We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience at Eschallon”

Echallon Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crawley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Echallon Guest House
Ranked #10 of 17 Crawley B&B and Inns
Jaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience at Eschallon”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Eschallon guest house from August end to mid November 2013 while on a training in Crawley with three other friends. Found the place to be spacious, clean, cosy and well-equipped for a long term stay. Located on a nice quiet street, Tushmore Lane, yet very close to almost everything we needed during our stay, the guesthouse is a 5 minute walk from a big Sainsbury supermarket and a mere 10-15 minute walk from the town centre which has a host of lively pubs, shopping and eating options like M&S, Sports Direct, TGI Friday's, Dominos and good multi-cuisine restaurants. For days when the weather wasn't good enough to walk to the town centre, we availed of the nearest pub,Toby Carvery, right round the corner opposite the nearest off-license in all about a 2 minute walk from the guesthouse. It was quite easy to get to and from London Gatwick airport by bus and board the onward train to London Victoria as well with the bus stop located a convenient 1 minute walk away (bus fare £2.10). Our training centre was located in the Manor Royal business centre which is again a beautiful 10 minute walk away through green surroundings. Lots of leisure parks around for a stroll on a sunny day. Couldn't have asked for a more conveniently located place to stay. Some of our training took place in another town, Burgess Hill, a 30-minute drive away, for which the owner of the guest house readily provided pickup/drop off service at a price much lower than the usual taxis which would otherwise have been quite expensive.


The rooms in the guesthouse are airy with the ones on the first floor overlooking a large lawn. The bathrooms were always very clean with really good hot water showers. Of the three bathrooms in the guesthouse the one on the first floor was quite big with an enormous bath tub. The ones on the lower floor are not as huge but well-equipped. Since we were a group of friends, we found the spacious and well-furnished living room a great place to hang out whether to study, dine or just watch movies on the large flat screen. A big plus was the free high speed wifi which made it easy to watch movies in high definition. The kitchen is large and well equipped for a long stay. The microwave was a big plus especially on tiring training days when we felt like ready-to-eat food. The kitchen is always kept very clean. There are two fridges - a big one and a smaller one so ample space for everyone. We did quite a bit of cooking and used the gas-range a lot. All-in-all a great affordable place well suited to our needs. The owner, Mr. Abdul Razaq, a thorough gentleman, always very helpful and generously treating us to pizzas and Indian food on many occasions. Went out of his way to ensure we felt at home and provide a comfortable environment where we could focus on our training without any accommodation-related hindrances. A very caring host and a good human being! Thank you for looking after us so well!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tejveer335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
4
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Echallon is a wonderful guest house with a home like feel to it. I stayed here from August 24 to November 1 2013. This 6 bedroom guest house is located just off London Rd, close to an off license, a pub and a super store. It is fully equipped with a washing machine and great kitchen with two fridges, a freezer, a microwave and cooking range.
My colleagues and I were picked up by Mr Abdul from the airport on arrival and a taxi service was also provided for our trips to work 20 miles away.

Mr Abdul is a compassionate and a caring man who lays a lot of emphasis on cleanliness of the common areas and kitchen.

Mr Abdul would treat us to home cooked meals occasionally and take us out to dinner too.

After having stayed at his guest house for a few months I found it hard to leave.

Each time I'm in England from now I plan to stay here.

If you're looking for a home like feel and a no nonsense affordable stay, this is your best bet in The Gatwick area.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RandomRaghu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Very good homely environment... the owner Mr. Abdul Razzaq is a very good person... had a stay there for more than 2 months... felt at home... excellent service... a good value for money and best services provided...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Fantastic and affordable guesthouse with all services included. Walking distance from high street/downtown area. Pick up and drop service from the airport.
More important the owner of the guesthouse Mr. Abdul Razaque is a gem of a person. He will treat you like a family member and never made us feel we are away from home. A+ and a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Echallon is a very nice place to say if you want a cheap guest house near gatwick and crawley i really love it here. I have stayed here so many time i cant even count them up. Sometime i'm in the single sometimes the twin or double but whatever room you stay in they are all about the same clean tidy and great for a few nights, its not a 5 star hotel but then your not paying 5 star price's. It is only about 10 mins from gatwick and about a 15 min walk from crawley or if you want you can get the bus it's just up the road who could ask for more, Not me so see you again soon Abdul.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuernseyJes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We have visited Abdul's pick-up and collect service for many years from Gatwick. We found Abdul's service very reliable and would recommend leaving and picking up your car here. He is a lovely man, always on time and flexible if the flights are delayed, which is reassureing there is always someone to pick you up from the airport. Echallon is very accommodating and reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This guest house is mainly for use in a one night stop over on your way to the airport. You are able to leave your car for the duration of your time away. You will be driven to the airport well in time for your flight and then collected when you arrive back. In most casews your car will be brought to the airport so you can head directly home after loading up. The owner is a real gentleman who will do everything to ensure there is no stress attached to your departure and arrival. The actual accomodation is fairly basic but it must be remembered it is only for an overnight stay. I would highly recommend this guest house for holiday parking, by the way the advantage is that you can use it solely for parking at a very competitive rate.

Room Tip: Make bookings as early possible as often fully booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
0.7 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
Travelodge Crawley Hotel
#15 of 28 in Crawley
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London Gatwick-Crawley
1.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.8 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Echallon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echallon Guest House

Property: Echallon Guest House
Address: 16 Tushmore Lane, Crawley RH10 8JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Crawley
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Echallon Guest House Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing