We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smaller than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The cabin is really really small. You have no room to move around, other than getting off bed, and taking a step into the bathroom/shower area.

Bed is comfortable with soft pillows. Shower is ok with good water pressure. Other than that, nothing to brag about. Location wise is just one level below the check-in counters.

I paid 69 pounds for this cabin. If I would have known it is THAT small, I rather pay 89 pounds for Hilton which is just a few minutes walk away (less than 5 minutes). At least then I will get a nice comfortable room, a comfortable double bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolyene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear jolyene,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry that you were disappointed with our cabin size. We try to be very upfront about this on our website via photos, floor layout and square footage as well. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another try. Perhaps on your next visit, you might like to stay in the Premium Cabin with a double bed and more space. Even being in a prime location, we try hard to keep our prices reasonable and opted to offer our guests free items such as WiFi, hot drinks and other amenities. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to me directly if I can ever be of future assistance. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

GUILLERMO GOMEZ
General Manager
YOTEL GATWICK
Arrivals Concourse, South Terminal
London Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
RH6 0NN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Don't stay here if:
1. You suffer from claustrophobia.
2. You want to breathe clean fresh air.
3. If you need space to move freely in the room.
4. If you are travelling with your partner (you'll feel really uncomfortable because you won't be able to move in the room or sleep well).

It has been a terrible experience for us. We'll never stay there again. It's not good to pay for a room where you feel like a sardine in a tin...

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zzAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear zzAlice,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so sorry that you were disappointed with our cabins. We do try to be very upfront about our cabin design and size through the photos, descriptions and cabin dimensions stated on our website, as well as through any conversations with our crew. We do also offer premium cabins with a double bed and more space which you may find more comfortable. Next time you plan to pass through Gatwick, please don’t hesitate to contact us if you would like to see one of our premium cabins personally. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

GUILLERMO GOMEZ
General Manager
YOTEL GATWICK
Arrivals Concourse, South Terminal
London Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
RH6 0NN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Ideally located within south terminal but so quiet you would never know you're in an airport hotel. "Cabins" are very cosy and you could only really share with your partner due to transparent glass toilet/shower door and a bed that's not quite a double. Very clean though, perfect temperature and as i say extremely quiet. Perfect for an overnight or cat nap between flights. Ive stayed here three times now and would do so again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siempredviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Siempredviaje,

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Yotel. Being inside the airport terminal, we have tried to reduce our guests' hassle of travelling in and out of airport as you mentioned: ideal for pre and post flight sleep. We have tried to create a Hi-tech atmosphere in our compact cabins by providing all necessities in a small space. We do provide premium cabins (with double bed) and twin cabins (with bunk beds). Please don’t hesitate to reach out to me directly if I can ever be of future assistance. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

GUILLERMO GOMEZ
General Manager
YOTEL GATWICK
Arrivals Concourse, South Terminal
London Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
RH6 0NN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

There are two really excellent features of this hotel, firstly the staff are extremely friendly and very helpful and have obviously been well trained. We stayed on New Year's Eve and they brought us some macaroons and some champagne. Secondly, the location is perfect if you have a flight from Gatwick with an early start, especially with recent bad weather and road accidents on the M25. Although the concept is good, a standard room is just too small for two people. I am 6 foot 3 and am in my late sixties, and we were just too cramped, we slept top to toe, and decided to forgo a shower because it was just too much of a hassle. The free tea was nice, but not the best tea I have tasted.

Room Tip: Get a premium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear E T,

Thanks for your feedback. Our staff is our true image; we are happy that you appreciated their friendliness and professionalism. We do offer double cabins for more space but due to their limited availability they become booked quickly. When you plan next time to travel through Gatwick, perhaps you could book the double cabin in advance or just contact us directly to see if we can offer you one. Hope this opportunity will bring you back to stay with us.

Kind Regards,

GUILLERMO GOMEZ
General Manager
YOTEL GATWICK
Arrivals Concourse, South Terminal
London Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
RH6 0NN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Having stayed here before and had a great time we were excited to come for a second visit. This time we decided to treat ourselves to a premium room. It was not worth it and overall the experience did not match the first time. The bed sheets had some questionable stains on them, looked like blood. The bed, although a clever concept, was not very comfortable. The TV remote was hard to control and you had to press it several times to get it do anything. My main complaint though is the noise from reception. Throughout my stay I could hear talking and laughing and although I admit I am a light sleeper I am not sure many would have been able to sleep through it. I realise it is a small property but would expect some better sound proofing and discretion from staff as they talk and changed near by rooms. I cannot fault the location, it is perfect for South terminal departures and the shower is incredible but I would question if I would stay for a third time after this experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANDREW H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear andyhutch10,

Thank you for your review. We are so sorry that you were disappointed with our cabin and services. Not so clean linen is completely unacceptable and not the Yotel way. Please accept our sincere apologies. We will be taking up your comments with our Housekeeping supervisor and her team and would like to reassure you we take your comments very seriously indeed. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disturbance by our Crew during your stay. I will certainly be addressing your feedback to crew on duty to ensure this does not happen again in future. On the rare occasions when our service standards slip, our only recourse is to learn from our mistake and redouble our efforts to ensure we do not allow this to happen in the future. In order to prove this as an isolated incident, we would like to welcome you back. If you would consider this, please reach out to me directly and I would be pleased to take care of your reservation personally. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Yotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

GUILLERMO GOMEZ
General Manager
YOTEL GATWICK
Arrivals Concourse, South Terminal
London Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
RH6 0NN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Great concept, location, price, and staff. Easuly reach from the terminals & very honest prices. We will defently return as it is one of the best choises traveling to London. I have to mention the receptionist, a yang lady which she was explained us in full details and with no rush how everything work in the hotel. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marmita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Marmita S,

Thank you for staying with us and for your positive review. We are pleased that you found the Yotel concept and location convenient and best value for money. Our staff is our strength; We are happy that you appreciated their hospitality. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Yotel. Thanks once again your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

GUILLERMO GOMEZ
General Manager
YOTEL GATWICK
Arrivals Concourse, South Terminal
London Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
RH6 0NN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Yotel's pod-like rooms are very tight but entertaining for the kids. The convenience for transit travelers is great, rather than sitting around in an airport lounge. Although clean, the rooms could offer nicer smelling toiletries.

Room Tip: We travelled as family of four. Book two double rooms side by side for the most possible comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moet74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear moet74,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback. Yotel's aim at the airport is to make our guests’ travelling more convenient. We have tried to make best use of the space in cabin to make it more appropriate and relaxing for our guests. We do also offer Premium cabins with double beds and more space. We will take up your suggestion on board for the future additions. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

GUILLERMO GOMEZ
General Manager
YOTEL GATWICK
Arrivals Concourse, South Terminal
London Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
RH6 0NN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
3.3 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport

Address: London Gatwick Airport South Terminal | Arrivals Concourse, Crawley RH6 0NP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#6 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £64 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTELAIR is located inside Gatwick international arrivals South Terminal, moments away from check-in and the North Terminal. We offer personal space to sleep, work or refresh with free Wi-Fi and internet access. Cabins are available as Premium, with a double bed or Standard, with a large single. Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel London Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Yotel London Gatwick Airport Crawley
YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing