We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the airport but room was smokey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel is perfect for getting to Gatwick airport, the pub connected to it is nice and serves good food and the breakfast was fine. The kids room was fine and the beds comfortable and they slept well. Our room was a not great as it smelled very strongly of smoke even though its a non smoking hotel. Still, we'd use this hotel again if we were travelling from Gatwick in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbuae999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna T, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are pleased to see you found our hotel so convenient for the airport. We are very sorry your room had a smell of smoke. As you rightly say, we are a non-smoking hotel so we're not sure how this could have happened. We are sorry if this effected your stay with us on this occasion.

We hope you had a smooth onward journey and will be back to stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Anna Taylor, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,505)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

777 - 783 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Have stayed here 4 times in last 12 months and as always the hotel has been extremely good. Quick check in, friendly helpful staff on the front desk, large clean comfortable rooms, no air con but 2 circulating fans provided, very comfy bed, overnight free parking.15 mins to airport. On site pub ok but could do with a bit of a spruce up. In June 2014 we were awoken by other guests leaving for their early flight and talking loudly in the car park with no consideration for other guests. To be fair to the hotel does have signs asking guests to be quiet but perhaps they need to go to spec savers. In August 2014 we had a back room over the gardens and was excellent not a sound. August 2013 we had a front room and that was no problem. I would defiantly book this hotel again as the good bits outweigh the bad.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHEPHECJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna T, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

It is great to see you have returned to stay with us on numerous occasions. When the neighbouring pub/restaurant holds a function (only normally at weekends), we try to allocate any guests leaving early towards the back of the building to keep noise to a minimum. However, when the hotel is very busy, we have to use some of the rooms at the front of the building.

We are pleased to hear you had a quiet night with us on this occasion and hope you will be back to stay with us again in the near future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Anna Taylor, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Did exactly what it said on the tin. 10 mins to the South Terminal long stay car park in the morning. No panic to get to Gatwick and get caught in traffic delay or anything. At the check in desks within 30 mins. A reasonable deal if you want a stop over combined with parking at Gatwick. Would use again. There was no aircon in the room but a fan was already provided. Didn't use the onsite bar/restaurant but looked good enough.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMrT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna T, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

It's great to see you found our Sleep, Park & Fly package convenient and good value for money.

We hope you had a good trip and that we can welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Anna Taylor, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very surprised by Premier Inn. First stay with them and the Good Night's Sleep Guarantee is as good as they say! Room had choice of bed covers and pillows so my wife and I could both get comfortable. Quiet and with good and simple climate control. Would absolutely use again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna T, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your first Premier Inn experience at our hotel. We hope we can welcome you back to our site and other Premier Inns in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Anna Taylor, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Used this hotel several times prior to going on family holiday. Service is always consistent and staff helpful if any queries arise. Location is great for Gatwick Airport only 10-15 mins by taxi which cost approx £12.00. You can also book your car in and leave in car park while you are abroad. Price very competitive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhughes9903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna T, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us again and found our staff to be helpful. We hope you had a good holiday and that we will be able to welcome you back many more times in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Anna Taylor, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We booked early and took the offer of park sleep fly saving a massive amount of money and stress would totally recommend this to all our friends and to you, there was one thing I had to talk to the front desk about and that was the state of the restaurant grounds, which were in a terrible mess after a party we think, told them it didnt look good on the service we received from them, both boys had a bed each and two fans to help with the temperature we started off feeling refreshed

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna T, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

It is great to see you felt our Sleep, Park & Fly package was good value. Please feel free to tell all your friends and family!

Thank you for your feedback regarding the grounds around the restaurant. As you maybe aware, the Gatwick Manor pub/restaurant is owned by a separate company. However, we have been aware the grounds were looking a little shabby so we are currently in negotiations with the management at the Gatwick Manor to get the grounds looking as good as we can. When functions are held, there can be a few glasses, balloons etc left outside. I will bring this up with the pub and also mention it to our Night Team so any mess can be tidied up before the next morning.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review, your feedback is very important to us.

We hope you had a fantastic holiday and that we can welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards
Anna Taylor, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Very friendly staff, just don't stay in family room 105. Very very noisy as below main staircase!!
Overall rooms are a good size and bathroom is clean and fresh. Only 30 minutes free wi-fi is disappointing but you can purchase more if you wish!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneymoonAUG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna T, General Manager at Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South.

It's great to hear you were made to feel welcome by our Reception team.

Unfortunately, when the hotel is busy, we have to use the rooms near stairways and lifts. Being so close to the airport, there will always be guests coming and going at all hours of the day and night. We are sorry your sleep was disturbed on this occasion.

We hope you had a safe onward journey and will be able to visit us again in the future.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards
Anna Taylor, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (A23 Airport Way) Hotel
1.5 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (Manor Royal) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
1.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel

Address: London Road | Lowfield Heath, Crawley RH10 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Crawley
#10 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#12 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £44 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the grounds of a 13th-century manor, close to leisure parks and less than a mile from the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Gatwick Airport South Hotel Crawley
Premier Inn Crawley
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing