We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very convenient location”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were welcomed at Reception by Adrian, the Duty Manager. He took a long time patiently explaining all the information we needed to know in order to get to the airport car park in readiness for our early morning flight the next day. He provided local maps and explained about the hotel's amenities which were free to use. All staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was a little on the small side but most importantly for myself (as I have a bad back), the bed was extremely comfortable. There was a good supply of toiletries and the hospitality tray was well stocked with items for drink making. There was also a "Good Night's sleep kit" on the bed which consisted of two items to aid sleep and was a really nice touch! There was a plentiful supply of wonderfully hot water for evening bath. The room itself was really quiet, my only negative point was the heating system which whistled like a boiling kettle at times , this was stopped once we found the heating system's "off" switch!
The next morning we followed our instructions and were quickly at the airport car park used by the hotel. We leaped on a bus and made our flight easily without all the strain of a long journey before a very early flight. I would recommend you allow timing of at least 35mins for North terminal flights and at least 45minutes for flights from South Terminal, to be on the safe side.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peykake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGWUK G, Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Peykake,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

The team and I were pleased to read about your experiences with us and that the hotel lived up to your expectations. It was great to read that you highlighted Adrian out as he is a great asset to our team and always goes out of his way to make our guests stays that little bit more enjoyable.

Thank you once again for your review. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on your stay over in Gatwick.

Kind Regards
Scott Jakins
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    793
    412
    139
    84
See reviews for
283
1,011
132
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel is around 25 minute shuttle bus journey from Gatwick airport, depending on the terminal. The room was a little bit small but very clean and has everything you need. The bed was very confortable, however, we could not sleep very well due to a noisy coming from the hallway.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iarce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGWUK G, Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear iarce,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

The team and I were pleased to read that you found your room clean and with all the facilities you need, although slightly small for your liking. We do offer larger rooms in our Superior and Club levels which I am sure would meet you expectations. We were however disappointed to read you were disturbed by noise from the corridors overnight which has impacted negatively on your overall experience.

Thank you once again for your review. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit through Gatwick.

Kind Regards
Scott Jakins
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Perfect if flying from gatwick and doing park and stay!
Upgrade to club rooms and you get free wifi free drinks and snacks in lounge and a lovely bigger room! Reception were very efficient and friendly, a real pleasure to stay there.
Rooms were very newly decorated and bathroom was great - twin sinks big bath and shower!
Very near to cinema and dining complex a £5 taxi ride away.
Would most certainly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGWUK G, Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Julia P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

The team and I were pleased to read about your experiences with us and that the hotel lived up to your expectations. Our Club Rooms are arguably the best in the area and constantly receive similar feedback time and time again. Our location is also convenient to the town centre and leisure park as highlighted in your comments.

Thank you once again for your review. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on your stay in Gatwick.

Kind Regards
Scott Jakins
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel was booked as a mystery hotel+it was truly a luxury start to our holiday. We needed a hotel close to Gatwick+this was a short shuttle-bus ride away located on a busy roundabout. Noise levels were minimum despite this. Check in was smooth+the hotel looked fairly grand to us on arrival with restaurant+leisure facilities in full view from the lobby. We booked in for an evening meal then proceeded to our room. It was a fair size+modernly decorated with tea+coffee making facilities. The bathroom included a shower over the bath+again the room was of a fair size. The bed oozed comfort after a long coach journey so a relaxed evening before our flights on this was a must. Our evening meal was lovely with a wide choice on the menu+attentive staff. We did not manage to have breakfast as we had an early flight but I can imagine it wouldn't have disappointed. My only quibble with our stay was the wifi,I needed to do some last minute holiday checks online+found that wifi was at a cost of £10,steep for a quick email check!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanSamCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGWUK G, Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear HanSamCornwall,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

The team and I were delighted to read about your experiences with us and that the hotel lived up to your expectations. Your feedback on our rooms and experience in our Restaurant will be shared with the team who work hard to ensure our guests leave relaxed, refreshed and satisfied.

Thank you once again for your review. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on your next holiday out of Gatwick.

Kind Regards
Scott Jakins
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Arrived for an overnight stay with 2 weeks parking before our flight to Vegas. Hotel interior nice and rooms were small but furnished to a good standard. Had a few drinks at the bar which were on the expensive side but to be expected from an airport hotel. Decided to eat elsewhere as the restaurant prices were on the high side with limited menu choice. On returning we decided to have a drink at the bar + ordered a round including 2 liqueur coffees. The barman took our order and first gave us the coffees without cream. Then on tasting one of the coffees we realised there was no spirit in it at all so returned to the bar again. The barman found it hard to understand English but nonetheless his attitude was very unprofessional + bordering on rude but he made another coffee which we found still had no spirit in (which we had obviously paid for). To summarise - this hotel is not worth the prices it charges and they need to train their staff to match the cost of the place. Would I stay again? Probably not

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirlsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGWUK G, Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Shirlsmith,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to read your positive feedback on the interior and rooms but was disappointed to read of your experiences in our bar. We have discussed your feedback with the team to ensure such shortfalls in service are addressed immediately. Whist we have a multicultural team, this should never impact our ability to fulfil a guests requests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope this experience will not dissuade you from choosing us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Scott Jakins
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We arrived into Gatwick quite late at night and were very tired, we had to stand around in the freezing cold for about 45 minutes waiting for the coach to take us to the hotel. So by the time I got to the hotel I wasn't in the best of moods. But once inside to the warm, the staff were very friendly and we were checked in within a few minutes. Are room was lovely and warm and the bed was very comfortable. There was tea and coffee making facilities and also biscuits, the bathroom was very spacious and included a bath. Had one of the best night sleeps there than what I have had in a long time. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkyMark101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGWUK G, Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear MarkyMark101,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

The team and I were pleased to read about your experiences with us and that the hotel lived up to your expectations. I was particularly pleased to hear you had a great nights sleep, a true reflection of the benefits of Crowne Plaza’s Sleep Advantage program.

Thank you once again for your review. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on your next holiday out of Gatwick.

Kind Regards
Scott Jakins
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We booked a family room and it was very reasonable. We did not know what to expect but wen we arrived in our room we were very pleased. There was a lovely siper kingsize bed and two proper single beds. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was compact. There was tea and coffee making facilities. There was also an aromatherapy sleep sample kiton the bed.

The bedding was crisp and very comfortable.

We used the bar area, the drinks were quite expesive but what youexpect for a hotel. The children used the pool . They were the only ones in there.

The stay was overall very good. We would definately stay again. An exceptional airport hotel and value for money. The pictures provided by the hotel on here are accurate.

We did not eat here as we arrived in the evening and left at 6am for a flight so cannot comment on the food quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan1warwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGWUK G, Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Susan1warwickshire,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

The team and I were pleased to read about your experiences including your thoughts on the room, bar and pool. It’s unfortunate you didn’t have the opportunity to dine with us in our Cube Restaurant as it’s another highlight of the hotel.

Thank you once again for your review. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on your next holiday out of Gatwick.

Kind Regards
Scott Jakins
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
2.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Langley Drive, Crawley RH11 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#14 Family Hotel in Crawley
#14 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking, wing-shaped canopy soars above the entrance to the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly Front Desk staff, who can direct you to your calming room or Suite. Revitalise and work out in the fully equipped gym, which is complimentary to residential guests. Dark wood and ochre create a stylish setting for business dinners in Cube restaurant, which serves modern English cuisine. Dine with up to 280 guests in one of our 11 vibrant meeting rooms or host board meetings in the chic executive boardroom. Upgrade to access the Club Lounge, where complimentary breakfast & drinks are served as well as canapes in the evening. A pre-bookable airport (taxi) transfer is available for £10.00, Based on 1-3 people in a car. Gatwick Express trains take 30 minutes to London Victoria station from London Gatwick Airport, while Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport is 5 minutes' walk from Manor Royal Business Park. Experience British summertime at the exotic Royal Pavilion and beach-side oyster bars of sunny Brighton, 30 minutes' drive away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, where your stay is worth celebrating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Crowne Plaza Crawley
Crawley Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing