We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Cambridgeshire
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great hotel, ideally located near to Gatwick with long stay on site parking and a great bus shuttle service. Hotel very clean and up to the standard you expect from crowne plaza. Choice of different restaurant on site.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddymbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Officer at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Teddymbear

I would like to thank you for your positive feedback and comments about your stay.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel was very clean and up to the standard you expected from a crowne plaza. I would also like to thank you for the positive comment regarding the transfer which I'd like to clarify is a an exellent Taxi Company not a shuttle bus.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, I hope we can look forward welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Marcella Tempra
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    794
    412
    140
    84
See reviews for
285
1,012
132
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed last year and found the place excellent. Good staff and very clean. We are staying again this Friday and are hoping we get an uograde like we did last year, fingers crossed. Pool is lovely and a great way to start a holiday.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank grekofile50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Officer at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Grekofile50

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other travelers on Trip Advisor.

I am glad that last time you stayed you found the hotel was exellent and that you found the pool was lovely and a great way to start a holiday. I really hope that you will enjoy your future stay as much as last time.

We look forward welcoming you back on Friday.

Kind Regards

Marcella Tempra
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Had a one night stay here which was marred by an accident and injury to my wife. Bathrooms are small (smaller than in a Premier Inn). Bath has shower above and is ridiculously slippery. We only found this out when my wife stepped into it to shower and then slipped falling backwards out of the bath and landing on the floor. A nasty crack on the head and shock (for both of us) was the result. A miracle she did not injure herself more on the worktop or toilet. Staff were helpful and quickly provided ice and escorted us to a walk in centre for treatment (unfortunately not one that treats head injuries so we ended up at another in the local hospital).
I cannot comment on the breakfast other than to say it was adequate but not a patch on some other hotels we have stayed in. We did not get to eat much. The facilities looked good with swimming pool etc but our hasty departure for medical treatment meant we did not get to have the morning swim we hoped for.
Bed was comfortable and room Ok but do be careful of the bath/shower.
Also note that parking is £10 per night - we expected that having done some research. No concession for hotel guests. Rack rate for rooms here is £200 a night but much better deals are on offer if you search around. We would have been very happy with the price we paid (in normal circumstances). Have had to rate the hotel poor in view of our exoerience. average

Room Tip: Take care in the bath/shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyril E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Cyril E,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.
I was sorry to learn that whilst staying with us your wife slipped and hurt herself in the bathroom. I do hope that she is feeling better and is not suffering following this incident.
Each room has got signage and has a non-slip rubber mat for use inside the bath and a thicker towelling bath mat for use on the floor which is left over the bath. Our priority is always to make sure our guests are safe when staying with us, and we put both types of mats in the room for this purpose. I was pleased to read that you found the staff helpful and your room comfortable and hope that we will be able to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Sindarmy Vingadassalom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

An overnight stay & parking deal. Easy place to get to, used meet & greet for car parking. Staff very friendly & helpful, Accommodation spacious & very clean. This is our second visit, & it won't be our last.

Room Tip: We have taken what was provided, and have no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Paul B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your Park Stay and Go package and found your room spacious and clean. Thank you for your positive comment about the staff. I am pleased to read that you will be back. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the hotel. Kind regards, Sindarmy Vingadassalom, Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here in March 2014 the night before our flight as we had a early morning start.
We could not fault anything!
Car park was big so there was enough spaces when we arrived, friendly reception who offered to take us to our room. The rooms were big and spacious and had everything in there including a fridge!
The hotel was only a short distance away from shops and restaurants. We ate out that night so i can't comment on the food at the hotel.
We also used the spa facilities which were very clean.
Definitely would return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vew92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Officer at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Vew92

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other travelers on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you found the staff was friendly and professional and that you were satisfied with the room and with the Health Club facilities.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Marcella Tempra
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at Crown Plaza Hotel on two occasions eg day prior to our flight and on our return. We booked a room for 3 adults and we were allocated room 240 on 28th May and were allocated room 541 in our return on 6th June 2014. The hotel is convenient for Gatwick Airport,

On our arrival on both occasions the staff were very helpful and check in process took seconds not minutes.!

Both rooms were very spacious, It had King size bed and a double bed and were very comfortable...easily accomodated 3 persons. The rooms were very clean and tidy and quiet,!
The bed matresses and bed clothing along with pillows were. v good., Had great a sleep.

The rooms had iron...ironing board.........fridge for keeping things colds ( very helpful in my case for storing eye drops or even cold beverages)....... coffee/tea supply with a kettle for making hot drinks,,,,,,,,,,.hair dryer......and TV ( with Free View channels only).

The bathroom was on the small size but adquate,,,,,,bathroom gowns were provided in room 240 ( but not in 541) and shower equipement worked well and towels were clean.

The Hotel had a Swimming pool on the ground floor which looked impressive and also a steam room and Sauna room etc. We used these facilities and were more then satisfied! Again staff were very helpful indeed. Well equiped Gym is on the premises but however we did not use it on this occasion!

We left 2 pieces of lugguge to be stored at the hotel for the period we were away ( 8 days) and this process was simple and quick. Again very good ..customer service provided.
We asked the Hotel to book us a taxi to the Airport with local taxi company and this was done very swiftly. The taxi came within 10 minutes at fixed price of £10 ( seemed value formoney for 3 persons with 3 suitcases)!

On her return 6th June our flight landed at 09.45 am and we came to the Hotel and asked for early check in IF POSSIBLE. Again staff managed to find us a room 541 of same quality as previous one and gave it to us at 11.00am. Very helpful staff,

There is a restuarant and bar on the premises which was fairly full but we can not comment on the quality of the food or staff as we did not use this. Breakast is also available but it seemed bit pricy compared to some other hotels.... and anycase we did not have time to have breakfast.
However ordered 3 light meals from the Room Service menu . The menu had both veg and non veg options. These were of good quality and reasonably priced. Room service was good and effecient. The food was hot and good.

We were running slightly late for checking out.. (12.00 noon).. because lost trackk of time in the pool area-Sauna / Steam room and requested if POSSIBLE could we check out at 13.00hrs . The staff very helpful and was able to do this for us because I was ING member..

Overall we had very good clean large bedrooms & v good hotel facilities ( 4*) but our overall experienece was 5* star due to very helpful and professional staff who definatly know how provide excellant customer service.

Room Tip: Rooms 240 was good. Use the Facilities such swimming pool/gym/steam baths ..free for customets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hartej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Officer at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Hartej

I would like to thank you very much for your positive feedback and comments about your stay.

I was delighted to read that you found the service you received from our staff was efficient and that all the staff was friendly. I was also pleased to read that you were satisfied with the room, with the Health Club facilities and that you found that the Room service Menu offered food of good quality and reasonably priced.

We look forward welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Marcella Tempra
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Well I've stayed at crowne plaza and many other gatwick hotels frequently. I normally book club rooms which are nice however, booked standard room. BIG MISTAKE!

Allocated 712 and walked into the room, smallest room I've seen! Premier inn, Arora hotel and even Hilton have bigger rooms.

Laying in bed to get some rest and all I can hear is running water, constantly. I've listened to where it's coming from and it sounds like a main water tank in the ceiling.

SHOCKED: No bath, no minibar, basic bed and small, very small compared go other others.

At £99 if paid in full, don't book!

Room Tip: Don't bother with standard. Avoid! Book hilton, Arora or premier inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Officer at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Paul W

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other travelers on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry you did not find the room comfortable due to the size and the room only had a shower, in future please do not hesitate to contact reception if you are not happy with any aspect of your stay and we will always try to offer a solution.
I have put a note on your profile that you prefer having a room with a bath so we can allocate that type of room for you in the future in advance. I can also assure you that a bigger room will be allocated for you in the future.

We look forward welcoming you back in the future.


Kind Regards

Marcella Tempra
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
2.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Langley Drive, Crawley RH11 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#14 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#14 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking, wing-shaped canopy soars above the entrance to the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly Front Desk staff, who can direct you to your calming room or Suite. Revitalise and work out in the fully equipped gym, which is complimentary to residential guests. Dark wood and ochre create a stylish setting for business dinners in Cube restaurant, which serves modern English cuisine. Dine with up to 280 guests in one of our 11 vibrant meeting rooms or host board meetings in the chic executive boardroom. Upgrade to access the Club Lounge, where complimentary breakfast & drinks are served as well as canapes in the evening. A pre-bookable airport (taxi) transfer is available for £10.00, Based on 1-3 people in a car. Gatwick Express trains take 30 minutes to London Victoria station from London Gatwick Airport, while Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport is 5 minutes' walk from Manor Royal Business Park. Experience British summertime at the exotic Royal Pavilion and beach-side oyster bars of sunny Brighton, 30 minutes' drive away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, where your stay is worth celebrating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Crowne Plaza Crawley
Crawley Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing