We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hot night”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I booked a night in this hotel as we had an early flight from Gatwick the next morning.
We were met by very a pleasant receptionist who advised us we had been upgraded to a Clubroom. A lovely large room with a big bed.
The problems started when we went to bed. The room was very hot even with the air con on. We tried to open the windows but had to close them again due to traffic noise. Things did improve a bit when at 2.30 am we removed the very think fleecy mattress topper which seemed to radiate heat. Result, a terrible nights sleep.
Not what we wanted when we had to be at the airport at 5.15am. Next time we will stay at home and sleep in our own bed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport.

I would like to apologise that you found the room too hot and you did not have a comfortable stay. We would have offered a fan to cool the room or a room move to a different area of the hotel had we known that you were experiencing a problem.

I do hope that despite your disappointing stay this will not deter you from choosing to stay again in the future. Please do always bring any problem or concern to the attention of the Duty Manager so that we can try put thimgs right for you.

Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    777
    400
    137
    80
See reviews for
274
998
128
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, Somerset
Level Contributor
159 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights whilst attending a course in their conference centre. Perfectly good hotel with nice rooms, a little small but as I was on my own it was just right. Weather was very warm so the air con was appreciated.

Gym useful as was the pool; I used both and they were a nice break from the normal hotel surroundings.

Obviously they have a lot of airport trade and this is london (or nearly) so bar/restaurant prices reflect that. So, if you're bothered by it, 5 minutes walk to the Crawley leisure park with the normal range of crap food outlets, or 10 mins to Crawley town centre and some nice restaurants and pubs. Just go for a walk!

Bottom line; recommended although I got a very good corporate rate for the 5 nights!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your 5 night stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the leisure facilities and found them a good way to relax after a long day.

The location of the hotel is convenient if you are staying for a few nights as we are so close to the Town centre if you do want to take a short walk to explore the local area.

I would like to thank you for all your positive feedback, I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back.


Kind Regards

Janice Puddephatt
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Arranged three nights B & B as we were visiting a relative who had recently moved to Crawley and found this hotel to be very good value. The food was good - so much so we had dinner there two nights running. The choice for breakfast was even better which set us up for the rest of the day. Although the room was small it was adequate for what we wanted and as the weather was very warm the air conditioning was very welcome. Bathroom/shower was very clean with an abundance of towels. The pool was well used and the gym looked well equipped.
The bar/lounge area was comfortable with plenty of seating but as in most of these airport hotels the drinks are expensive. All the staff from the concierge to the house keeping were really pleasant and helpful. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Officer at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Anne D

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you found his hotel to be very good value and that you enjoyed dinner and breakfast in the Cube Restaurant. I am also glad that you were satisfied with the room and the Health Club facilities and the service you received by the staff.

We look forward welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Marcella Tempra
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

stayed one night before going on holiday the web site you get the airport bus to the hotels this is false you need to get the no.10 bus local service you have to ask the driver to put you off at the correct stop taxis are easier to get back to the airport rooms conforftable and clean

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trainbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Officer at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Trainbob

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention, and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. However our Website does advise that we don't have a shuttle bus anymore. We no longer have a bus service as they withdrew the service in 2013 . We do think that although the Taxi transfer is a little more expensive. It offers a far superior service and is flexible with the time you choose to come and go, with the added bonus of a short transfer time instead of sitting on a bus for 40 minutes while it picks up at different hotels in the area, otherwise you can get the local bus No. 10.
I am glad that you were satisfied with the room being clean and comfortable.

Thank you once again for your valuable comment, we look forward welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Marcella Tempra
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
481 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Arranged a park and stay deal for 1 night and 14 days' parking. Great value. Tiny room but still very nice. Good bar (with usual overpriced drinks!). We didn't eat but the food did look tempting. 5 minute drive the next morning to the Airparks car park. Impressed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukajoreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Officer at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Trainbob

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention, and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. However our Website does advise that we don't have a shuttle bus anymore. We no longer have a bus service as they withdrew the service in 2013 . We do think that although the Taxi transfer is a little more expensive. It offers a far superior service and is flexible with the time you choose to come and go, with the added bonus of a short transfer time instead of sitting on a bus for 40 minutes while it picks up at different hotels in the area, otherwise you can get the local bus No. 10.
I am glad that you were satisfied with the room being clean and comfortable.

Thank you once again for your valuable comment, we look forward welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Marcella Tempra
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a parking package again for the 2nd time this year. Still a excellent airport hotel, we took our gym kit this time and used the gym and pool to make the most of our stay. We had a similar well furnished and clean room to last time so were very happy. The only downside are the bar prices, £12-13 for 2 drinks, once we received the first bill we walked into Crawley for our meal and drinks that were better priced. I'd still recommend the hotel especially as it has a gym and pool.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Officer at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Dan M

I would like to thank you for your positive feedback and comments about your stay.

I was pleased to read that you found that this is an excellent airport hotel and that you were satisfied with the room and enjoyed the Health Club facilities. I am sorry that you found that the drinks at the Bar were too expensive, I will address your feedback to the Restaurant Manager.

I hope we can look forward welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Marcella Tempra
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebbw vale
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Had an overnight stay here before an early morning flight impressive lobby and a nice room if a little small and that's all the good points I have. On arrival why oh why do they insist on pre authorising your card ? I had already paid my bill as this was part of a park and fly package so absolutely no need to do this as I was intending to pay cash for anything I had there in the end we went out to eat as food and drink here is very overpriced. Also we were given our room keys and then had to find our rooms ourselves no directions given fro the receptionist and as there are several lifts it took quite a few attempts to get it right all in all not a good experience and won t stay here again premier inns have far superior service .

Room Tip: Ask for directions to room not freely given
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Officer at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Catherine

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other travelers on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the room but disappointed that your arrival experience was under our check in standards. We appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention, and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We will use you valuable comments to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. The staff will be given additional training in order to provide a better service. However, in future please do not hesitate to contact the Duty Manager if you are not happy with any aspect of your stay and we will always try to offer a solution.

I do hope that despite the issues you experienced during your stay you will give us the opportunity in the future to welcome you back to the hotel.


Kind Regards

Marcella Tempra
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Langley Drive, Crawley RH11 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#14 Family Hotel in Crawley
#14 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking, wing-shaped canopy soars above the entrance to the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly Front Desk staff, who can direct you to your calming room or Suite. Revitalise and work out in the fully equipped gym, which is complimentary to residential guests. Dark wood and ochre create a stylish setting for business dinners in Cube restaurant, which serves modern English cuisine. Dine with up to 280 guests in one of our 11 vibrant meeting rooms or host board meetings in the chic executive boardroom. Upgrade to access the Club Lounge, where complimentary breakfast & drinks are served as well as canapes in the evening. A pre-bookable airport (taxi) transfer is available for £10.00, Based on 1-3 people in a car. Gatwick Express trains take 30 minutes to London Victoria station from London Gatwick Airport, while Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport is 5 minutes' walk from Manor Royal Business Park. Experience British summertime at the exotic Royal Pavilion and beach-side oyster bars of sunny Brighton, 30 minutes' drive away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, where your stay is worth celebrating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Crowne Plaza Crawley
Crawley Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing