We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best airport stay ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best airport stay ever”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were seriously impressed with this hotel. We stayed prior to our flight to punta cana. Slick check in. Beautiful modern, clean room! Room slightly small, but for one night it was more than adequate.
This is the quietest airport hotel I have ever experienced (we were on high floor)Comfy beds.

Only moan was we booked this to include airport parking, fab deal. Upon arrival it appears you have to pay to park at the hotel (£12), we almost paid prior to checking in but decided to check in first. Luckily we did as our booking had included it in the price we had already paid. I would advise checking before paying, as i'm sure some people end up paying unnecessarily!

V good value!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just1me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear just1me,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, that you liked the hotel and found your room very quiet and comfortable.. As you booked a Car Parking Package, the parking at the hotel was also included for you. However, car parking is normally chargeable at £10 per day and there is signs in the car parking advising our guests to contact Reception in case of any doubt.
Once again, thank you for positive feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Sindarmy Vingadassalom,
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    768
    395
    136
    79
See reviews for
270
981
127
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My fiancée and I stay here on 31st May 2014 as treat to celebrate our 5 year anniversary and having no kids for the weekend. Was pleasantly impressed. I've worked in most of the hotels in Gatwick as a manager so no what to expect from a airport hotel. Had a warm professional welcome upon our arrival and had a facilities explained to us. Well worth booking a club room as the rooms are separate from the normal rooms, this made a difference for peace and quiet. The club rooms are nicely furnished and spacious, well maintained but the best part of a club room is the club lounge free drinks and canopies in a relaxing environment away from the busy holiday making families which dominate the bar and restaurant. I didnt catch the name of the lounge host but my god she deserves employee of the month so friendly, professional and always made sure we were looked after probably the best part of our stay and a credit to your establishment. We used the gym first off and even though small, the pool was quiet and adequate and staff were friendly. There was a mix up with our restaurant booking so had to wait 30 minute's to be seated but the gentleman running the restaurant was most apologetic and tended to us very well. Got a great nights sleep in the comfy bed and nice hot powerful shower in the morning. A free continental breakfast in the club lounge went down a treat. All in all a pleasant hotel with professional friendly staff that do their up most to mate you feel looked after. Will stay again as your prices are fair and services exceptional. The staff are the selling point

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Officer at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear David F

I would like to thank you very much for your positive feedback and comments about your stay.

I was pleased to read that you had a warm professional welcome upon your arrival and that you enjoyed the Club Lounge. I was also delighted to read that you found the service you received from our staff was efficient and that you were satisfied with the room. I am sorry that there was a mix up with your Restaurant booking and you had to wait 30 minutes to get a table, fortunately this type of incident happens rarely.

We look forward welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Marcella Tempra
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Not a bad hotel ! Nice rooms nice staff. Bar was a bit expensive and food was very expensive. Good job there was a pub a short walk away. But all in all a nice stay. Great for gatwick and great road access from m23

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel Location was perfect for transfers to Gatwick Airport. We also have excellent links to the M23.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel when you next travel out of Gatwick Airport.

Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The rooms were a little small, but adequate and clean. Dinner was good value for money and very tasty. Unfortunately, our spell in the pool area was ruined by several families using the facilities, with adults allowing their children to use the steam room unaccompanied, holding the door open and shouting at each other. Nothing was done to curtail this, even after the gym attendant had been informed of the disruption.

Unfortunately, forced us to leave the pool area sooner than we had planned, which spoiled our afternoon somewhat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.

I would like to offer you my sincere apology that your time in the Leisure Club was disturbed by the bad behaviour of the Children that were using the facilities. It is very difficult to understand how responsible adults can stand by and watch their children behave in such a manner. The Pool are is for everyones enjoyment I am sorry that your enjoyment had to come to sudden end because of the selfish act of others.

The staff member on duty is new to the role, and perhaps should have taken a firmer stance with both the children and the parents. I have spoken to him about this and I hope in future should any guests or visitors to the Health Club not behave correctly they will be asked to leave the pool.

I would like to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.I do hope that despite this incident it would not deter you from staying with us in the future.

Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A fairly average hotel in need of a revamp! Room was small and looked very tired, over looking a dirty flat roof full of air-conditioning units.
Breakfast was ok, not a huge choice of hot food, just the usual rubber fried eggs and over cooked bacon. However the service was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyin_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport hotel.

I was disappointed to read your comment about your room we have several different room types and from your description it sounds as though you were in a standard room. It may be worth booking a Superior or Club Room if the size of the room is a priority for you.
If you do stay again and are not happy with any part of your experience during your stay,please do bring it to our attention as we will always try our best to offer a solution.

I do hop that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards


Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed a night towards the end of May before flying out of Gatwick the next day for a short break. I am an IHG rewards club member and had booked on my points so accommodation was free. We also planned to leave the car there for the three days we were to be away which we paid for.

Very friendly and efficient check in I had booked a room to be designated on arrival as it was a late booking, we were told that we had been upgraded to an executive room in fact we were told it was the bridal suite. It was a fantastic room, good size well equipped and shower and bath, the bath even had a tv. The room its self was also very quiet.

We got use of the executive lounge, free drinks at night and free breakfast in the morning.

We used the pool and steam room. the pool was a good size, the only down side is the pool side shower was not working so if you used the steam room you had to go back upstairs to the changing room to shower to get back in the pool, most people didn't.

Had a sandwich in the bar later, not cheap as you would expect from this class of hotel but was disappointed to be charged a service charge on top, we were only seated six feet away from the bar and I collected the drinks. I personally think a service charge any where is a rip off and should be banned.

overall an excellent stay though, well treated by the staff and would recommend this hotel and only about 15 mins from Gatwick.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siemenstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel using your IHG reward points.

I was pleased we were able to upgrade your stay and you were able to take advantage of one of the Executive Club Rooms. It is one of the many benefits of belonging to IHG rewards .

I am so pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and found the location very convenient for Gatwick Airport,

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again when flying out of Gatwick.

Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with friends before flying from Gatwick. Lovely rooms. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Provided us with directions and alternatives if we would like to get something to eat. Overall a great hotel. Only thing that would make this hotel complete is an outdoor area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.

I would like to thank you for your positive feedback and your complimentary remarks about the service and the staff.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and would choose to stay again.

It is a shame that the hotel does not have very much outside space, there are small outside areas with tables and chairs for guests to use when the weather allows. I do hope that the lack of outside areas will not deter you from booking again .We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.



Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Langley Drive, Crawley RH11 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#14 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#14 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking, wing-shaped canopy soars above the entrance to the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly Front Desk staff, who can direct you to your calming room or Suite. Revitalise and work out in the fully equipped gym, which is complimentary to residential guests. Dark wood and ochre create a stylish setting for business dinners in Cube restaurant, which serves modern English cuisine. Dine with up to 280 guests in one of our 11 vibrant meeting rooms or host board meetings in the chic executive boardroom. Upgrade to access the Club Lounge, where complimentary breakfast & drinks are served as well as canapes in the evening. A pre-bookable airport (taxi) transfer is available for £10.00, Based on 1-3 people in a car. Gatwick Express trains take 30 minutes to London Victoria station from London Gatwick Airport, while Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport is 5 minutes' walk from Manor Royal Business Park. Experience British summertime at the exotic Royal Pavilion and beach-side oyster bars of sunny Brighton, 30 minutes' drive away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, where your stay is worth celebrating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Crowne Plaza Crawley
Crawley Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing