We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as it seems.. Add on taxi prices.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not as it seems.. Add on taxi prices.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were traveling from the airport to Santorini for our honeymoon very early morning. We decided to stay at the Crowne Plaza after reviewing each hotel clearly. We wanted a hotel where we could leave our car at and get to the airport easily and quickly. When we checked in we were told the shuttle service had infact finished and now have to pre order a taxi. This cost us £10 going out and return £15. This is something we would have considered more whilst booking. As my husband collects the award points we were upgraded to a a higher spec suite. It was lovely. A nice big room to a high quality, however very far from reception. The hotel was quite large. On 2 of the occasions we got lost as you need to use different lifts to get to certain areas of the hotel. We found the signage very bad and extremely confusing. The morning of our flight it took us 10 minutes to get back down to reception after leaving our room causing us to be late. When we informed the receptionist we felt the signage was insufficient she just Said "oh". My husband did comment that the service at reception each occasion he used it was very slow. With the cost of the taxi services we had to use we would have paid the extra money to be closer to the airport. Not really all it seems.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nastykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Officer at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Nastykat

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that your feedback is not very positive, please do not hesitate to contact the Duty Manager in the future. We could have change the room allocation or walk you to or from the room. I have passed on your comments regarding the service in Reception and the signage as well and I am sure that these will be addressed.

We no longer have a bus service as they withdrew the service in 2013. We do think that although the Taxi transfer is a little more expensive. It offers a far superior service and is flexible with the time you choose to come and go, with the added bonus of a short transfer time instead of sitting on a bus for 40 minutes while it picks up at different hotels in the area.

Thank you once again for your valuable comment. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Marcella Tempra
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    758
    389
    136
    79
See reviews for
267
970
127
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for one night before flying from Gatwick the following day. The hotel is very comfortable and has great facilities. The rooms are modern and comfortable and very quiet, considering the proximity to the airport.

We bought this as a package with airport parking (Purple Parking) and it worked very well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Duty Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Steve C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel.

I was delighted to read that your enjoyed your stayed with us, found the hotel comfortable and that the facilities responded to your needs. I am pleased that the parking package that you booked worked out well.

I would like to thank you for your positive feedback and I very much look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Sindarmy Vingadassalom,
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Had the wonderful opportunity to stay at the Crowne Plaza - Gatwick prior to our trip abroad.
The site, staff and facilities are excellent.
At evening meal and at breakfast the restaurant staff were amazing, especially assisting with a hyper-active 18 month old baby. They provided high chairs and assisted with drinks, food and other items. The staff in the evening and the morning were different indicating high level of service is always provided by ALL staff.
I highly recommend this hotel to all families.

Room Tip: Book this hotel, you will not be disappointed. let them know you are travelling as a young family a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Duty Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Scott A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with other travellers following your recent stay at the hotel.

I am pleased that you liked the hotel and the facilities we offer here at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport Hotel. Thank you for your very positive comments about the level of service provided by the staff and specially the restaurant staff. I have passed your comments to the Food and Beverage Manager. Such comments is always welcomed and very encouraging for the staff.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back at the hotel. Thank you very much for your recommendations.

Kind regards,

Sindarmy Vingadassalom
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

On arrival we were upgraded to a Club Room free of charge. It was very nicely furnished and located away from other rooms on a separate corridor, which was a fairly long walk from reception but presumably quieter. The swimming pool looked gorgeous, but unfortunately we didn't have the time to try it out! The food in the bar was good. The hotel is not located right next to the airport, so a taxi transfer is still required.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Officer at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Becky D

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you were satisfied with the room upgrade and that you found the room was very nicely furnished, I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed the food in the Cube bar. Hopefully if you stay again in the future with us you will be able to try the swimming pool.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, I hope we can look forward welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Marcella Tempra
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

When we booked this hotel, we were lead to believe that they provided shuttle service from the hotel to the airport. This is not the case. You must takeaway taxi. When we checked in, we noticed there was only one bath towel, no face towel or wash cloths. Housekeeping did give us a second bath towel and face towels. The carpeting in the halls was poorly laid and full of wrinkles making it hard to walk on. The staff, while very pleasant, it was obvious that English was not their first language, and either they did not understand our questions, or we were not explaining ourselves clearly enough, but we found it difficult to communicate with them and get an answer to our questions. I would rate this hotel a two and a half star.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Officer at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Harold B

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your stay at the Crowne Plaza London Gatwick Airport hotel.

I am sorry that your feedback is not very positive. We no longer have a bus service as they withdrew the service in 2013 . We do think that although the Taxi transfer is a little more expensive. It offers a far superior service and is flexible with the time you choose to come and go, with the added bonus of a short transfer time instead of sitting on a bus for 40 minutes while it picks up at different hotels in the area.

Please take the time next time you are at the hotel to speak to myself or one of the Duty Managers so that we can find out how we can make your stay a more positive experience for you. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. Thank you once again for your valuable comment.

We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Marcella Tempra
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My daughter and myself booked a one night stay in the Crowne Plaza at Gatwick. Included in the price was meet and greet parking for 7 days run by Maple Leaf Parking. We arrived at the hotel where check -in was quick and easy, the parking part of the deal was explained very well by the hotel check in staff. We had a twin room which was very clean and well furnished. Even the hotel is situated on a busy roundabout there was no noise. We had a meal in the bar, recommend the kids deal main + pudding + drink great value for money, as was the adult meal as well. Excellent facilities at the Hotel, not enough time to try them all out. The only downside was when my car was delivered back to me at Gatwick Airport, it looked like it had taken part in a rally due to the amount of dirt on it. I questioned the delivery driver who told me that cars get dusty. Yes they do but it is also harder to inspect for damage and scratches in this state. You should get your car back in the condition which you left it and if that means that they need to wash the car before delivery then they should do this and accept the cost. So if you do use the Stay and park deal make sure it is not with Maple Leaf.

Room Tip: Ask for the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Officer at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Simon D

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other travellers on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you found the check in was quick and easy and that the parking part of the deal was explained very well by the hotel check in staff. I was also glad to read that you found the room was very clean and well furnished and that you were satisfied with the Menu at the Restaurant. I am sorry that you experienced a problem with Maple Manor, I will address you feedback to the Reservations Manager.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Marcella Tempra
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night before catching an early morning flight from Gatwick.

Check in was very quick and we were soon directed to our very spacious and comfortable room.

5 minutes walk away is a leisure plaza with lots of restaurants and a cinema and the airport is a short drive away.

I would happily stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MKblack1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice P, Guest Relations Officer at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Emmylou14

I would like to thank you for your feedback and positive comments following your stay.

I was delighted to read that you found the check in was efficient and that you found your room was very spacious and comfortable.

We look forward welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Marcella Tempra
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Langley Drive, Crawley RH11 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#14 Family Hotel in Crawley
#14 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking, wing-shaped canopy soars above the entrance to the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly Front Desk staff, who can direct you to your calming room or Suite. Revitalise and work out in the fully equipped gym, which is complimentary to residential guests. Dark wood and ochre create a stylish setting for business dinners in Cube restaurant, which serves modern English cuisine. Dine with up to 280 guests in one of our 11 vibrant meeting rooms or host board meetings in the chic executive boardroom. Upgrade to access the Club Lounge, where complimentary breakfast & drinks are served as well as canapes in the evening. A pre-bookable airport (taxi) transfer is available for £10.00, Based on 1-3 people in a car. Gatwick Express trains take 30 minutes to London Victoria station from London Gatwick Airport, while Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport is 5 minutes' walk from Manor Royal Business Park. Experience British summertime at the exotic Royal Pavilion and beach-side oyster bars of sunny Brighton, 30 minutes' drive away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, where your stay is worth celebrating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Crowne Plaza Crawley
Crawley Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing