We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent gatwick stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 15 March 2012

stayed overnight as part of a off airport stay/park package, overnight and 15 nights parking at APH for less than a hundred pounds.
Hotel was great, a very good standard, we took the breakfast upgrade which gave us 2 good quality breakfasts for 19 pounds, it might sound alot but just think what 9.50 buys at the airport. a cardboard sandwich, a muffin and a coffee out of a paper cup.
we even had an early morning swim, excellent value and would use again without doubt.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hastingsranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had a pleasant stay in one of our Club Rooms.

You can take advantage of an Advance purchase booking ,but there are also good deals to be had last minute if you do leave your booking a little late especially at the weekend,.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,093)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,753 - 1,759 of 2,094 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza on a parking package (using an off-airport car park) before catching a flight the next day. Check in was fast and efficient as Priority Club details were already in the reservation and the receptionist confirmed unprompted our request for a room on a high floor.

The hotel is clearly dated but appears to have been refurbished recently. Our room on the top floor was nicely decorated in gold/brown with a great bathroom and I particularly liked the Scottish toiletry products. The room was quiet and provided a good view towards Gatwick.

We didn’t eat in the hotel as we decided to walk to Crawley Leisure Park. It is only about 10 mins away and there is a fair selection of chain restaurants.

Check out was again very fast, efficient and friendly and I would be happy to stay here again before catching a flight from Gatwick. It certainly made a nice start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

What a rip off this hotel is! As Priority Club members we try to stay loyal to the group whenever can, but on this occasion it was a big mistake! Rip offs at every turn, £10 for parking (despite not arriving until about 5pm & leaving again at 9am, £10 for the Internet, and a whopping £16 + for breakfast. We have subsequently stayed in another hotel in the ICH group in
Las Vegas where there was complimentary breakfast free parking & Internet access.

Room Tip: Poky room overcrowded room on second floor
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krissy16250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback about your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport hotel.

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The car parking charges are in line with other hotels in the area and the tariff is posted at the barrier, in order that guests can have the choice as to park onsite or park in an alternative place.

I am sorry that this visit we were unable to meet your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This hotel had a really great rating, so I thought it would be an excellent place to go for a weekend away. Maybe I just had bad luck. There were some good things - the room was clean, the staff in the restaurant are friendly and I was able to get an early check-in. The not so good - the toilet in my room did not flush, the wi-fi (that I paid for) did not work, I was told to seat myself in the restaurant (but then told that I definitely couldn't sit in two places, because those were for breakfast). Unfortunately, on all accounts, staff were incredibly unhelpful. I had to wait at the front of the line at the front desk, while the three staff members that were there talked to each other, and then I had to approach someone in the restaurant to ask if I was supposed to seat myself. There is nowhere else to go unless you can drive, or want to take public transport, so there weren't any alternatives to food.
I'm not usually a whiner about hotels rooms, and I don't usually have super high standards. This was just overall really frustrating. I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay here if you have a car, or you don't to go anywhere other than the hotel pool.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kootenaychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Kootenaychick,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This is a really well maintained hotel and the rooms are well appointed. TV reception could have been better. All the staff we met were really helpful and attentive. Never used the pool area as the jacuzzi wasn't working, but it looked like an atractive area. Ate in the bar for dinner. The food was a little pricey, but the quality was excellent. The shuttle bus to the airport takes some time as you are last in the drop offs, its about 25 minutes and costs £3.20 pp per way. Got this hotel at a bargain rate as an undercover hotel, have stayed twice so far and would go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stopped here the night before we left on honeymoon and really loved it. We had a complimentary upgrade but would happily have paid for it. The room was the height of luxury - huge bed with rose petals, massive tv plus another tv at the end of the bath and speakers in the shower. The club room was fab - 2 hours of free wine and beer before we headed to the restaurant which had really lovely food and great service.
I could have stayed here for longer but Florida beckoned!

Room Tip: Upgrades are well worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawyer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments onto TripAdvisor.

Congratulations on your recent marriage. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and in some small way we could make your stay a little more special.

I am sure nothing could top your Honeymoon destination but I do hope that you will stay with us again in the future and take advantage of all the facilities we have on offer.

Once again congratulations, may we wish you all the best for your future happiness together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We used this hotel the night before travelling to Florida. It is a lovely little hotel. We upgraded to Club lounge. We dropped our bags and started our family holiday down in the lounge, there were various soft drinks and alcohol and food on offer, it was a large room and very nicely decorated. The beds were very very comfortable. We stayed in a two bed suite which was lovely decorated with a TV in the bathtub!
Would definatly reccomend this hotel to anyone who needs to stay over before flying!
Thankyou to everyone at the Crowne Plaza

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nati18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback following your stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay prior to your Florida Holiday, and you were able to take advantage of the extra facilities offered when booking one of our Club Rooms.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
2.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Address: Langley Drive, Crawley RH11 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#14 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#14 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £67 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking, wing-shaped canopy soars above the entrance to the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly Front Desk staff, who can direct you to your calming room or Suite. Revitalise and work out in the fully equipped gym, which is complimentary to residential guests. Dark wood and ochre create a stylish setting for business dinners in Cube restaurant, which serves modern English cuisine. Dine with up to 280 guests in one of our 11 vibrant meeting rooms or host board meetings in the chic executive boardroom. Upgrade to access the Club Lounge, where complimentary breakfast & drinks are served as well as canapes in the evening. A pre-bookable airport (taxi) transfer is available for £10.00, Based on 1-3 people in a car. Gatwick Express trains take 30 minutes to London Victoria station from London Gatwick Airport, while Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport is 5 minutes' walk from Manor Royal Business Park. Experience British summertime at the exotic Royal Pavilion and beach-side oyster bars of sunny Brighton, 30 minutes' drive away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, where your stay is worth celebrating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Crowne Plaza Crawley
Crawley Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing