We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and close to Gatwick Airport.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent value and close to Gatwick Airport.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

Stayed here before catching a flight from Gatwick next morning. Very welcoming staff. As Gold members were upgraded to the 7th floor. Our room, at the furthest point from the lifts, was not large but had recently been refurbished and was perfectly adequate for our one night stay. The bathroom was lovely and did not look as if it had been used. Very modern décor with large double walk-in shower, toiletries and huge towels.

As there were several inches of snow outside decided to eat in the Cube Restaurant. It was slightly expensive and the service a little slow but the hotel was completely booked with people whose planes had been cancelled and like us most had decided to eat at the hotel rather than go into town. The food was excellent and well presented.

Breakfast had been included in our room rate – excellent value at an extra £10 for 2 when breakfast was normally £16.99 per person. A good well stocked buffet with options for kippers, omelettes, pancakes etc. The airport bus picked up at other hotels but only took about 20 minutes and cost £3 per person.

Will definitely stay there again next time we need a hotel close to Gatwick Airport.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations4, Guest Relations at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us, we were delighted you enjoyed your stay.

We are currently reviewing the menus and have taken your valuble comments on board.

We can look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    745
    386
    134
    79
See reviews for
265
961
126
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

We paid a bit extra for a club room - which was very comfortable with good quality furnishings and a flat screen TV. Club also gave us access to the club lounge where we could use the computer and printer to choose plane seats and print out boarding passes. However they were penny-pinching re not putting out drinks and nibbles in the evening - said did not do it as it was a weekend - but the room cost the same asduring the week and all the other Crowne Plazas we have visited at weekends have done so. Ditto the complimentary continental breakfast that is supposed to be provided in the lounge - not provided at a weekend - quite an issue as two breakfasts in the restaurant cost over £35.

We did not have dinner but did have room service Club sandwiches - tasty and good value. But had problems ordering these. None of the phones worked in the room and no-one answered the one in the corridor. Walked down to reception - several hundred yards away as it is a big hotel - but huge queues there. Eventually went to the bar to order it - so room service in name only!

All in all a good place to stay but a lack of attention to some details.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

We stayed on the 19/12/09 for one night at this hotel, we found our room to be in poor condition and the bed was very unconfortable, we did address this with hotel reception but our request fell onto death ears, the next day when attending breakfast we found the staff to be very unattentative they almost looked like zombies walking around without even a smile just blank looking faces, being a Priority Club Gold member means nothing to level of service offered by this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

Having last stayed here years ago when it was a Holiday Inn we were interested to see the changes. One thing that hasn't changed much is the swimming pool area - still a welcome feature but looking a little tired, nice steam room though. The rooms are nicely done out with everything you need except a fridge and a safe which are surely long overdue. Bathroom was clean and modern but the bath was rather small and the shower rail was badly sited so the curtain became a 'butt grabber' when in use. If hotels don't have enough room for a decent bath I wish they'd just put in a nice walk-in shower, not everybody's choice but we would go for it every time. Top marks for the bath towels though, absolute whoppers!

Our aircon simply did not work, had we been staying another night we would have had to move rooms. The hotel is handily situated within 10-15 minutes of central Crawley which is useful for restaurants, bars and shopping. Breakfast buffet was very good and staff obligingly offer cook-to-order items such as omelettes or poached haddock at no extra cost. Very nice hotel, recommended despite a few niggles.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bognor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level Contributor
202 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

The hotel is situated 3 1/2 miles from Gatwick Airport and is connected to the airport by shuttle bus which runs every 40 mins from both North and South terminals. The fare is £3 per person and the journey takes approx 25 mins.
On arrival we received a very warm welcome from the staff on the reception desk and the check-in procedure was quickly and efficiently processed.
We were allocated a standard double room on the 6th floor. The room was extremely well furnished and was very clean and comfortable.
We had chosen to stay at the Crowne Plaza prior to catching a flight the next day.
We chose not to have dinner at the hotel in the evening and instead had a meal at a Toby Carvery which is conveniently situated just 200 metres from the hotel.
We had a full English breakfast in the hotel restaurant the next day and this costs £16.95 per person which we felt was a tad expensive.
This hotel has very friendly staff and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would definitely return again and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank legend14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

Stayed here overnight before flying to Naples. Hotel was very impressive from the outside and the inside was just as lovely. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful. Our room was gorgeous and I particularly loved the free toiletries, another nice touch was that if you had forgotten any essential toiletries the hotel would happily provide them.
We only paid £45 for this room as we prebooked online and it was a fabulous choice, if we were ever flying out from Gatwick again I would definetely stay here and look forward to it. Excellent value for a real luxury hotel. We didn't have breakfast as we were leaving too early and the only downside to the hotel was that the restaraunt was very expensive, we found a Toby Carvery literally five minutes walk away though. We talked to another couple from the hotel and they never eat at the hotel when they stay there but always go to the Toby Carvery. We were told it is more than £6 for a glass of wine at the hotel but I don't know if that is correct, pub type meals such as lasagne and fish and chips were £12 plus though and the steak was close to £20!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cariadbrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

Stayed here two weekend nights during a UK trip because it was convenient for my hosts. Also turns out to be a convenient base to get to mass transit for a trip to London city center.

Almost everything is well above average. Very clean. Good service from the front desk, restaurant, and housekeeping. No issues with anything related to maintenance. Quiet. Even turns out to be a nice area for a walk during a sunny day.

Restaurant was excellent for breakfast. Not much variety for lunch or dinner. And not much room, either.

There is a health club on site to which hotel guests have access. Very nice, good variety of equipment. Only problem is that it is frequently crowded, and the room is rather small.

"Small room" is also the only real shortcoming of this property. As others have noted, the guestrooms in this hotel are tiny. Not a big issue if you are staying just a few hours. For a longer stay, or to get any work done in the room, it is a detriment.

This is worth a return.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stubbs1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
1.0 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
2.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Langley Drive, Crawley RH11 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#14 Family Hotel in Crawley
#14 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking, wing-shaped canopy soars above the entrance to the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly Front Desk staff, who can direct you to your calming room or Suite. Revitalise and work out in the fully equipped gym, which is complimentary to residential guests. Dark wood and ochre create a stylish setting for business dinners in Cube restaurant, which serves modern English cuisine. Dine with up to 280 guests in one of our 11 vibrant meeting rooms or host board meetings in the chic executive boardroom. Upgrade to access the Club Lounge, where complimentary breakfast & drinks are served as well as canapes in the evening. A pre-bookable airport (taxi) transfer is available for £10.00, Based on 1-3 people in a car. Gatwick Express trains take 30 minutes to London Victoria station from London Gatwick Airport, while Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport is 5 minutes' walk from Manor Royal Business Park. Experience British summertime at the exotic Royal Pavilion and beach-side oyster bars of sunny Brighton, 30 minutes' drive away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, where your stay is worth celebrating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Crowne Plaza Crawley
Crawley Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing