We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great idea that works”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
156 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A great idea that works”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We booked this from 10am to 5pm on a Sunday where we were arriving from the USA early morning and flying to Prague in the evening. On arrival the receptionist was really friendly and helpful and we were given a key to pod 4.
The pods are perfectly designed with a bed that moves from an upright to flat position.
There is an en suite shower, toilet and washbasin and everything worked nicely.
There is a TV - although we slept most of the day.
Free tea and coffee are available from reception and the afternoon receptionist was equally helpful and made a pretty good cappuccino.
The place seemed pretty empty and we weren’t disturbed by any noise from adjacent rooms. The walls seem quite thin and so I wonder what would happen if a noisy family were next door.
The only weird part is not having a view from the window to the outside world.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    791
    509
    142
    48
    23
See reviews for
124
457
588
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Although on the occasions I have stayed here, it has been a thoroughly pleasant experience, I will not be booking this in advance again in the future.

Unfortunately on my last booking, my flight was delayed which meant i had to reroute and did not visit London so I emailed them in advance to advise them of this but was told I will not be refunded.

I wrote to them explaining my frustrations, the manager and operations manager did not respond and the customer service lady offered me 10% off on my next booking. This is a nice gesture but I think due to the very nature of their business, ie stop over on flights they really should be more flexible with their cancellation policy. There are many other hotels catching on to this market so it does need to be competitive.

So, will I stay again? Yes. Will I book in advance? Never!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridianScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stari Grad, Croatia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

i really much prefer to get my head down for a few hours at yo hotel and go by train than be up all night packing and worrying about not waking up and having to go in an expensive taxi. the staff have always been friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and well maintained. the concept works and i will keep using them every time i have that crazy flight in or out of gatwick.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blanchbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

From the founder of Yo Sushi, the Yotel chain is based on Japanese pod hotels that offer a minimalist, futuristic experience. Indeed, the Yotel experience is like sleeping on a space ship. It's no-frills but comfortable, fun (for one night anyway), and very inexpensive (it cost me £62).

My room was tiny - roughly 6 x 9 feet including bathroom! One third of this was a bed (in a kind of pod with TV at one end), one third a bathroom with shower, and one third floor space. There's also a fold-down table. Just enough room to open your suitcase and dress/undress.

The hotel corridors are similarly styled to look like you're on an aircraft or space ship. There is no natural light as the hotel is at basement level. There are free hot drinks from reception, and you can order room service food of a Yo Sushi kind.

The location is ideal - within the south terminal itself - so it was just a couple of minutes' walk to check in. (Beware that some other airport hotels are a substantial bus ride away.)

My only complaint is that despite the hi-tech-looking doors, my room wasn't at all soundproof - I could clearly hear noise in the corridor, and to a lesser extent in the next door room - though this is a common problem with hotels.

Room Tip: If you book on the Yotel web site you can choose your own check-in and check-out time, effectively b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Pratik our concierge was really helpful, I was worried about over-sleeping and he said he would call us. The room is as good as always. Thoroughly recommended,

A very smart and friendly service. Thanks Yotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa81London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We arrived into LGW early morning from Orlando Florida - en route to Spain.
Booked for 5 hours in this space age pod which allowed us to chill and have a nap before our onward journey.
Absolutely perfect. Very comfortable. Wonderful shower. Clean linen and towels. Everything there you would ever want. We will not hesitate to book an overnight stay before travelling again. Always booked an airport hotel before but will not in future.
Excellent staff. Free coffee, free wifi.
Perfect, just Perfect

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Room: A box high enough for you to stand in there, with a bed, TV at the end of the bed, and on the other side of a 2-ft wide space off the bed, there is shower, toilet and basin running the length of the bed. That describes the room, and there is nothing else in the room. Lighting in the room is poor.

Service: Booked through booking.com, but their automated check-in system could not find me when I was checking in. The person at the little box of a reception checked me in quickly. WiFi didn't work. No mobile signals reaching the room.

Location: very good. Very conveniently located within the airport.

Overall: not the best, would not be a first choice. Having said that, LGW would not be a first choice airport either.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.1 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport

Property: YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport
Address: London Gatwick Airport South Terminal | Arrivals Concourse, Crawley RH6 0NP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#6 Business Hotel in Crawley
#7 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTELAIR is located inside Gatwick international arrivals South Terminal, moments away from check-in and the North Terminal. We offer personal space to sleep, work or refresh with free Wi-Fi and internet access. Cabins are available as Premium, with a double bed or Standard, with a large single. Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel London Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Yotel London Gatwick Airport Crawley
YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing