We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting Pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Our third stay at this Yotel, and again no issues. We knew that space would be tight [can't understand comments on here about lack of space - the Yotel web-page is very specific about what you will get] and we know now to put the suitcases under the bed before extending it! Receptionist was pleasant, room was clean and quiet and we managed 4 hours sleep after arriving from the USA.
My only gripe is that our 6 hour stay cost £70 [including an iniquitous £3 booking fee] The Premier Inn at the North Terminal would charge £78 for a two day stay. It is almost cheaper to do this, forfeit the first day, and stay in a full size room, rather than stay in the Yotel!

Room Tip: If there are two of you, you need to book a Premium cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear HGL,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased that you had a good experience with us at Yotel Gatwick and found us to be convenient for your stay. Even being in the prime location, we try hard to keep our prices reasonable and opted to offer our guests free items such as Wi-Fi, hot drinks and other amenities. I am happy to talk you through our pricing so please feel free to contact me directly for more information. Thank you once gain for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in near future.

Kind Regards
GUILLERMO GOMEZ
General Manager
YOTEL GATWICK
Arrivals Concourse, South Terminal
London Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
RH6 0NN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,607 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Staff were very helpful and I had a realy good night's sleep in a comfortable bed before the next day's flight. The coffee was excellent too.I had no hot water in the shower the first night but it was fine on the return visit.You have to be very organised when opening your case as floor space at a premium but I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank stassart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear stassart,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Yotel. We are pleased that you found us to be surprisingly good and slept well. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to lack of hot water during your first stay. We have had the system looked at and the problem has since been rectified. Our staff are well trained to resolve any issues that arise during our guests’ stay and we are glad you appreciated that. Thank you once again your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
GUILLERMO GOMEZ
General Manager
YOTEL GATWICK
Arrivals Concourse, South Terminal
London Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
RH6 0NN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Our flight was delayed for 5 hours and we were tired from travelling down to Gatwick on the coach. Most people sit around on the floor and wait but we were told by a member of staff that they do have budget hotels where we could go.

That was when we discovered Yotel.

It is brilliant. There was only two of us so we had a cabin just the right size. It had a TV, double bed, toilet etc. Everything you need and much more than I expected! It is like something from the future.

I would seriously recommend Yotel to anybody who wants to stay there for a short while. It is perfect for when there is a flight delay of if you simply need to have a few hours sleep after travelling.

Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear James290,

Thank you for your great description of Yotel Gatwick. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have tried to make best use of the space in cabin to make it more appropriate and relaxing for our guests. Through clever design we are able to offer our guests everything they need to relax, revive and connect, we are pleased that you appreciate our flexible services. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
GUILLERMO GOMEZ
General Manager
YOTEL GATWICK
Arrivals Concourse, South Terminal
London Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
RH6 0NN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed in Yotel at Gatwick early December 2013 with my other half as we had an early morning flight.

It's advantages: It's in the terminal so you can't get anymore convenient and obviously no bus transfers. We expected it to be compact and quirky and were quite intrigued. It was easy to find.

Disadvantages in short: The rooms are not explained well on their website and less so when you're booking through a website agent. Although you can book 2 people to stay in a standard room, its not big enough and there's no privacy to the bathroom. You really need a premium room if there are 2 of you but the cost then isn't as competitive.

Our stay: We actually expected an automated check-in - using machines and barriers which were in place but not in use. The chap at the desk was nice enough - but our card didn't work and we had to go back 3 times and in the end the cleaner took pity and let us in with her master key. The desk clerk didn't seem to want to get up and come and help us other than to issue a new key each time which was a bit frustrating.

We stayed for one night (or about 7 hours) in a standard cabin and our reservation was for 2.

Whilst a lot of the space saving features, like the desk, shelving and TV made sense, unfortunately it was just not functional for two people. The bed was barely big enough for the both of us - and I'm petite. Whilst it's long enough (my partner is over 6ft tall!) it's not wide enough. The room was hot too and as said in previous reviews, there's no a/c control.

The room did feel a bit claustrophobic if you have a couple of hours to kill before sleeping, you can either sit at the desk or lay on the (not big enough) bed, but we headed to the terminal and there's a bar right next to the lifts from Yotel.

The clincher for us was that the bathroom in the room is separated by a floor to ceiling clear glass screen/door. So if there are two of you sharing then you have NO bathroom privacy. Now even as a couple, for us there are some boundaries we like to maintain and privacy whilst using the loo is one of them. If you weren't a couple - you simply would not want 2 people in a standard room/cabin.

The next challenge came when we used the shower. Just as well there was two of us so that one of you could quickly move your belongings off the floor when the water comes flowing out of the bathroom area into the remaining floor space (approx 2m2). It took no time for the water to come over the small lip to the floor of the shower - so by the time 2 of us had showered, the floor was soaked.No screen to the actual shower also meant everything in the bathroom was wet by the time one of us used the shower (let alone both of us). So the WC and sink were wet - also the floor had 3 inches of water so if you're brushing your teeth etc. after, you have to get wet feet (but since the floor of the room was actually wet anyway we were kind of past that).

Basically it's a great concept and great location - but Standard rooms shouldn't be made available for 2 people without making people explicitly aware of these design features which the Yotel website fails to do.

We wouldn't go again unless a Premium room was at a seriously discounted rate.

Room Tip: Go for premium unless you're traveling alone. Standard cabins are ideal for business users.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CassandraStabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear CassandraStabs,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so sorry that you were disappointed with our cabin size. We try to be very upfront with our cabin design and size through the photos and descriptions on our website, as well as through any conversations with our Crew. We also offer double cabins with more space but they are subject to availability. On the rare occasions when our service standards slip, our only recourse is to learn from our mistake and redouble our efforts to ensure we do not allow this to happen in the future. Next time when you decide to come to Gatwick, please contact me directly to check the rates and availability in double cabins. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Yotel in the future.
Kind Regards
GUILLERMO GOMEZ
General Manager
YOTEL GATWICK
Arrivals Concourse, South Terminal
London Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
RH6 0NN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed at Yotel before an early morning flight from Gatwick South Terminal. The location of this hotel (directly opposite arrivals) meant that all I had to do in the morning was get up, shower then stroll to check in 2 minutes away.

The hotel is well sign posted from the entrances to departures in the South Terminal. Even though the automated machines weren't working, check in was quick and efficient.
The rooms are more or less cabins almost on top of each other but are clean and quite fun really. The single room had just enough room for a suitcase and hand luggage on the floor. The bed was very comfy and cosy and the bathroom, though small, was spotless. The shower was excellent. There were also conveniently placed plug sockets for charging phones, tablets etc before your journey. Free wifi too.
2 People in this room might be a bit of a squeeze overnight but for a few hours stopover should be fine.

If you have a long connection, early start or late arrival at Gatwick I would definitely recommend this hotel for a few hours sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spikeymires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear spikeymires,

Thank you for your review of Yotel Gatwick. Our great location within the airport terminal, means our guest’s hassle of travelling in and out of airport at inconvenient times is greatly reduced. We have tried to create a Hi-tech atmosphere in our compact cabins by providing all necessities in small space. We do provide premium (with double bed) and twin cabins (with bunk beds) but they are subject to limited availability and do get occupied quickly. Thank you once again for your feedback. Hope to welcome you back in near future.

Kind Regards
GUILLERMO GOMEZ
General Manager
YOTEL GATWICK
Arrivals Concourse, South Terminal
London Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
RH6 0NN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I had to take a connect flight and wait on the airport for 7 hours. I needed a little place to rest and sleep and I was so happy to find the Yotel att the Gatwick Airport. For me travelling alone this was Excellent. I had one suitcase with me and gat a 7fm2 room but if I would have had a second suitcase with me I would have been able to get it into the room. I had to climb up to the bed but it was not a problem. I am just so happy that I was able to stay att the Gatwick airport with a privat toilet and shower, and have even a tv to look att. So I was happy when I gat my second flight the same day rested and happy. Excellent experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Signý P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Signý P,

Thank you for writing about your experience with us. We are happy that you had an excellent experience with us. We have tried to make best use of the space in cabin to make it more appropriate and relaxing for our guests. Thank you once again for reviewing us. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
GUILLERMO GOMEZ
General Manager
YOTEL GATWICK
Arrivals Concourse, South Terminal
London Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
RH6 0NN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Spending the night in the Yotel is like sleeping in first class on a plane, without the free champagne or gourmet food. The bed is comfortable and the tiny space is very well thought out for those who need to charge several things and simply get a good night's sleep. Check in is quick and efficient.

The reason I compare it to sleeping on a plane is the noise of the air conditioning unit. It's distracting and makes it difficult to get to sleep. It also feels dehydrating, which is the last thing you probably want if you're between long haul flights.

A small tip... I gave up on finding a hair dryer... They are available.... Simply ask at reception.

In principle the Yotel is great. But if they could do a little work on the air conditioning it would be brilliant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalgirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear globalgirl30,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you loved our concept of compact cabins and our use of space. We are sorry that you experienced noise from the air conditioning in the cabin and please accept our sincere apologies. We have had the system looked at and are working on improving its performance with the system supplier. Thank you once again for sharing your views. We hope to welcome you back in near future.
Kind Regards
GUILLERMO GOMEZ
General Manager
YOTEL GATWICK
Arrivals Concourse, South Terminal
London Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
RH6 0NN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
3.3 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport

Address: London Gatwick Airport South Terminal | Arrivals Concourse, Crawley RH6 0NP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#6 Business Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £63 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTELAIR is located inside Gatwick international arrivals South Terminal, moments away from check-in and the North Terminal. We offer personal space to sleep, work or refresh with free Wi-Fi and internet access. Cabins are available as Premium, with a double bed or Standard, with a large single. Enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel London Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Yotel London Gatwick Airport Crawley
YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing