We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed here for 1 night before travelling abroad as we had an early flight.

Hotel is one of the best i've stayed in! Its wasted being at an airport! Food was 5*, as was service and cleanliness.

Pool and facilities very clean and nice, and nothing to much trouble.

The rooms are really nice, clean and come with all essentials needed for a 1 night stay with lots of packed luggage! And you cannot hear any planes from inside the hotel!

Location is excellent, and the bus stop to the airport on the hotel door step really helps for early morning flights!

Seriously recommend this hotel, look no further!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGWUK G, Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Adam 685,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

The team and I were pleased to read about your experiences with us and that we were able to meet your expectations. Thank you once again for your review. We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on your next stay over in Gatwick.

Kind Regards
Scott Jakins
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    745
    385
    134
    79
See reviews for
265
960
126
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rainhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business, got upgraded to a club room. Nice hotel, only issue is having to pay for parking. Didn't use the health club but it looked decent. Overall very good. Only arrived late so didn't eat in the restaurant but I will try that next time I stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGWUK G, Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Nick J,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

The team and I were pleased to read about your experiences with us and that the hotel lived up to your expectations. Our Club rooms always receive positive reviews and yours is no different. We were sorry you found our car parking charges to be a concern however we are an airport hotel and demand for this space is high and needs to be managed accordingly. We are in fact priced in line and slightly cheaper than most hotels in the area.

Thank you once again for your review. We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on your next stay over in Gatwick.

Kind Regards
Scott Jakins
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Ok, I'm not terribly familiar with the Crowne Plaza chain, but I have stayed at their hotel in Dundalk, Ireland....and on that basis I must agree with a previous comment that the standard isn't quite the same. HOWEVER, this is in no way a criticism as there was a substantial difference in price.

We booked a couple of rooms here for an overnight stay prior to flying out from Gatwick. The deal included car parking for two cars for a week, and shuttle transport. My overriding feeling is that in value for money terms this is nothing short of sensational. Even if you take the car parking and shuttle out of the equation, then whilst this hotel might not be of quite the same standard as others in the chain, it exceeds the standards of 99% of similarly priced offerings. I really can't find any fault.

I suspect that the chain may have made this hotel fit for purpose on the grounds that it is likely to be used as a stopover by travellers. So, lose a bit of room size etc, and get the price down. Perfect. Great location, the room was fine, the staff were lovely. Next time we fly from LGW we'll stay again, and I would recommend anyone else to as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Boaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGWUK G, Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Big_Boaty,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

The team and I were delighted to read about your experiences with us and that the hotel lived up to your expectations. Your comparison of the two properties is very accurate as our rooms are slightly smaller in our standard category, however you would find our superior and club rooms very similar to Dundalk. With regards to value for money, we feel we are one of the best value hotels in the area and this is reflected in a great deal of feedback we receive.

Thank you once again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next stay over in Gatwick.

Kind Regards
Scott Jakins
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

How this property is allowed to call itself a Crown Plaza is beyond me! During Our last London trip we decided to spend the last night of our trip near the Gatwick airport. Coming from a very Nice hotel in London we were shocket to arrive at this dump. The hotel is old, the building very worn, paint is literally peeling off the walls. We had reserved a "Family Room". The beds and bedding were terrible. The sofa bed was so bad that we all had to sleep on the king. Worst of all the room smelled very musty and the bathroom smelled of old urin. None of us are usually allergy sufferers, however we all developed a rash while staying in our room! The pool was shared with the public who can pay to swim there. The immediate neighborhood did not feel safe. We walked for 20 minutes to get to some mediocre restaurants and shops, however felt like we better hurry back to the hotel as soon as it started getting dark. The restaurant at the hotel had ok food. The "free" wi-fi was not free and none of the computers in the business center worked - I don't think they were even plugged inn. On top of it all the staff was snooty as if they worked at some high class hotel. Never staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norwegiangirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGWUK G, Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear norwegiangirl70,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

The team and I were very concerned to read your review as it is not at all indicative of the generally positive feedback we receive from our guests. The team and I take all feedback very seriously and a full investigation into your stay with us is taking place to quantify your review, with particular attention to the room you occupied and the staff you encountered whist a guest of the hotel.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards
Scott Jakins
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were welcomed at Reception by Adrian, the Duty Manager. He took a long time patiently explaining all the information we needed to know in order to get to the airport car park in readiness for our early morning flight the next day. He provided local maps and explained about the hotel's amenities which were free to use. All staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was a little on the small side but most importantly for myself (as I have a bad back), the bed was extremely comfortable. There was a good supply of toiletries and the hospitality tray was well stocked with items for drink making. There was also a "Good Night's sleep kit" on the bed which consisted of two items to aid sleep and was a really nice touch! There was a plentiful supply of wonderfully hot water for evening bath. The room itself was really quiet, my only negative point was the heating system which whistled like a boiling kettle at times , this was stopped once we found the heating system's "off" switch!
The next morning we followed our instructions and were quickly at the airport car park used by the hotel. We leaped on a bus and made our flight easily without all the strain of a long journey before a very early flight. I would recommend you allow timing of at least 35mins for North terminal flights and at least 45minutes for flights from South Terminal, to be on the safe side.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peykake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGWUK G, Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Peykake,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

The team and I were pleased to read about your experiences with us and that the hotel lived up to your expectations. It was great to read that you highlighted Adrian out as he is a great asset to our team and always goes out of his way to make our guests stays that little bit more enjoyable.

Thank you once again for your review. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on your stay over in Gatwick.

Kind Regards
Scott Jakins
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel is around 25 minute shuttle bus journey from Gatwick airport, depending on the terminal. The room was a little bit small but very clean and has everything you need. The bed was very confortable, however, we could not sleep very well due to a noisy coming from the hallway.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iarce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGWUK G, Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear iarce,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

The team and I were pleased to read that you found your room clean and with all the facilities you need, although slightly small for your liking. We do offer larger rooms in our Superior and Club levels which I am sure would meet you expectations. We were however disappointed to read you were disturbed by noise from the corridors overnight which has impacted negatively on your overall experience.

Thank you once again for your review. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit through Gatwick.

Kind Regards
Scott Jakins
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Perfect if flying from gatwick and doing park and stay!
Upgrade to club rooms and you get free wifi free drinks and snacks in lounge and a lovely bigger room! Reception were very efficient and friendly, a real pleasure to stay there.
Rooms were very newly decorated and bathroom was great - twin sinks big bath and shower!
Very near to cinema and dining complex a £5 taxi ride away.
Would most certainly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGWUK G, Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Julia P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

The team and I were pleased to read about your experiences with us and that the hotel lived up to your expectations. Our Club Rooms are arguably the best in the area and constantly receive similar feedback time and time again. Our location is also convenient to the town centre and leisure park as highlighted in your comments.

Thank you once again for your review. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on your stay in Gatwick.

Kind Regards
Scott Jakins
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.0 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
2.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Langley Drive, Crawley RH11 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#14 Family Hotel in Crawley
#14 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking, wing-shaped canopy soars above the entrance to the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly Front Desk staff, who can direct you to your calming room or Suite. Revitalise and work out in the fully equipped gym, which is complimentary to residential guests. Dark wood and ochre create a stylish setting for business dinners in Cube restaurant, which serves modern English cuisine. Dine with up to 280 guests in one of our 11 vibrant meeting rooms or host board meetings in the chic executive boardroom. Upgrade to access the Club Lounge, where complimentary breakfast & drinks are served as well as canapes in the evening. A pre-bookable airport (taxi) transfer is available for £10.00, Based on 1-3 people in a car. Gatwick Express trains take 30 minutes to London Victoria station from London Gatwick Airport, while Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport is 5 minutes' walk from Manor Royal Business Park. Experience British summertime at the exotic Royal Pavilion and beach-side oyster bars of sunny Brighton, 30 minutes' drive away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, where your stay is worth celebrating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Crowne Plaza Crawley
Crawley Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing