We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel, Excellent Location for Gatwick Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
cardiff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel, Excellent Location for Gatwick Airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night on 13th February 2011 and it was great!

We were flying from Gatwick the following morning for our honeymoon so this hotel was very convenient location wise.

We booked our room (a suite) months in advance and as part of the reservation included 2 weeks parking so we could leave the car at the hotel whilst we were away. We got an excellent rate, I think we paid £140 all in!! I think it was so cheap because we booked online as well.

Check in was easy but our suite was in a segregated section of the hotel and took ages to find and walk to. It was a bit of a pain pulling our suitcases.

However, the suite itself was amazing and they had scattered rose petals all over the bathroom and bed which was a nice touch.

The granite bathroom was impressive and completely spotless.

The bedroom was spotless and very comfortable with fresh robes and slippers and plenty of wardrobe space. It had a tv in the end of the bed which was funny.

The living room was lovely with another big tv and very comfortable sofa.

The mini bar was well stocked which was good.

We ordered an evening meal via room service which arrived quickly and was actually very good as far as room service goes. The food was not overly priced but we thought the wine was a little on the expensive side, even just for a bottle of the house wine, it was nothing fancy.

All in all a very comfortable stay and we will definitely use again when flying from Gatwick.

With regard to parking, if you leave your car there whilst you are away, DO NOT PARK NEAR THE TREES / BUSHES!!!

When we returned from our honeymoon our car was absolutely covered in bird droppings. It was such a horrible sight to come back to and took a trip to the car wash to get rid of. It was terrible. We were half tempted to go back into the hotel to complain but what can they do about birds I suppose. If we ever leave the car there again we will make sure we stay clear of the trees / bushy area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruiseprincess17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 18 March 2011
Thank you for your feedback following your stay here with us. We were delighted to hear you had a comfortable and relaxing start to your honeymoon and that you enjoyed your Club Suite. We were sorry to hear of the situation regarding your vehicle, however unfortunately we do not have control over this. We hope you had a lovely honeymoon and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    756
    389
    136
    79
See reviews for
267
969
127
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

We had a booked a one night stay with parking included for one week prior to flying from Gatwick. Firstly I have to say it was very good value for money!!
The reception staff were very welcoming and quickly booked us in explaining procedures for the bus the next morning and answering any questions we had about the local area.
Our room was small but more than adequate for a nights stay, the decor was very tasteful and lovely and clean. I liked the little touches of complimentry bath robes and slippers, and of course the bathroom toiletries!!
The pool was inviting and again lovely and clean.
We had a few drinks in the bar and then decided to take a walk just up the road where there are a variety of restaurants to suit most choices.
The airport bus arrived promptly in the morning with no problems. Included in our package was the manor meet and greet which was great and would definalty use this agin.
Overall a lovely hotel, freindly staff and makes the start to a holiday perfect!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertoswedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 18 March 2011
Thanks for your review, it was great to hear you had a comfortable stay with us and found the park and stay rate good value. We were delighted that we were able to make the start of your holiday perfect and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

The hotel was ideal for our one night stay prior to flying out on a short break. The room was perfect and well equipped.
Dinner in the Hotels Restaurant was excellent as indeed was breakfast the following morning. The Restaurant Manager and Staff all looked after us.
Parked our car in the hotel while we were away and took the bus to the North Terminal.

Thank You

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hornets55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Thank you for your positive comments and feedback on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick.

I was pleased to read that you found the location good and close to the Airport for easy transfer for your holiday.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the menu on offer in our Cube restaurant and that our staff looked after you during your stay.

I hope that you will choose to return to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night last sat and had a great time.
Checked in early, no probs. Ordered 24hrs internet (bit expensive IMO), very helpful reception staff. Rooms are very modern, comfy beds and quality bedlinen and had fab blackout curtains.
As for location, chose hotel as it was closest to local attraction which had pool, jacuzzi etc. Didnt disappoint Gym ok and pool area lovely (free for guests). The rate included breakfast which was fantastic, def the best sausages ive eaten and such a varied choice for everyone! and was available until 11.30am on Sunday which i thought was a plus.
Think there was a wedding going on here or certainly guests/ bride leaving from here, but if busy, it wasnt an issue.Would def recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICAM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Crowne plaza London Gatwick.

I am glad that you found the hotel to be comfortable with good facilities both in the style of bedrooms and the Restaurant.

We do operate our Sleep advantage which gives our guests all the ingredients for a good nights sleep it seems from your feedback you enjoyed the experience.

Thank you for your comments on the Restaurant and the breakfast we do try to offer a varied selection with the added bonus of serving breakfast later on the weekend so you were able to enjoy some extra relaxation.

I hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

We stayed here for one night in February 2011 to attend a local wedding - the location is good but not ideal for Gatwick and a taxi will cost about £10-£12 to and from the airport.

Check in wasn't the friendliest we had encountered and the check in represenatives over enthusiastic chewing of gum became quite annoying when she was trying to speak to us. I am English with a typical English name and this seemed to confuse her so i had to provide a form of ID so she could see what my name was, maybe i was mumbling too much! I did take the offer of two breakfasts for £19 offer which was advertised on reception although she never verbally offered this to me. Assistance was not offered with our luggage so we carried them to the room ourselves.

The room iteslf whilst modern and well decorated was extremely small and became a bit cramped with just the two of us. It was a very warm night and unfortunately the air conditioning was broken so we had to sleep with the window open and the traffic was quite noisy throughout the night.

The next morning we had breakfast which was buffet and typical of the standard in a Crowne Plaza/Hilton type hotel. The breakfast was ok but the staff all looked really unhappy (although this did not affect service) - maybe its the early mornings! The only gripe i had was they served a pot of tea without milk so i asked for some - I expected them to get some from the kitchen but instead they scoured all the used tables for left over milk from someone elses beakfast and give me this!!

So to summarise the hotel is OK, nothing special and certainly not up to the usual Crowne Plaza standards but then it is not too expensive and a place where you would normally only stay one night. Would i stay again? Well it wouldnt bother me but with all the other options available in the area it would not be my first choice.

Oh and gold status priority club isnt really recognised there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soho_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were very disappointed to hear your expectations of our hotel were not met on this stay. We endeavor to provide a constant, high level of customer service to all guests, and will always try to make our Priority Club members feel welcome and recognised.

Your comments regarding your check in representative are very concerning and an investigation will take place as we have very strict rules and procedures whilst staff are on duty.

I was disappointed to hear your feedback from our breakfast service, which usually receives largely positive feedback. Your comments will be investigated by the Food & Beverage Manager.

We do hope you will return to us again and give us a second chance to restore your confidence in the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick, as these issues are not a regular occurrence and I believe your expectations will be met next time.

Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

Booked family club room, arrived late and tired due to weather, member of reception staff who checked us in wasn't very welcoming and was more interested in informing us that we would need to check in the morning to see if we could take our children in the club room for breakfast. Bar area was busy and food was expensive. Room was very nice and very quiet. Staff at breakfast were fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank user38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to hear your check in experience did not meet our usual high standards. It remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service here at Crowne Plaza London Gatwick. Please be assured that your comments will be followed up with the Management team. Thanks for your comments regarding our restaurant team; they will be delighted to receive this feedback. Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

First of all the room and general hotel quality was very good, no problems there.
Main problem was on checking in, where the receptionist demanded that I produce a passport because I wasn't British. I am Irish and have lived in the UK for the past 10 years. The receptionist claimed it was the law that because I was not British I had to show a passport to check in. I would like Crowne Plaza to please send or post a link to this law.
Do I now have to carry a passport with me on business trips within the UK? What if I had travelled from Ireland using my driving licence as ID? Discrimation against the many British residents who don't happen to have British passports. Rant over.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevintiobraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGWUKGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 3 March 2011
Thank you for your response.

We have a legal obligation to get passport and next destination details from any non UK passport holders. The legislation is from the Immigration Act of 1971 (ammended 1972). Failure to do so could result for us as hotels and employees of Fines and/or prison sentences.

I assure you that we would not ask for this information if it were not a legal requirement and hope this clarifies our situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Langley Drive, Crawley RH11 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#14 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#14 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking, wing-shaped canopy soars above the entrance to the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly Front Desk staff, who can direct you to your calming room or Suite. Revitalise and work out in the fully equipped gym, which is complimentary to residential guests. Dark wood and ochre create a stylish setting for business dinners in Cube restaurant, which serves modern English cuisine. Dine with up to 280 guests in one of our 11 vibrant meeting rooms or host board meetings in the chic executive boardroom. Upgrade to access the Club Lounge, where complimentary breakfast & drinks are served as well as canapes in the evening. A pre-bookable airport (taxi) transfer is available for £10.00, Based on 1-3 people in a car. Gatwick Express trains take 30 minutes to London Victoria station from London Gatwick Airport, while Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport is 5 minutes' walk from Manor Royal Business Park. Experience British summertime at the exotic Royal Pavilion and beach-side oyster bars of sunny Brighton, 30 minutes' drive away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, where your stay is worth celebrating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Crowne Plaza Crawley
Crawley Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing