We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,839)
Filter reviews
1,839 results
Traveller rating
988
596
169
59
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
988
596
169
59
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free hot drinks standard cabin mission control between flights single cabin great concept pay by the hour premium room hour layover free wifi few hours sleep an early flight long layover small space connecting flight alarm clock hot shower
Filter
Updating list...
720 - 725 of 1,839 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Booked a holiday to Jamaica from Dublin via Gatwick, initially when booked about 6 months prior to departure we had no layover of note, enough time to check in and depart. The timetable subsequently got juggled and we arrived in to Gatwick at 8am this morning with the spectre of an 7 hour layover with the 3 young kids looming large. Transferred from the North to South terminal after the 10 hour flight from Kingston, weary, and travel worn. Spotted the Yotel sign.

We were met by a cheerful and helpful receptionist and got a basic 2 bunk room with shower etc for 4 hours and 69 sterling, we slept, showered, changed and exited revived and in time for a quick bite of lunch before heading home.

Would heartily recommend to anyone who finds themselves in a similar situation, as this sort of layover is not uncommon when flying long haul where a direct route doesn't exist.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Paul H,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us ideal for quick and unexpected layovers. The purpose of Yotel is to adapt to the needs of our guest by offering hourly cabins. We are pleased that you appreciated our staff, we are proud of our whole team. Thank you once again for sharing your positive experience and recommending us. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
GUILLERMO GOMEZ
General Manager
YOTEL GATWICK
Arrivals Concourse, South Terminal
London Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
RH6 0NN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very convenient for catching up on sleep prior to an early departure or to rest and freshen up between transfers. (1 minute from Arrivals & 2 minutes from Departures.)
I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Roger B,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are so pleased that you found Yotel very convenient and comfortable for your stay. Even being compact, we have tried to add every extra bit to the cabins which, in our view, would make our guests’ stay more comfortable. Thanks once again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
GUILLERMO GOMEZ
General Manager
YOTEL GATWICK
Arrivals Concourse, South Terminal
London Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
RH6 0NN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

After long trip back from Hobart that didn't go quite to plan was advised by Aurigny desk that the Yotel might be good place to take a rest. Great advice the welcome from the desk was warm , helpful and friendly and the pods with hot showers and comfy bed restored me no end. Will definitely use them again and am spreading the word

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Jane L,

Thank you for your great description of Yotel Gatwick. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have tried to make best use of the space in cabin to make it more comfortable and therefore relaxing for our guests - through clever design we are able to offer our guests everything they need to relax, revive and connect, we are pleased that you appreciate our flexible services and staff. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

GUILLERMO GOMEZ
General Manager
YOTEL GATWICK
Arrivals Concourse, South Terminal
London Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
RH6 0NN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Two of us stayed in the Yotel at Gatwick after a late flight. It certainly beat waiting for a shuttle bus! The check-in was excellent and drinks provided immediately which was appreciated. We had a twin cabin (bunk beds), which was very small for two people with luggage. However, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was excellent with overhead shower as well as hand held one. I would definitely stay there again if i was travelling on my own.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmieBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Emmie Bournemouth,

Thank you for writing about your experience with us. We are glad you found us to be convenient, comfortable and clean. We aim to provide a good experience of rest and refreshing to our guests’ through our staff and amenities. We are pleased that you took advantage of our complimentary drinks. Thanks once again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back sometime in near future.

Best Regards,

GUILLERMO GOMEZ
General Manager
YOTEL GATWICK
Arrivals Concourse, South Terminal
London Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
RH6 0NN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Usual story: I thought it would be a good idea for my husband and I to spend the night at the airport ahead of a very early flight and long day of business to follow. On arrival we noticed the 'shhh' sign on the wall and we kept our voices low. However the reception guy received us at full volume - strange. He was very friendly, showing us photos of him on Facebook etc, and assigned us pod 9. Once we'd settled in to our 'premium' cabin, we realised we could still hear him talking. We prepared for sleep. And a group of Australian women arrived, talking loudly in the corridor, talking to each other with the door open, going to and fro each other's pods. I opened our door's window blind and waved and smiled at them so they'd realise they were audible and disturbing us - they carried on regardless. They settled down eventually. Meanwhile, my precious sleep time was slipping away. Then more noise from reception. By 1am, I'd had enough and went to ask what was going on. An American traveller with a cup of coffee in hand was chatting loudly with a different night receptionist and a curious couple were taking a look around. The receptionist gave me two sets of earplugs (which did little to block out the noise), I returned to the cabin and finally the hotel was quiet. My alarm went off a couple of hours later.
The night receptionist was incredibly apologetic on check out and offered us 25% off and said I'd receive an email about this - which has yet to materialise. Considering I went to bed at 10pm and managed a maximum three hours' sleep, 50% would be more like it. Receptionist 2 questioned why his colleague had put us in a pod so close to the reception desk, when, he explained, there are others further away which are quieter. The pods themselves may be soundproofed, but there's a fatal flaw in the design if you can hear absolutely everything that goes on in the corridor and reception desk. Why were the Australians given pods on different sides of the hotel, or so close to us when there were empty rooms?
Pod 9 itself was cute if looking a little worn. The double bed is on the cosy side for two, but was fine. Could do with a bathmat for the wet room as only one bath towel is given per person. The reading light over the bed is harsh, individual bendy spotlights would be better as would a separate light switch for the bathroom. The aircon fan was quite strong and I adjusted it a few times during the night to stop from freezing. We didn't try the tv - we didn't want entertainment, just sleep. It was easy to connect to the wifi.
There were benefits of being right inside the airport for the early start, but I don't think I would take the risk of another sleepless night at the Yotel ahead of a very long day of work. Rather, next time I'll make sure I fly out the night before.

Room Tip: Avoid cabin 9, ask for something away from reception.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank passportticketmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YotelHQ, General Manager at YOTELAIR London Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Passportticketmoney,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are sorry that your stay was negatively affected due to noise from the corridor and feeling cold in your cabin - please accept our sincere apologies. On the rare occasions when our service standards slip, our only recourse is to learn from our mistake and double our efforts to ensure we do not allow this to happen in the future. In order to prove this an isolated incident, we would like to welcome you back. Next time when you decide to come to Gatwick, please contact me directly and I would be pleased to take care of your reservation personally. Thank again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Yotel in the future.

Best Regards,

GUILLERMO GOMEZ
General Manager
YOTEL GATWICK
Arrivals Concourse, South Terminal
London Gatwick Airport, West Sussex
RH6 0NN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews