We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay for Restaurant Items before ordering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pay for Restaurant Items before ordering”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

A very pleasant looking hotel at the outset. As an IHG Gold a Elite member I was taken aback that an upgrade was not automatically offered. They claimed to be fully booked,but were still taking walk-in customers straight after we checked in! What takes the biscuit however is having to sign/pay for coffees and a snack in their bar BEFORE we received our order. Wow!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plazza london Gatwick Airport Hotel.

I am sorry that we were unable to offer a complimentary upgrade to you during this stay . We do our best to offer upgrades when availability allows. We are a very busy Airport Hotel and our Club Rooms are very popular limiting the amount of free upgrades we can offer our IHG members. I am sorry if you felt disappointed.

It is normal procedure in most hotels to ask a guest to sign a docket if they are going to charge anything to their room. This is to protect the guest from anyone trying to charge services to a room that is not theirs. If we have a signature then you as the guest have a record of the order.

I am sorry if you were upset at being asked to sign before your order arrived. I will pass on your comments to the Bar Manager .

I hope that despite your comments you will not be detered from staying with us again .We look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    785
    409
    138
    83
See reviews for
280
1,004
131
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Two of us stayed here before flying out fem Gatwick. I paid £47 for a double room including breakfast. We were upgraded to a superior room, which included free soft drinks 24/7 and free alcoholic drinks and access to a lounge area for a couple of hours in the evening.

The room was large, clean and very modern. I can honestly say it was ideal for what we wanted, and great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Ben K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments and feedback following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to a Club Room and the Club Lounge facilities, and found your package good value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Sindarmy Vingadassalom
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have and will continue to use this hotel as a base for flying from Gatwick / getting into London (Gatwick Express). Personally I have always found this hotel ticks all the boxes in our requirements. Excellent location, facilities, Staff and rooms.
The Hotel has a deal with the local Taxi firm (ACE Taxis) £10.00 to the Airport. If you phone when you return they will collect you outside the Premier Inn which is located in the Airport. Again £10.00 back to the Hotel.
Found the Health Club Staff particularly helpful this time in suggesting a route for a 5 mile run, Karima from the Club Lounge in checking on our evening Restaurant Reservation & excellent Bar Service and Janice in Guest Relations. Praise due!
Our room was on the 4th floor and a Club Room which I could not fault in anyway. Especially liked the flat screen wall TV in the Bathroom & and the; this works: sleep – 2 mini solutions for a better nights sleep “freebie” – can’t help but pop this in my luggage! Hotel was very busy but the Staff coped well.
I have never found any problems with the Staff - smile and you get a smile back.
The Hotel is located within easy walking distance of Crawley which has ample Restaurants, Cinema, Shopping Mall and two large Supermarkets.
We use Crowne Plaza Stay and Park deal which we find excellent value for money. Cannot stand being confined within an Airport – prefer to have options.
Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Try a club room upgraded - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2-guys-glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.

I would like to thank you for your lovely comments about the staff I will be sure to pass on your comments to them.

I am pleased to read that you enjoy staying with us and find that the hotel ticks all the boxes for you. It is sometimes nice to be just outside the Airport so that you can explore the surrounding area.

I do hope that you will continue to choose to stay with us when travelling out of Gatwick .We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza.

Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watford
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Small bathroom. No writing paper or pen we had 5 envelopes in the folio. Reception did not answer the phone and could not get through to room service. Reported room problems to futy manager and they gsve me a free whisky!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magicnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick.

II would like to thank you for taking the time to speak to me about the items that were missing from your room. I appreciate that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. I have passed on all your feedback so that we can address the problems you encountered.

I do hope that despite the deficiencies during your stay you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indpls, IN
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a week recently while on business in the area. Check in was fast, and because I was an IGH rewards member (not high status) I was upgraded to a club level room and had complimentary internet service. I did not have access to the club lounge with the free upgrade. The room was very large, quiet, and very nicely furnished, with a separate shower and tub in the bathroom. I was on the second floor and did not notice any air con noise.
There was a small fridge in the room, a complimentary bottle of water each day, as well as a french press and kettle for coffee, plus tea, cocoa, and biscuits. The only downside was breakfast was an additional 10 pounds if ordered in advance, 16.95 same day, both of which were over the limits of my expense account, but with a large grocery store within a 5 minute walk, I bought fruit, yogurt, etc. for breakfast. The retail center of Crawley is about 1.5 miles from the hotel, an easy walk, plus there is a movie theater with multiple restaurants in a leisure park about half way to the retail center so plenty of options to walk to dinner. I did not use the car park or restaurants, so can't comment on those.
My business partner had a superior room, and it was of similar size to my club room. I did see the "regular" rooms on occasion when walking past while they were being made up, and they were quite small, fine for overnight for one, but for a week I think they would be too small.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are much larger than the regular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ind4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Officer at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Ind4

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other travelers on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you found the service you received from our staff was efficient and that you were satisfied with the room upgrade. I am sorry that you found the breakfast was over the limits of your expense account, likely the hotel is near the centre of Crawley so you don't need to take the bus to get to Restaurants, Supermarkets etc..

Thank you again for your positive comments. Such comments are always welcomed and encouraging for both Staff and Management.

We look forward welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Marcella tempra
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

With the constant queues on the M25 it makes a lot of sense to drive the day before your flight and stay overnight. There are many to choose from. This one ticks all the right boxes. Clean, comfortable, convenient, good value and helpful staff. We booked through APH - one night at the hotel & 5 days parking at APH. Need to allow an hour to get from the hotel to check-in via APH.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaroonTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I have to agree with you that it makes sense to avoid delays on the busy M25 it is a good idea to book a hotel the night before. It gets the Holiday off to a good start knowing that you are just a short drive or Taxi ride to the Airport in the morning.

I am pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back when you next fly out of Gatwick on holiday.

Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here the 30th May before travelling out to Vegas and have stayed here many times in the past. We booked this up well in advance and got a very good rate of £55 for the night as its normally higher than that. As this was our 5th year on the bounce we even got an upgrade to a better room which was nice touch also.
The hotel has everything you need for a overnight stay, with a nice bar area, restaurant, swimming pool and gym if you really want to use prior to holiday :-).
We don't normally stay in the Hotel for food so can't comment as you can walk towards Crawley and they have a retail park about 10 minutes away that has TJI, Pizza, Chinese etc etc and we go there!!

Room Tip: If you can afford the better rooms then it is worth it as they are at the ends of the corridor and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and feedback following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you have stayed with us previously and find the hotel represents great value . I was pleased that as a regular guest with us we were able to offer a room upgrade on your booking this stay .

I do hope that you will continue to choose to stay with us in the future we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Langley Drive, Crawley RH11 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#14 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
#14 Family Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking, wing-shaped canopy soars above the entrance to the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly Front Desk staff, who can direct you to your calming room or Suite. Revitalise and work out in the fully equipped gym, which is complimentary to residential guests. Dark wood and ochre create a stylish setting for business dinners in Cube restaurant, which serves modern English cuisine. Dine with up to 280 guests in one of our 11 vibrant meeting rooms or host board meetings in the chic executive boardroom. Upgrade to access the Club Lounge, where complimentary breakfast & drinks are served as well as canapes in the evening. A pre-bookable airport (taxi) transfer is available for £10.00, Based on 1-3 people in a car. Gatwick Express trains take 30 minutes to London Victoria station from London Gatwick Airport, while Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport is 5 minutes' walk from Manor Royal Business Park. Experience British summertime at the exotic Royal Pavilion and beach-side oyster bars of sunny Brighton, 30 minutes' drive away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, where your stay is worth celebrating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Crowne Plaza Crawley
Crawley Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing