We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good airport hotel Gym could be nicer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here before flying to Thailand
On arrival we checked in and were given a upgrade to a club room which included canapés and alcohol/soft drinks from 1830-2030 also continental breakfast from 0830-1030,room was new,modern,great bathroom,with a wonderful shower,view nothing to write home about but didn't matter.
Bed very comfortable.
We do use gym/swimming pool Etc when staying in hotels,so quite important for us,gym and changing room was very outdated and needs renovation,if you had 8 people in the gym it would be very congested,quite smelly in there and machines were outdated,changing area and shower felt dirty and again old,swimming pool itself was nice but steam room could do with renovation,smelt quite funky aswell,decor around pool could do with a lick of paint,if the crown plaza invested in renovating the spa/gym it could be a good hotel going to excellent,service in all areas was very good and do check out Italian restaurant nearby "Taormina" (see review on trip advisor" best Italian we have visited !!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathanbear06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.

I am pleased that we were able to ffer you an upgrade on your booking and that you enjoyed staying in one of our Club Rooms with the access to the Club Lounge.

I am sorry that our Health Club facilities did not meet with your expectations. If you are a member at a large fitness Club then we may not offer the same facilities due to the space.

We replaced all the gym equipment in 2013. We feel that we offer our guests a good choice with complimentary access to the Health Club and pool.We are one of a small minority of hotels in the area that offer this facility .

I do hope that you will choose to stay again in the future we look forward to being able to welcome you back.


Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,093)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,225 - 1,231 of 2,094 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Always a warm welcome and offered free upgrade to Club Room and lounge. These rooms are fantastic - good size, nicely furnished and quiet. The free drinks in club lounge each eve are also a bonus.
However, there is no longer a coach connection to hotel from airport- so instead you have to pay a (discounted) rate of £10 each way. This makes the link expensive compared to other hotels nearby.
The restaurant food was pretty good but had a long wait for a bar meal one evening when the place seemed very crowded.
Given the rooms are higher than the Holiday Inn near airport and that has a bus, this hotel may lose out.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank philosIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your general experience about our Hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you are satisfied with the rooms and always find front desk welcoming.

I am delighted that you enjoy staying in the Club Rooms and use the Club Lounge to relax during the evening.

We no longer have a bus service as they withdrew the service in 2013 . We do think that although the Taxi transfer is a little more expensive. It offers a far superior service and is flexible with the time you choose to come and go,with the added bonus of a short transfer time instead of sitting on a bus for 40 minutes while it picks up at different hotels in the area.

I do hope that you will continue to choose to stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Location is great. Walking distance from city center. Great staff. Concierge is awesome. Got a couple of packets delivered and was handle perfectly.
On one side of the hotel get wake up each time there is a delivery. When moved room the AC unit was making a noise. Never got fixed in 3 weeks...

Room Tip: Make sure you do not book a room on the side of the delivery bay.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments following your stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our Concierge was able to assist you with the safe receipt of your packages.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with again in the future.



Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed here before flying out to Vegas we booked Hotel plus parking at Airparks . Very good hotel great location just by the airport and excellent value . Rooms were vey well presented and spotlessly clean

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 47_COOPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed a comfortable nights stay with us, and found both the location and parking package suited your needs.

I do hope that we will be able to be of service to you in the future.


Kind Regards


Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I've stayed here a lot over the past couple of years with work. I'm pleased to say I don't have to stay another night.

The rooms really are drab for the money that is charged, but as long as I could get a good shower in the morning to start the day I could live with it. The hotel has recently installed new shower heads in all the rooms that limit the water to an annoying mist. I guess this is to control water usage which they will say is to be more environmentally friendly, but it really is a joke now.

Some of the rooms smell a bit musty, which isn't very pleasant and the ac is unpredictable.

There is a visible decline in the cost cutting approach this hotel is taking. Over the years I've noticed the downgrading in the toiletries provided, a change to plastic cups in the bathroom and where the bottle of water used to be replaced daily, it is now only replaced if you've finished all of the one that was there.

The place is generally over crowded due to the constant corporate events hosted there, which leads to queues for breakfast as you wait for a table. The orange juice is frequently watered down to taste like squash and the glasses aren't cleaned properly so you get to enjoy the lipstick of the previous user.

The gym and pool are not for the exclusive use of guests as they offer membershis to the general public. As a result they can get busy (the pool is used for aqua aerobics - just at the sort of time you finish work and would like a swim)

The platinum membership is meaningless. Where you used to get an occasional room upgrade, you now get a drink voucher or some more IHG points that you can never seem to use for hotels you might fancy staying in (always comes back as "no availability" for reward nights, despite there being plenty of rooms available for cash).

I could go on, but I won't. Glad to see the back of it!

I ought to mention that some of the staff are excellent - Lyrienis in the restaurant is always welcoming and friendly. I don't know how she keeps that up while the hotel continues to go down hill.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysaway123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback and comments about your experience at the hotel.

I was obviously disappointed to read that you have not enjoyed staying with us . I am so sorry that you did not manage to come and speak to us about your concerns .We value all our guest and try when ever possible to upgrade our Platinum members when availabilty allows.

We have made small changes with the showers to be more green, and you are correct that despite the manufacturers claims that we would not see a noticable difference in the perfomance they are not as popular as the previous model. We are looking at ways to improve the performance.

The hotel has become very popular as a conference venue and we are perhaps more busy than in the past . This is a very positive thing in this day and age.

I understand from your comments that you will not be staying with us in the future.
I would like to thank you for your past custom. I am sorry that you are leaving feeling that we did not meet all your expectations. I do hope that not everything about your experience here with us was a negative one.

Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed here 3 months ago and had a fantastic time. We had booked the arora for this visit over a year ago but as we loved this hotel so much last time we decided to cancel the arora and pay the extra for crowne plaza. The best decision we have made!! We stayed the 2nd February.

We were staying the night before our flight to Kenya where we were getting married. We had emailed the hotel after booking to enquire about an upgrade. As it was a special occasion we upgraded to a suite and it was worth every penny!!

We had a standard room booked for our children. We arrived 40 minutes before check in and whilst in some hotels this is an issue it wasn't even mentioned at Crowne plaza. The receptionist was very helpful. We checked in without any problems and instead of us upgrading our children's room so they could use the lounge we were offered to pay a very small supplement for them to join us which was excellent.

The reception manager took us to our children's room before showing us to our room. We have stayed at 5 star hotels before and never witnessed this level of service!! We can't thank the staff enough. Especially Janice !!!

On entering our room we were amazed. The bed was decorated with rose petals. The room was fantastic. Very spacious, door leading out to small balcony, plenty of wardrobe space, a fridge,desk, safe & large screen tv. The bathroom was even better!! A tv in the bath, massive separate luxury shower!! Again, worth every penny of the upgrade price!!

As we weren't flying until late the next day we asked if we could keep our room until 3pm. This was done without any hesitation and no fuss at all.

We used the gym which is quite small but very quiet so more than adequate. The pool was fantastic and all included in the price. On returning from the leisure facilities we had a card left in our room congratulating us on our up coming wedding. We were amazed at the personal level of service and feel overwhelmed by the care shown from the hotel.

As we had a club room this also included access to the club lounge. Theres 24 hour soft & hot drinks. Biscuits, fruit and juices. During the evening alcohol is served with canapés/prawn cocktails and bar nibbles.

From our experience any hotel near an airport is noisy throughout the day & night. On both visits to crowne plaza we did not experience any noise at all!! Very quiet and peaceful day and night. Highly recommend a club room for this reason alone!!

In summary a fantastic hotel with outstanding service with attention to detail. All the staff could not do enough for us!! We couldn't have had a better, more chilled out time before leaving the country to get married!! Can't wait to fly from Gatwick again to stay here!!!!

Well done Crowne plaza Crawley!! Keep up the amazing work!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayleigh_M_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments following your stay with us prior to your Wedding on the beach in Kenya.

It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family here before your big day .I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and got time to relax and make use of all the facilities here at the hotel.

I do hope that you had a great time in Kenya, and that you enjoy a wonderful future together.
I am pleased that we were able to contribute in a small way to making your stay just a little bit special.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel if you are travelling out of Gatwick in the future.

Kindest Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

If you are looking for a smooth, easy check-in, a comfortable, clean, quiet and well-appointed room, so that you can get a few hours' sleep before departure, then this hotel fits all these criteria. The hotel staff were friendly, efficient and helpful and the room was warm and comfortable, with TV and tea/coffee making facilities, as you would expect. We didn't eat there, so I cannot comment on the food. The hotel is situated fairly close to the airport parking that was part of the deal and a printout of directions was given, so it was easy to locate. Overall, an excellent hotel (also has an indoor swimming pool and gym) and a great deal. Would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnfieldGerryAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed a comfortable night with us prior to your holiday. It was so nice to read that you had a good check in, and your parking package offered everything you needed .

I do hope that you will return to the hotel in the future, we look forward to being of service to you.


Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
2.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Address: Langley Drive, Crawley RH11 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#14 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#14 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range: £67 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking, wing-shaped canopy soars above the entrance to the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly Front Desk staff, who can direct you to your calming room or Suite. Revitalise and work out in the fully equipped gym, which is complimentary to residential guests. Dark wood and ochre create a stylish setting for business dinners in Cube restaurant, which serves modern English cuisine. Dine with up to 280 guests in one of our 11 vibrant meeting rooms or host board meetings in the chic executive boardroom. Upgrade to access the Club Lounge, where complimentary breakfast & drinks are served as well as canapes in the evening. A pre-bookable airport (taxi) transfer is available for £10.00, Based on 1-3 people in a car. Gatwick Express trains take 30 minutes to London Victoria station from London Gatwick Airport, while Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport is 5 minutes' walk from Manor Royal Business Park. Experience British summertime at the exotic Royal Pavilion and beach-side oyster bars of sunny Brighton, 30 minutes' drive away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, where your stay is worth celebrating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Crowne Plaza Crawley
Crawley Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing