We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not just your average airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not just your average airport hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Wow! Having stayed at a number of airport hotels this one was a welcome surprise from the norm. Great location, great gym, fantastic rooms... Not sure I need to say much more. I will back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTravel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 16 October 2010
Thank you for your kind comments following your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future and remember we have a lowest internet rate guarantee when booking online directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    757
    389
    136
    79
See reviews for
267
969
127
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

Booked direct on their web site for a week end stay, BB&D rate. On arrival we were upgraded to an Executive room, which gave us use of the lounge with free wine & beer between 6.30pm - 8.30pm on Saturday. Also meant car parking was free.

Lovely room, not very large & a long walk from lift but quiet and not distrubed at all.

Evening menu not your average selection, like Rabbit taglatelli? ok for 2 nights but any longer might struggle for choice but it might suit some people. We had a figure of £25 per person to spend on menu included in room rate so 2nd night just had a very expensive but nice Barnsley lamb chop, chips etc.

Swimming pool very warm & empty. No one except cabin crew seem to stay here. We used as a base to travel into Kent as the hotels there were very expensive.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was very pleased to read your review of our hotel and would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your Club Bedroom and our Health & Fitness Centre. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and remember we have a lowest internet rate guarantee when booking online directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed for just one night before our flight from Gatwick Airport.
The hotel was just superb - right from the start with a friendly, helpful man on Reception through to our booked alarm call. The room was spotless and newly refurbished. We ate in the bar that evening and I had THE BEST pizza I've ever had - and not expensive!
The whole deal - booked through APH was incredibly cheap and the whole experience was efficient from start to finish. I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langer11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
Thank you very much for your positive comments following your stay with us here. I am delighted to hear that you had a superb stay with us. We constantly aim to provide excellent and efficient customer service to all our guests and we look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

I stayed at the crowne plaza Gatwick for the 2nd time in 2 months, The check-in was good, welcomed as priority club holder and upgraded to superior room which was a nice touch, I love this hotel so it's a shame I have to rate it 2 stars.

OMG the rooms where soooo HOT, I mentioned this to the front desk who advice in Oct 2010 the air con gets turned off and instead the heating gets pumped into the rooms, I turned the fan off so make the room cooler but it just got hotter & hotter, I slept on the top on the bed and had the windows open but my room was outside where the airport shuttle stops so you can imagine the noise all night.

It's 17'c in Oct so I feel there have made a mistake turning off the air con, you would expect it to be the customers choice especially for a 4 star hotel, doubt I would stay here again...Shame though....

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copleycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations4, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 6 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for bringing this to our attention.

Due to the adverse weather conditions, guests were complaining that it was too cold in the rooms, which is why the decision was taken to turn the heating on. However, we did not anticipate the temperature rising again in October. We have therefore addressed this problem and turned the units to cooling as from today.

We will of course monitor this for the future comfort of our guests. I do hope this does not deter you from booking to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stayed just one night for ease of access to the airport and the service was great, good nights sleep in luxurious beds and bedding, with added little extras such as relaxing pillow balm. A little pricey but we got a good deal on the car parking while we were away and they didn't charged us any extra for it when we got stranded abroad.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatfeastUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 1 October 2010
Thank you for your review. I was delighted to hear that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay with us and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
200 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

We stayed here having been stranded at Gatwick because of the French air traffic strike on 23 September. We visited the Hotel Booking desk at the airport and were recommended the Crowne Plaza, but at the exorbitant rate of £169 for one night. This price governs the rest of this review. We were surprised to be 'upgraded' to a Club room, which we found very nice and also comfortable, and we did sleep well. I can now see why the 'upgrade' - one can book a room here at short notice for £99 via the website, and indeed a Club room can be booked for £149. At £99, this hotel is good value, at £169 it is not - particularly given the 25 minute bus ride from the airport - FOR WHICH YOU HAVE TO PAY EACH WAY! The bar guy we dealt with was BRILLIANT when we had a problem with one of our food orders. The front desk was unhelpful in refusing to record my Priority Club card against the booking because the reservation was done in my wife's name and 'we wouldn't get paid by the agency' if the reservation name was to be changed!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 1 October 2010
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us here. I was very pleased to hear you found your Club Bedroom to be comfortable and that you slept well.

We have a lowest internet rate guarantee when booking online directly. Please consider this option when making a reservation for our hotel in the future.

The hotel shuttle bus is not owned by the hotel and is provided by a third party company and a charge of £3.00 each way does apply.

Priority Club points are only credited to your account if the reservation has been made directly. Points will not be received if the reservation has been made through a third party company.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

Purpose was a business trip in Gorley near Gatwick, plus near Southhampton in SW UK. Although not right at Gatwick, accessible by taxi (15 - 20 Pounds, 10 minutes) or Multi hotel Bus (3 Pounds, 30 minutes) . Standard room was smallish, but well-decorated with spacious modern bath, nice coffe/tea/cookies amenities, and good sound deadening. Enjoyed my 4 nights there as home. Breakfast buffet was quick and hearty, dining room comfortable. Food at hotel cafe also tasty in nice surrounding. Being a Yank unacustomed to UK driving, I was able to use the hotel shuttle to Gatwick, as well as Gatwick express train to London for sightseeing, and Soutwest Railroad from Southampton to Crawley, the town nearby. Downtown Crawley about a mile walk with good pubs abd restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auf Wiedersehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationslgw, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, responded to this review, 22 September 2010
I was very pleased to read you had a comfortable stay with us and that you found your bedroom to be clean and well decorated. I hope you will make our hotel your ‘home away from home’ again on your next visit to the UK.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and remember we have a lowest internet rate guarantee when booking online.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crawley hotels
0.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.5 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
2.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Address: Langley Drive, Crawley RH11 7SX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Crawley
#14 Family Hotel in Crawley
#14 Romantic Hotel in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A striking, wing-shaped canopy soars above the entrance to the Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport hotel. You'll receive a warm welcome from our friendly Front Desk staff, who can direct you to your calming room or Suite. Revitalise and work out in the fully equipped gym, which is complimentary to residential guests. Dark wood and ochre create a stylish setting for business dinners in Cube restaurant, which serves modern English cuisine. Dine with up to 280 guests in one of our 11 vibrant meeting rooms or host board meetings in the chic executive boardroom. Upgrade to access the Club Lounge, where complimentary breakfast & drinks are served as well as canapes in the evening. A pre-bookable airport (taxi) transfer is available for £10.00, Based on 1-3 people in a car. Gatwick Express trains take 30 minutes to London Victoria station from London Gatwick Airport, while Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport is 5 minutes' walk from Manor Royal Business Park. Experience British summertime at the exotic Royal Pavilion and beach-side oyster bars of sunny Brighton, 30 minutes' drive away. You'll find wireless Internet throughout Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport, where your stay is worth celebrating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Hotel Crawley
Crowne Plaza Crawley
Crawley Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport Crawley, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing