We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”
Review of Crown of India - CLOSED

Crown of India
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I went to this restaurant a couple of weeks ago with some friends and to be honest I have nothing special to say about it. It was a Friday night, it wasn't very busy but yet the service was very slow. The food was ok, I had the Madras which I found a bit blant. The bill came to £30 each which I thought it was a bit more than average for a starter, a main and 2 drinks. The staff was friendly. Would I go back? Mmmm...maybe not, there are better indians in Crawley.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    17
    9
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pre-holiday meal”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were staying locally before flying off on our holiday and decided to eat here. The food was very good and we were very pleased with our meals. Service was excellent. A very enjoyable and good valued evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Really disappointing”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was a take-away order, but it was the poorest Indian I have bought in ages.

Only three items: the chicken tikka jalfreezi had plainly never seen a tandoor, and incredibly bland - one of those dishes that had had heat but no flavour.

The garlic naan was quite weakly flavoured. The special rice was satisfactory but average.

£15 for this? Not to be repeated.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Want_the_facts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding as always”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

To celebrate our wedding anniversary my husband ordered a take away for us.

Beautiful chicken passanda, with large pieces of chicken and beautifully creamy sauce, easily enough for two meals for me. Really tasty sag aloo too.

The staff always remember us and our two (now three) children.

One of the friendliest takeaways.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Knittingnovice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Crawley”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I have eaten in most of the Indian restaurants in Crawley, but I keep coming back to the Crown Of India as its the best food available, I have never had a bad meal here and their Shaslicks are to die for. The service is always top notch and its not over priced ,I urge all to go there, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andycoldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown of India also viewed

Pease Pottage, Crawley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing