We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YOTEL London Gatwick Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
YOTEL London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wow!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Can't beat the location, the price, the friendliness of staff, the amenities....I had five hours between flights and happened to see signs for the hotel upon arrival, from leaving the plane to being asleep was maybe twenty minutes, and when I awoke it took me five minutes to check out and walk to my check-in desk. I am so beyond impressed I have told all my friends and family and many asked why this service isn't offered in all airports!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CityGal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    507
    142
    47
    23
See reviews for
123
457
584
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

This is a great hotel for a short stopover. It has everything you need in a compact environment and at a low cost too. The rooms are clean and well designed and the bed was very comfortable. It is of course much smaller than a typical hotel room and there are no views, but they are far bigger than the Japanese "pods" you may have heard of, and they make great use of every inch of space.

...as long as you are not expecting a 5 star hotel, you probably wont be disappointed. I am going back next weekend!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank up2eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Myself and my partner stayed in a single room at Gatwick for 6 hours between connecting flights and loved every minute. Having said that we do like Japanese styles and the Yotel does exhibit a clean, modern, compact style in the cabins and communal areas. Location was good as it is beneath the South terminal amenities (accessible by lift) and close to the North Terminal shuttle link. Staff were always friendly and the rooms were quiet and well equipped for overnight stays as intended.

The cabins were definitely compact but I felt well designed considering the space. I am a slim 6ft, and my partner is 5ft 8. We had two hand luggage bags and one hold bag and admittedly it was a bit of a squeeze, but we did only order a single room. Bed was perfectly comfortable for us though and the shower was also excellent. Extra towels and bits are available if you ask.

As with any hotel, I would recommend booking in advance for a better price. We paid about £52 in January for 6 hours. It seemed quite popular so I would recommend booking at least a week in advance.

Overall, we had a lovely experience and the Yotel made a very positive impression on us. We would definitely recommend it to people that don't mind the compact cabins. (There are larger ones if required) Almost certainly beats lying on an airport seat for 6 hours.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjinington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Great for staying overnight after a flight or for an early morning flight, easy check in check out, complimentary tea coffee nice clean cabins. The standard cabin is very compact, initially when you walk in can feel a little claustrophobic but you soon get used to it and if its only for a few hours its fine. Although in South Terminal with the shuttle to the North five mins away can be used for either North or South Terminal easily

Room Tip: If staying more than 8 hours book a premium cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midge106
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Stopped overnight at gatwick as had an early flight. Just a few minutes walk from the train station to the yotel and then a few minutes to departures the next morning.

The pod was clean and they are happy to lend you hair dryers. The bed is accessible via a flip down step and not easy to negotiate if you have mobility problems. The pod is small but I really enjoyed the feeling of being cocooned. At the end of the day the bed is co for table, there's a toilet and a really great shower. If all you're doing is resting or cleaning up a large room is pointless anyway. I feel that the convenience of the location is far more important.

Overnight stops are cheaper as yotel is mor sheared towards people who want/need a resting area between layovers. Personally I think they are an excellent idea and would highly recommend them to anyone who isn't claustrophobic. The pod was 7x10 foot which is the size of a small bedroom. There is a small amount of noise from outside but it was minimal and no more than I would expect from a Travelodge or other hotel.

Excellent value for money and saved me no end of hassle and worry about getting to and from a hotel from the train station and back to the airport the following morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midge106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

We really appreciated having a Yotel room to stay in the night before a very early flight. We were travelling with our 18 month old daughter and it just did not make sense to wake her at 3am to take a long trip to the airport so we stayed the night before. Everything was perfect, nice clean room, hot shower, tv, low lighting, space to unwind until the next morning, when we had no help with bags and no trolley to get everything upstairs. Husband had to run around trying to find a trolley, get it down in the lift, get all the bags loaded up and race upstairs for checkin. Needless to say we missed our flight by 6 mins with all the gaffing around. I'm not blaming anyone, but if there were trolleys in/near reception this could have been avoided (or even help with bags would have been nice to have). Thanks, Lou

Room Tip: Travel light, not with heavy bags. No room in room for bags and no trolleys to move to/from airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoobyLou1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

This is our third time staying at a Yotel and I wish they had them at many other airports in the world!
If you are arriving very early morning and your transfer flight is in the afternoon it is hard to find a better alternative than this!
Not enough time to stay in a hotel and you cannot get a room early morning anyway
Also an airport lounge isn't any use either as they are flight side and if the check in isn't open you cannot utilise those !
With Yotel you can get off the plane and be in bed within 10 minutes and wake to complimentary coffee or tea and a very refreshing shower!
Yes the rooms are small but if it is just sleep, you only need the bed and shower!

The staff are always first class and this particular time I would like to mention Byron who booked us on the phone and then Shaveta who was so enthusiastic about the concept and the rooms!
She deserves employee of the month! She was so good promoting it we thought it was her franchise! Excellent !

Room Tip: The double is the best one for couples if you want more bed , but the standard is adequate we find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 512Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, Sales & Marketing Executive at YOTEL London Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments.

We are happy that you appreciated the YOTEL crew service and their brand enthusiasm. I will make sure that the positive feedback gets back to Shaveta and Byron.

Sounds like our concept and location is a perfect solution for you. I can inform you that we also have airport hotels at London Heathrow airport and at Amsterdam Schiphol airport. In the future we do hope that you will be able to find us in every major airport

Hope to see you back in the near future either to one of our airport locations or if you get the chance to our first ever city centre hotel in New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.0 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.3 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.7 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL London Gatwick Airport

Property: YOTEL London Gatwick Airport
Address: London Gatwick Airport South Terminal | Arrivals Concourse, Crawley RH6 0NP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#6 Business Hotel in Crawley
#7 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTELAIR is located inside Gatwick international arrivals South Terminal, moments away from check-in and the North Terminal. We offer personal space to sleep, work or refresh with free Wi-Fi and internet access. Cabins are available as Premium, with a double bed or Standard, with a large single. Rates start at 32 GBP for 4 hours and you can book online or on-site at the hotel. Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your YOTEL London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel London Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
YOTEL London Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing