We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$208
US$187
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$91
US$89
Sandman Gatwick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis London Gatwick Airport(Crawley)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$97
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley(Crawley)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth(Crawley)(Great Value!)
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$131
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$131
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (2,198)
Filter reviews
2,198 results
Traveller rating
657
851
440
157
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
657
851
440
157
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomcube restaurantgatwick airportsteam roomaph parkingpurple parkingcar parkan upgradestandard roomnext morningstayed here for one nightbooked this hotelholiday extrasan early flightparking packagepre flight stayan overnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,119 - 2,124 of 2,198 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We arrived at the hotel, which we had booked well in advance, only to find that the car park was full. We had to wait for someone to go out in their car so we could park up. We had booked a non smoking room but they said they only had smoking rooms left. We had a 2 course dinner and were amazed that it came to £66, when we checked the bill we found that one and a half pints of Guinness had cost over £11! We had a terrible night sleep (or not as the case was). When we retuned from our holiday we couldn't believe the state of our car. It had been parked under a tree and it was covered in birds muck and sap from the tree. It was so bad there was no way you could touch the car without getting the sticky sap over your hands. When we got home we took the car to get it cleaned but unfortunately the sap has actually marked the paintwork we are now trying to find out whether there is any way we can get these marks off. We did try to talk to a manager but apparently there wasn't one available so we spoke to his PA instead. She said she would call back but so far we have heard nothing.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paddywack-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

This hotel is a long way from gatwick also the bus service is very un reliable and stops at night.
we arrived at the hotel at 1.30am after a delayed flight and had booked a cot for the room. we were told there defnatly was one. Guess what. no cot. called recption 20 mins latter. while waiting we found the shower had 5 long hairs from someone else and the sink had been shaved in. got to go to bed at 2.30am - room very hot.
Then at 8.00am on the dot the door flys open the light comes on baby starts to scream room service. No more sleep for us! 5 hous sleep.
went to breakfast 9am placed in the corner watched 3 other tables be seated and served coffee - tea. decided after 15 mins of waiting to chase a member of staff while they tried to run from me to be told please sit we will serve you. waited another 15 min watched 2 of the tables that arrived after us leave so decided to stand outside the kitchen take the coffee from who comes through the door and tell them there or order. Lesson this hotel hates children!!!!!!!
Then trying to leave in my car the roundabout is undrivable due to the angle of the kirb and parking. never drive round there turning circle if another car is anywhere around it!

summary
long way from the airport
rude staff - over worked
dirty rooms
hot rooms
terible round about
hate children
never get served breakfast
bus service stops when you need it - never turns up.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

With being an airport hotel, we certainly weren't in the hotel long enought to experience any of the facilities, checking in at 9pm, and gone by 3am!
However the room was clean and tidy, nice modern decor with good air-conditioning and all the mod cons you would expect. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful, however concierge certainly need a rocket! No offer to help with the luggage, and whilst we were checking in watched him play on his computer and not look up once or offer any assistance or guidance to any of the guests in the lobby or arriving by taxi!
We left some lost property at the hotel, and although a little frustrating trying to locate this, it involved 3 phone calls on my behalf before someone returned my call. However once located the delivery of this to our home address was very prompt.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

we stayed here for one night, proir to our flight to vegas the next day.
its a nice hotel, nice staff ect, but exremely expensive, probrably because its so far out.
its a good 7 miles from the airport and a good £10 taxi fare. the site gives the impression its fairly close to the airport, but its not,so be warned on that one!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dolphinboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Staying here was SUCH A good decision.

We stayed here before our trip to Sharm El Sheikh, where we were staying at the Savoy. The Crowne Plaza is truly perfect. Rooms were lovely, service was excellent, the bathrooms were amazing. The full English breakfasts may be light years apart from the opulent lavish breakfasts we had in Savoy, but were equally as enjoyable and satsifying. Sometimes have a smaller selection is much better.

We spent 2 nights here, the night before we left, we stayed in the Club Room, where we had access to the club lounge. The club lounge meant we had free drinks but a little dissapointed their choices of canopes were a little small. The room itself was excellent and we got a taxi in the morning to the hotel. One small thing, we took the taxi because the hotel said it would be £12 and since it was £3 each for the shuttle bus, we decided the taxi would be better. The taxi ended up being £20!!

On the way back, our flight was delayed by 24 hours, and we called the hotel up to change the booking which they did and it was very nice of them.

On the return we stayed in a normal room but it was nice and the bathrooms were nicer than those at the Savoy

Had a chat to the Manager also, someone called Katherine who was delightful, since we had a concern about our child not being allowed in the lounge but she said that was absolutely fine.

Would absolutely stay here again.

Lovely hotel

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aladdin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews