your stay as comfortable as possible.

We hope you had an enjoyable onward journey and we can welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Anna Taylor, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    488
    191
    73
    38
See reviews for
423
612
80
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Away from any road noise and, although there were, of course, some planes going over, nothing that disturbed us greatly. Our room had a very comfortable king size bed and we slept extremely well. A clean and spacious room with an equally clean and well fitted bathroom with all essential amenities. A great power shower. Really couldn't ask for more at such a great price. Our rate included parking at the South Long Stay. Easy to book and a very quick drive just around the corner to the long stay car park with number plate recognition and a very efficient and quick bus service to the terminal. A great welcome at the hotel from the front desk staff, who are very helpful and keen to ensure we have everything we need in the room. The only negative for us was the meal at the pub next door. My salmon fillet was rubbery, tasteless and all the food was well below standard really. So next time, we shall research another eatery close by.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squirrelgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna T, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

It is great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to get a good night's sleep. It is especially pleasing to hear you found our staff were friendly and made you feel welcome.

As you are probably aware, the neighbouring bar/restaurant is run by a separate company and so we have little control over their menu, opening times etc. However, we do obviously work very closely with them and we will pass your feedback onto their management team. We hope this hasn't put you off staying with us again. We'd like to think you would have a better experience next time. But, if you would like to try eating somewhere else, our Reception Team will be more than happy to suggest some local options.

We hope you had a smooth onward journey and we can welcome you back to stay with us again very soon.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Anna Taylor, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We wanted an overnight stay before going very early to airport next morning. Bedroom was good size with very large (two singles together) bed with good linen and pillows. Bathroom with over bath shower with good water pressure. Our rate included parking at South Terminal. Arrived late and left early so did not sample food. Only challenge was the written details of how to find the south terminal car park...appeared to be incorrect and have raised with hotel to check them.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran100633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna T, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us prior to your early morning flight and found your room to suit your needs.

We are sorry to hear you had trouble finding the car park. Just over a month ago, we had extensive emergency roadworks right outside our hotel including a couple of road closures and diversions. During this time, we had to keep updating our direction handouts accordingly. When the roadworks were concluded towards the end of June, we reviewed the normal directions to the car park and created a final set of map & directions to use going forward. We have been using these since the end of June and had no problems at all. So, unless you were somehow given an old version of the directions, we are very confident they would have been accurate. However, we do appreciate your feedback and have checked through the directions again to be sure.

We hope you weren't too delayed in getting to the car park and that you had a smooth flight. We also hope we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Anna Taylor, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Rooms are hot. They don't have any air-con. They only provided a small fan which only blows the hot air around the room.The mattress was the worst I have ever slept on. So much for the Great TV advert they have.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna T, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

As you correctly state, being an older site, we don't have air conditioning. During the summer months, we do all we can to try to keep room temperatures down by drawing curtains, keeping windows open and ensuring all rooms have a fan. However, in hotter weather, this becomes very difficult.

We are sorry you weren't as comfortable for your stay as you might have been on this occasion. We do try to make all our guests as comfortable as possible so we are very sorry we weren't able to achieve that on this occasion. If you would like to discuss this matter with us further, please call us directly at the hotel on 01293 575200.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Anna Taylor, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

There is no air conditioning at this hotel. Don't go on a hot night. Therefore we had to leave the windows open. However, it was also very noisy outside until 11 pm, so not suitable for an early morning start.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna T, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

As you correctly state, being an older site, we don't have air conditioning. During the summer months, we do all we can to try to keep room temperatures down by drawing curtains, keeping windows open and ensuring all rooms have a fan. However, in hotter weather, this becomes very difficult.

It sounds as though you may have visited us on a weekend when the neighbouring pub/restaurant, the Gatwick Manor, sometimes hosts functions. Although being an airport hotel with guests always arriving and departing, it is usually quiet outside by that time of night.

We are sorry you weren't as comfortable for your stay as you might have been on this occasion. We do try to make all our guests as comfortable as possible so we are very sorry we weren't able to achieve that on this occasion. If you would like to discuss this matter with us further, please call us directly at the hotel on 01293 575200.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Anna Taylor, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful setting, which is a real find so close to the airport. We stayed overnight before flying off on holiday. It was a very hot day, and we almost expired with the heat in the bedroom. There is NO air conditioning in this hotel, and the temperature in our room never dropped below 30 degrees, despite two very ineffective fans. Needless to say we were two very tired travellers the following day, due to sleep deprivation. All credit to Premier Inn for giving us a refund under their 'goodnight guarantee'..... But we would rather have had a good night's sleep instead of the money! Come on Premier Inn, surely you can invest in some air con at this hotel, like others.
Also,breakfast was only served between 6.30 and 9.00 a.m. Much too early to finish.
We are seasoned Premier Inn users, because we 'know what we're going to get' when we book......but not this time.

Room Tip: Check room temperature before you unpack !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 698lindae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna T, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are very sorry you weren't able to get a good night's sleep with us on this occasion. Unfortunately, being an older site, we don't have air conditioning. During the summer months, we do all we can to try to keep room temperatures down by drawing curtains, keeping windows open and ensuring all rooms have a fan. However, in hotter weather, this becomes very difficult.

As you are probably aware, as we don't have our own in-house restaurant, our breakfasts are provided by the neighbouring pub/restaurant, the Gatwick Manor. This is run by a completely separate company to ourselves and therefore we have very little control over opening times.

On a brighter note, we are delighted to see you enjoyed the green surroundings of our hotel as well as our convenient proximity to the airport and we hope these positives will encourage you to stay with us again sometime in the future. We hope the issues you encountered did not hinder your holiday too much and you had a lovely time.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Anna Taylor, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Or is it? Greeted by friendly staff. Very efficient check in. Average cleanliness. Seriously out of date 70's rooms. Seriously hard beds. No matress topper, sheet directly ontop of matress. No choice of pillows. Thin hard towels. In family of 4 persons, no one slept. Complained, nothing done

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna T, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

Firstly, it is good to see you found our staff friendly and efficient. However, we are sorry to hear you did not find your room very comfortable. We try to make all our guests as comfortable as we possibly can so we are very sorry we didn't achieve that on this occasion. If you would like to discuss this matter with us further, please call us directly at the hotel on 01293 575200.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Anna Taylor, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.2 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Address: London Road | Lowfield Heath, Crawley RH10 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#10 Family Hotel in Crawley
#12 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the grounds of a 13th-century manor, close to leisure parks and less than a mile from the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gatwick Airport South Hotel Crawley
Premier Inn Crawley
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing